[8.52a] Hex search in Lister for Cx, Dx, Ex, Fx

Please report only one bug per message!

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
poiuz
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: 2004-11-29, 14:13 UTC

[8.52a] Hex search in Lister for Cx, Dx, Ex, Fx

Post by *poiuz » 2016-04-01, 11:39 UTC

Can anyone please confirm the following:

1) Open (binary) file with Lister (make sure it contains Cx, Dx, Ex and Fx Bytes, with x element of [0-9A-F])

2) (Optional) press 3 for hex view

3a) Hex search for Cx finds Cx and Ex
3b) Hex search for Dx finds Dx and Fx
3c) Hex search for Ex finds Cx and Ex
3d) Hex search for Fx finds Dx and Fx

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8225
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV » 2016-04-01, 13:23 UTC

By default HEX search is case-insensitive. You should try to enable case-sensitive search.

poiuz
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: 2004-11-29, 14:13 UTC

Post by *poiuz » 2016-04-01, 14:40 UTC

Hm, I do not understand what case sensitivity has to do with the behavior I described.

Should it be normal that a search for C0 finds E0 as well as C0, a search for C1 finds E1 as well as C1, ...?
I expected to find only C0 when I searched for C0 and was quite surprised to find E0 as well.

May be its just me, but that strikes me as pretty unusual :) .

But case sensitivity seems to change the (IMHO) wrong behavior.
If you make the search case sensitive only the (IMHO) right bytes are found.

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8225
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV » 2016-04-01, 16:34 UTC

It seems that TC only uses HEX for building search string and then searches it as usual string. You can even mix hex and strings: "PK"0102.

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11156
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Post by *Hacker » 2016-04-01, 21:13 UTC

Yeah, well, it's by design.

Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

Post Reply