Total Commander 3.0 beta 1 for Android is available now!

Support for Android version of Total Commander

Moderators: Stefan2, white, sheep, Hacker

Skif_off
Member
Member
Posts: 115
Joined: 2013-09-30, 13:13 UTC

Re: Total Commander 3.0 beta 1 for Android is available now!

Post by *Skif_off » 2019-03-15, 01:38 UTC

2ghisler(Author)
Can you check also renaming files? TC 3.0b2 does not allow to remove the file extension.
Is it result of this new feature
2019-03-01 Added: Single file rename: place cursor at the end of the name part, before the last dot
?

User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1264
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

Re: Total Commander 3.0 beta 1 for Android is available now!

Post by *DrShark » 2019-03-15, 07:58 UTC

Sergei_Alekseev wrote:
2019-03-14, 22:37 UTC
2ghisler(Author)
If you select one file, execute 122 and paste path in single line dialog, there will be path name with space in the end.
If you paste it in editor, there will be name with enter in the end
This issue/feature, but for similar command 121, has been discussed in this topic:
https://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=42844
Skif_off wrote:
2019-03-15, 01:38 UTC
2ghisler(Author)
Can you check also renaming files? TC 3.0b2 does not allow to remove the file extension.
ghisler(Author) wrote:
2019-03-14, 17:09 UTC
This is a known bug, I will fix it
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right

Skif_off
Member
Member
Posts: 115
Joined: 2013-09-30, 13:13 UTC

Re: Total Commander 3.0 beta 1 for Android is available now!

Post by *Skif_off » 2019-03-15, 09:03 UTC

Sorry, I was in a hurry and I was inattentive :(
Good news, will wait.

User avatar
Schweini
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: 2012-07-08, 08:54 UTC

Re: Total Commander 3.0 beta 1 for Android is available now!

Post by *Schweini » 2019-03-15, 19:05 UTC

Wow, nach dem vermissten RAR Support gesucht, Betatester geworden und mein erstes Archiv mit TC3.0 entpackt. Großartig! :)
Moto G5 (7.0) - Samsung Note 2014 (5.1.1) - PC1 - PC2

Sergei_Alekseev
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: 2019-03-07, 08:25 UTC

Re: Total Commander 3.0 beta 1 for Android is available now!

Post by *Sergei_Alekseev » 2019-03-17, 09:06 UTC

2ghisler(Author)
i can open terminal in cur dir using long tap & send to command > term here

Image: https://yadi.sk/i/-ZnhA8SqGxVw5wImage: https://yadi.sk/i/6icRuGAHzyK-kw

pls, right parameter for button properties
Image: https://yadi.sk/i/4Hv1cXBEZZgVsw
%P doesnt work

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37570
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Total Commander 3.0 beta 1 for Android is available now!

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2019-03-17, 10:12 UTC

"Send to" is probably the wrong command type, it's used for sharing data with apps. You can try whether "main" or "view" work, they send parameters in a different way. But it all depends on whether your terminal program supports parameters or not.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Sergei_Alekseev
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: 2019-03-07, 08:25 UTC

Re: Total Commander 3.0 beta 1 for Android is available now!

Post by *Sergei_Alekseev » 2019-03-17, 11:50 UTC

2ghisler(Author)
as i said before, only 'send to' works. i CAN open terminal or smanager in current tc dir using long tap and send to command.
I want to make button but send to / term here / %P doesnt work.
start app instead of send to doesnt work because no 'term here' activity in the list.

edit: ok, stream:%P works fine ) no problems

Sergei_Alekseev
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: 2019-03-07, 08:25 UTC

Re: Total Commander 3.0 beta 1 for Android is available now!

Post by *Sergei_Alekseev » 2019-03-18, 08:16 UTC

Hello again )
Two more things.
1. no sound when playing i-net audio stream. Player opens normally, i see title and notification but no sound.
after hitting X i can hear sometimes sound of stream for half of sec.
.m3u - https://yadi.sk/d/MwThB9-s2mkgzA
I can play raw dump of stream in TC player.
dump - https://yadi.sk/d/tkYu385h6NZKzw

2. i can read/write etc external sd (/storage/extSdCard)
but if i navigate to /mnt/media_rw/extSdCard, i cant launch files.
I mean nothing happens when tapping on any non-dir file.
Root Explorer working here as always, asking for root rights.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37570
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Total Commander 3.0 beta 1 for Android is available now!

