Total Commander 3.0 beta 1 for Android is available now!

Support for Android version of Total Commander

Moderators: Stefan2, white, sheep, Hacker

alphonse68
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 58
Joined: 2011-09-26, 13:53 UTC

Re: Total Commander 3.0 beta 1 for Android is available now!

Post by *alphonse68 » 2019-03-28, 09:14 UTC

Thanks for the reply. I tried that and also the Exit in the menu, getting the same result. I used to exit as one does out of most Android apps, by either the Back or Home buttons, without this bump on the road, and that is how it should continue to be.

QtHelex
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2019-04-07, 06:53 UTC

Re: Total Commander 3.0 beta 1 for Android is available now!

Post by *QtHelex » 2019-04-07, 07:08 UTC

ghisler(Author) wrote:
2019-01-09, 10:25 UTC
[*]Compare by content (via context menu): Select exactly 2 files
Since binary comparsion is in the meantime possible, are you thinking of a feature to compare whole directories by content in the finale release of TC 3.0 for Android?

I had issues in the past when moving files using SMB to a Windows Desktop and I would love to just copy and compare afterwards by content and delete whats identical.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37363
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Total Commander 3.0 beta 1 for Android is available now!

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2019-04-08, 16:44 UTC

A full-featured sync is unfortunately not possible, but I could let the user compare selected files with same named files in the target panel. But what should happen then? Just select files which are identical? Or different? What about files which are missing in the other panel?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

QtHelex
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2019-04-07, 06:53 UTC

Re: Total Commander 3.0 beta 1 for Android is available now!

Post by *QtHelex » 2019-04-08, 17:01 UTC

For me it would be enough to be able to delete identical files with the same name at one of the panels after the binary comparsion. I would use it to verify if a copy process was indeed successful or if I have a corrupt file left on the target.

When copying or moving from Android to Windows Desktop using SMB I already had some broken files on the target. (rough 1 out of 4000) - So it wouldn't be a sync, but a batch comparsion and delete identical.

QtHelex
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2019-04-07, 06:53 UTC

Re: Total Commander 3.0 beta 1 for Android is available now!

Post by *QtHelex » 2019-04-08, 18:32 UTC

What do you think of a "compare directories" button which opens a dialog and just asks what should happen after the comparsion is completed?


Dialog:
binary compare left and right panel
  • Mark all binary identical files after comparsion on both panels
  • Mark all files with the same name but different content on both panels
  • Mark all files which are missing on the respective target on both panels
[Start] [Cancel]


When the comparsion is completed basically nothing harmful has happened and the user is able to decide on it's own how to proceed with the selection result. (delete, copy again, check content of files, zip, ...)

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37363
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Total Commander 3.0 beta 1 for Android is available now!

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2019-04-11, 10:17 UTC

Sounds like a good idea!
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Skif_off
Member
Member
Posts: 114
Joined: 2013-09-30, 13:13 UTC

Re: Total Commander 3.0 beta 1 for Android is available now!

Post by *Skif_off » 2019-04-25, 12:18 UTC

2ghisler(Author)

TC 2.90, ZIP-file with several text files (1.txt, 2.txt, 3.txt):
- open ZIP-file;
- long tap on 1.txt > select Unpack+Edit;
- close editor;
- long tap on 2.txt > select Unpack+Edit.

Step 4 doesn't work in TC 3.0b3: after first opened file TC shows content of ZIP-file as usual file system, with assotiated icons and long-tap-menu. I.e. I can not open other file from this archive, now I can do only one: go to parent folder and open ZIP-file again.
Can you check it?

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37363
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Total Commander 3.0 beta 1 for Android is available now!

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2019-04-29, 13:43 UTC

It works here with beta 4 (not yet public) - please contact me by e-mail to cghisler at gmail dot com if you want a pre-release version for testing.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37363
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Total Commander 3.0 beta 1 for Android is available now!

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2019-06-18, 10:07 UTC

Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

phantom
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 527
Joined: 2003-11-21, 15:34 UTC

Re: Total Commander 3.0 beta 1 for Android is available now!

Post by *phantom » 2019-06-18, 14:57 UTC

Undo option in text editor would be nice.

Slavic
Member
Member
Posts: 105
Joined: 2006-02-26, 15:41 UTC
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Total Commander 3.0 beta 1 for Android is available now!

Post by *Slavic » 2019-06-20, 07:49 UTC

Suggestion: selection and context menu

Current logic of context (long press) menu may sometimes lead to confusion. This happens when we have selected (marked with a green tick) only a single file or folder. If a single file is selected, the menu item "Create link on desktop" disappears and instead of "Rename" the menu shows the "Multi-rename tool". While these changes are reasonable when we select two or more files (or folders), for a single object this is unexpected. We don't need multi-rename for a single file, and the disappearance of link option is also strange. Also, when we selected (ticked) one file and long press on another one (current), the menu items will work with the selected file, while the fist line of menu shows the name of current file.

Please consider to improve this logic depending on whether we have selected only a single object or two and more.
I suggest this way: when only a single object is selected, context menu should work with an object which we press on and which name is shown in the first line. If we press on the selected file, it will be used for menu operations; if we press on another file, TC will work with it. But when we have selected more than one item, the context menu should understand this and become different, as it works now. Moreover, I suggest for multiple selection show in the first menu line the number of selection, not the current name, like "3 selected objects", even if we long press on a non-selected file. This way user will clearly see that the menu operations will be performed with all currently selected objects, not with the pressed one.

P.S. Using the term "desktop" is somehow dubious: in Android, the term "home screen" (sometimes spelled as Homescreen) is used instead, in particular, in the Settings, Home settings. Please consider whether to change this in TC. I would like to change, but I understand that some old TC users may want to keep the traditional term.
Desktop: Windows 8.1 x64, TC 9.22a. Mobile: Pixel 3, Android 9, TC 3.0b4

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37363
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Total Commander 3.0 beta 1 for Android is available now!

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2019-06-20, 09:36 UTC

Undo option in text editor would be nice.
There is one in the context menu! However, it depends on the used edit control (which is depending on the Android version) whether UNDO works or not. And even then, it's very limited - it can usually only undo the last step, e.g. deleting text or so.
We don't need multi-rename for a single file
Why not? You can save multi-rename rules, and then apply them to various files in different directories...
Using the term "desktop" is somehow dubious: in Android, the term "home screen"
This could be confused with Total Commander's own home folder...
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

phantom
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 527
Joined: 2003-11-21, 15:34 UTC

Re: Total Commander 3.0 beta 1 for Android is available now!

Post by *phantom » 2019-06-20, 10:42 UTC

ghisler(Author) wrote:
2019-06-20, 09:36 UTC
Undo option in text editor would be nice.
... it can usually only undo the last step, e.g. deleting text or so.
Deleting text on smartphone is a problem, so undo the last step is very fine.

Post Reply