(bug)total commander 3 beta 8 --- memory leak

Support for Android version of Total Commander

Moderators: Stefan2, white, sheep, Hacker

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37630
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: (bug)total commander 3 beta 8 --- memory leak

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2019-09-30, 13:25 UTC

I finally found the problem! It seems that the background thread used to extract icons isn't teminated, and so the icon cache cannot be freed. I will work on a solution for the next beta.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

sweetbox
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: 2012-03-27, 11:56 UTC

Re: (bug)total commander 3 beta 8 --- memory leak

Post by *sweetbox » 2019-10-01, 00:45 UTC

Congratulations!
Thank you for your hard work.

(I just want to say that it's not related to image size.I tested on folder with large pictures, and the memory increase step is the same behavior.(also the first increase will be 40MB, but will down to 5MB increase after 3 seconds).
So,yes,it's the icon through your check.)

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37630
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: (bug)total commander 3 beta 8 --- memory leak

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2019-10-03, 09:53 UTC

That's because the Java garbage collector only removes unused classes from time to time. I couldn't find any other leaks, so it shouldn't increase further after that first big bump (which is due to static classes remaining in memory).
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

sweetbox
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 25
Joined: 2012-03-27, 11:56 UTC

Re: (bug)total commander 3 beta 8 --- memory leak

Post by *sweetbox » 2019-10-04, 02:01 UTC

tried TC 3.0beta10, this bug is fixed.

Post Reply