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2019-03-18, 15:10 UTC

1. Probably a missing codec, or the codec doesn't support the compression level used by the stream.

2. That doesn't make sense, how would root explorer launch an app with root rights?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Sergei_Alekseev
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: 2019-03-07, 08:25 UTC

Re: Total Commander 3.0 beta 1 for Android is available now!

Post by *Sergei_Alekseev » 2019-03-18, 17:02 UTC

2ghisler(Author)
1. hm. Playing well but after very long pause, about 30 sec or more.
bsplayer for android start playing almost immediately.

2. I dont get it. Root Explorer doesnt start apps with root rights. If associated app designed to
use root rights there is another request, supersu dialog popup.
media_rw folder permissions is 700, i can use TC there (tap) if i change permissions to 770 but its reverted after reboot.
TC ask for root rights in media_rw with perm. 700 too but cannot start associated apps by tap, i need to make long tap and choose open with.
Is it feature? :-) Looks like bug.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37570
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Total Commander 3.0 beta 1 for Android is available now!

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2019-03-19, 10:04 UTC

1. TC does some caching before starting to play, but 30 seconds is definitely too long. What's the bitrate?

2. But why does root explorer ask or root rights in /mnt/media_rw/extSdCard then?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Sergei_Alekseev
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: 2019-03-07, 08:25 UTC

Re: Total Commander 3.0 beta 1 for Android is available now!

Post by *Sergei_Alekseev » 2019-03-20, 16:25 UTC

2ghisler(Author)
1. 96. Looks like android media player start writing file to disk and play after that because in other program (russian online radio)
i can switch decoder in settings - android media player / built-in decoder, with media player the same 30 or so sec, with built-in - about 3 sec.
2. because /mnt/media_rw permissions is 700. /mnt/media_rw and /mnt/media_rw/extSdCard owner is media_rw. The same group.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37570
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Total Commander 3.0 beta 1 for Android is available now!

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2019-03-21, 09:06 UTC

1. Indeed it would take a while to fill the cache with 96. I can try to make it time based instead.

2. Since you have root, why not grant read/write access to the card for all?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

alphonse68
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 58
Joined: 2011-09-26, 13:53 UTC

Re: Total Commander 3.0 beta 1 for Android is available now!

Post by *alphonse68 » 2019-03-28, 05:37 UTC

Hi,
I have an issue and a couple of suggestions/requests.

I'm using Samsung J7 Android 8.1 (pastries and candies are not my thing, so I don't know its name).

1. Beginning with the last 2.9 version, when I use TC and then exit it, I get a notification that reads
TC is using the battery.
so I have to go to Settings, App, and Force Close TC so the notif will go away.
In Settings, Device Maintenance, Battery, Power Saving Mode is set to Mid. TC has all privileges.
I wish one could write a "batch file" to completely close an app. :)

2. Can Add/Edit button remember the last options chosen, at least until TC is closed, so adding many buttons at a time become easier?
When I choose Internal Commands on that window, could it just jump into the list of internal commands? I ask, because unless one does this very, very frequently it is hard to learn the numbers and names so as to type them to create a new one.

3. Is it possible to have the Pack function use the name of the one file selected instead of the folder's name? The folder's name is useful when several files are selected, but for a single file, it's own name would show that it is only one file and not several.

The last thing I have to say is Thank you, Mr Ghisler, for such great efforts and products.

Cheers.

User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1264
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

Re: Total Commander 3.0 beta 1 for Android is available now!

Post by *DrShark » 2019-03-28, 08:34 UTC

alphonse68 wrote:
2019-03-28, 05:37 UTC
1. ... I wish one could write a "batch file" to completely close an app. :)
Try to exit from TC4A using a button with internal command 155 Exit (killProcess).
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right

Post Reply