Bug: TC4A: Play (foreground) context menu item for ZIP, RAR

Support for Android version of Total Commander

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1389
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

Bug: TC4A: Play (foreground) context menu item for ZIP, RAR

Post by *DrShark » 2019-03-23, 19:49 UTC

For archives (zip, rar but not 7z) TC4A (at least version 3.0b3) shows "Play (foreground)" as first context menu item, but it actually opens archive.

There is also another difference in context menus for zip/rar and 7z (not sure whether it somehow depends on system associations): *.zip/*.rar files have "Open with" context menu item, and *.7z have "Open as" item. I guess it's expected that both "Open with" and "Open as" should be available for all kind of archives.
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38408
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Bug: TC4A: Play (foreground) context menu item for ZIP, RAR

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2019-03-24, 07:17 UTC

I will check the first, this shouldn't be.

The second happens because there is no MIME type for 7z on Android, so it's treated like an unknown format.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1389
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

Re: Bug: TC4A: Play (foreground) context menu item for ZIP, RAR

Post by *DrShark » 2019-03-24, 08:43 UTC

ghisler(Author) wrote:
2019-03-24, 07:17 UTC
The second happens because there is no MIME type for 7z on Android, so it's treated like an unknown format.
I asked because "Open with" has "Open with *" submenu which allows to open the file with any app, but "Open as" menu doesn't have such submenu. Is it possible to add "Open with *" submenu to also to "Open as" menu?
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right

User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1389
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

Re: Bug: TC4A: Play (foreground) context menu item for ZIP, RAR

Post by *DrShark » 2019-11-16, 14:16 UTC

2ghisler(author)
history2.txt wrote:2019-06-18 Release v 3.0 beta 4
2019-04-02 Fixed: Context menu: Changed menu item from "Play external" to "View file with app" for files which are not music or video, e.g. rar
I checked this fix on TC4A 3.0 beta 12: now the first context menu item for *.zip, *.rar is View file with app. However, on my devices this menu item behaves differently: on Android 4.3.1 it just opens archives in TC4A, on Android 5.1 device it offers apps list to pick for opening the archive. Unfortunately, the BlackBerry device with QNX/Android 4.2.2 I had access to is dead now, so I can't test there anymore.

Also, please add beta 12 changes to history2.txt.
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38408
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Bug: TC4A: Play (foreground) context menu item for ZIP, RAR

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2019-11-18, 11:26 UTC

It depends on what apps report that they support zip/rar. If none report to support them, TC will not show the app list.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Post Reply