[TC 9.21a] Quick view: window-buttons & help menu don't work

Please report only one bug per message!

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
User avatar
ikarus1969
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: 2016-09-14, 10:28 UTC
Location: Vienna

[TC 9.21a] Quick view: window-buttons & help menu don't work

Post by *ikarus1969 » 2018-09-17, 05:30 UTC

Hi folks!

Today i stumbled across a small error in TotalCommander 9.21a / 64Bit.

If you place the selection on the ".." directory (it doesn't matter if you mark it), then press the "Strg-Q" for quick-view mode, the Help menu on the upper right and the window buttons (minimize, maximize, close) don't work/react on mouse-clicks.
Then, when leaving the quick-view mode by pressing "Strg-Q" again, the buttons and the help-menu are working again.

Can anyone confirm this behavior?
Man is incredible: in a world full of untold secrets he invented boredom

browny
Member
Member
Posts: 191
Joined: 2007-09-10, 13:19 UTC

Re: [TC 9.21a] Quick view: window-buttons & help menu don't work

Post by *browny » 2018-09-17, 08:38 UTC

Windows 10, 32-bit.
Everything was back to normal after all the information for Quick view was collected.

PS. Ctrl-Q in English.

User avatar
ikarus1969
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: 2016-09-14, 10:28 UTC
Location: Vienna

Re: [TC 9.21a] Quick view: window-buttons & help menu don't work

Post by *ikarus1969 » 2018-09-17, 09:56 UTC

Thank you for your reply!

So, if i'm in a directory that's very large i have to wait a long time for "Quick-View" collecting everything it needs, right?
Ok, i can abort this collecting by pressing "ESC" but i find it strange that the windows-buttons and the help-menu don't react during this time (maybe other buttons and/or menus don't react too but i didn't test that).
Man is incredible: in a world full of untold secrets he invented boredom

User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1387
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

Re: [TC 9.21a] Quick view: window-buttons & help menu don't work

Post by *DrShark » 2019-11-28, 17:34 UTC

Is the reason of such behavior (if I understand it right from description above) that QuickView is started within main TC thread (and it is like that because the plugins, supported by QuickView, can't be started in background thread for security reasons, as explained in another thread: https://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=52470) and it means this is intentional?
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right

Post Reply