Page 1 of 1

Do TC4A work on Samsung Dex?

Posted: 2019-02-28, 18:09 UTC
by AldoMC
Hello.

I was wondering if Dex compatibility is possible with Total Commander for Android. It would be nice to have a desktop experience with Dex enabled phones.

Thanks.

Re: Do TC4A work on Samsung Dex?

Posted: 2019-03-01, 07:33 UTC
by ghisler(Author)
The beta version should work with Dex, but I cannot test it because my Samsung is too old (I'm still using a Galaxy S5).
You can try the beta here:
https://play.google.com/apps/testing/com.ghisler.android.TotalCommander

Re: Do TC4A work on Samsung Dex?

Posted: 2019-03-01, 12:43 UTC
by AldoMC
Thanks for replying!

I am using the latest beta on a Galaxy S9 and TC works as if it were in portrait mode on a larger screen.
What Iexpected was the app to be Dex aware and behave like some other Dex apps with a desktop like experience, similar to total commander on Windows.

I wonder if it is possible.

Thanks again.

Re: Do TC4A work on Samsung Dex?

Posted: 2019-03-01, 19:59 UTC
by ghisler(Author)
That's odd - according to the following page, all that needs to be done to support DEX is to add
android:resizeableActivity="true"
to the activity. I have this set for the main Total Commander activity. And that's from Samsung directly.
See:
https://developer.samsung.com/samsung-dex/modify-optimizing

But there is also a lot of code on that page which can be used to detect various DEX modes. I don't know which of that is mandatory and which os optional, and I cannot test it. Sorry, I cannot help you for now, it's not clear what I need to change.

Re: Do TC4A work on Samsung Dex?

Posted: 2019-03-06, 09:37 UTC
by ghisler(Author)
Unfortunately I still couldn't find out what to change to let the user resize Total Commander on DEX.

However, I found an option which should allow the user to resize any app:
Open Settings > Samsung DeX > Find “Samsung Dex Labs” and turn on.

Described here:
http://cooltechtrends.com/how-to-resize-the-window-or-go-to-the-full-screen-on-samsung-dex

Re: Do TC4A work on Samsung Dex?

Posted: 2019-06-13, 12:05 UTC
by AldoMC
Is it possible to implement 50/50 panels when using Dex?
Right now its fixed to 70/30 I think.

Re: Do TC4A work on Samsung Dex?

Posted: 2019-06-13, 19:18 UTC
by ghisler(Author)
The 70/30 panels are used to show to the user which is the active panel, and also to have more screen space for the side you work in.

Re: Do TC4A work on Samsung Dex?

Posted: 2019-06-19, 12:13 UTC
by AldoMC
ghisler(Author) wrote:
2019-06-13, 19:18 UTC
The 70/30 panels are used to show to the user which is the active panel, and also to have more screen space for the side you work in.
Yes, and it makes sense for the phone screen.
What I meant was to be able to toggle a 50/50 when using Dex with a monitor.

Thanks for answering.

Re: Do TC4A work on Samsung Dex?

Posted: 2019-06-20, 09:39 UTC
by ghisler(Author)
How would you know then which is the active side? This is important for e.g. the copy, pack or delete button.

Re: Do TC4A work on Samsung Dex?

Posted: 2019-06-24, 06:07 UTC
by Moore6
Agreed..70/30 panels may be used to show the user an active panel.Also for more screen space for the side.Stay blessed URL deleted



User came back to modify his post for to add spam links > URLs removed >> User banned

Please help us and report such post (see the [!] button) if you find them on browsing the forum, thanks.



 

Re: Do TC4A work on Samsung Dex?

Posted: 2019-06-26, 14:13 UTC
by AldoMC
ghisler(Author) wrote:
2019-06-20, 09:39 UTC
How would you know then which is the active side? This is important for e.g. the copy, pack or delete button.
I understand and I will pursue this no more.
What I wanted was a close to PC TC experiencie on this mobile app while running under Dex desktop.

Thank you!

Re: Do TC4A work on Samsung Dex?

Posted: 2019-06-27, 08:29 UTC
by ghisler(Author)
The problem is that Android doesn't have default active/inactive window title colors. Otherwise I could use that to mark the active side.