Listers don't work with *.ts files

Please report only one bug per message!

Moderators: Stefan2, white, sheep, Hacker

6alyamov
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2019-04-26, 09:33 UTC

Listers don't work with *.ts files

Post by *6alyamov » 2019-04-26, 09:42 UTC

When press ctrl+q (Quick view) on *.ts files TC shows default view only, no listers applied.
TC just do not trigger any pluggin for *.ts files.
Is it possible to configure it somewhere?
Are *.ts files are special for TC?

User avatar
Gral
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 715
Joined: 2005-01-26, 15:12 UTC

Re: Listers don't work with *.ts files

Post by *Gral » 2019-04-26, 12:26 UTC

MMedia lister plugin works with TS files.
Get it - https://totalcmd.net/plugring/mmedia.html or http://fg.tcplugins.free.fr/mmedia.htm and add *.ts extension at the end of "MMEXT=" line in MMEDIA.INI file.

6alyamov
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2019-04-26, 09:33 UTC

Re: Listers don't work with *.ts files

Post by *6alyamov » 2019-04-26, 15:06 UTC

Thank you for the suggestion, but I'm more interested in TypeScript files (https://www.typescriptlang.org), not video.
I tried with https://totalcmd.net/plugring/CudaLister.html and some others. They just don't works with ts files.
The maintainer of CudaLister told that Total Commander just does not apply the lister on ts files for some reasons.

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3394
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Listers don't work with *.ts files

Post by *Horst.Epp » 2019-04-26, 15:38 UTC

6alyamov wrote:
2019-04-26, 15:06 UTC
Thank you for the suggestion, but I'm more interested in TypeScript files (https://www.typescriptlang.org), not video.
I tried with https://totalcmd.net/plugring/CudaLister.html and some others. They just don't works with ts files.
The maintainer of CudaLister told that Total Commander just does not apply the lister on ts files for some reasons.
I also tried with CudaLister and Syn2, both can perfectly display typescript files
but TC refuses to follow the plugin extension assigments in Quick View and also on viewing with F3.
I see this as an error of TCs lister.
Windows 10 Home x64 May 2019 Update, Version 1903 (OS Build 18362.329)
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GH, 16GB RAM
TC 9.22a x64 and x86, Everything 1.4.1.949 (x64)

User avatar
Usher
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 434
Joined: 2011-03-11, 10:11 UTC

Re: Listers don't work with *.ts files

Post by *Usher » 2019-04-26, 16:59 UTC

Have you tried to remove association with video ts type?
Regards from Poland
Andrzej P. Wozniak

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3394
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Listers don't work with *.ts files

Post by *Horst.Epp » 2019-04-26, 17:36 UTC

Usher wrote:
2019-04-26, 16:59 UTC
Have you tried to remove association with video ts type?
There is no place to remove ts type association !
It only works if I remove the MULTIMEDIA from the mmedia plugin
but this has of course the big disadvantage for playing all sorts of video.
For me the error is that TC lister doesn't work according to the assigned extensions
and simply ignores them even plugins higher in the load order are assigned to the ts extension.
I don't see any need for such strange behaviour and hope Christian will fix that.
Windows 10 Home x64 May 2019 Update, Version 1903 (OS Build 18362.329)
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GH, 16GB RAM
TC 9.22a x64 and x86, Everything 1.4.1.949 (x64)

User avatar
Usher
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 434
Joined: 2011-03-11, 10:11 UTC

Re: Listers don't work with *.ts files

Post by *Usher » 2019-04-26, 22:48 UTC

2Horst.Epp
I suspect that it may be a problem with mmedia plugin and TC can't do anything with it (or it's difficult to do a good workaround). Just guessing.

BTW. The question in my previous comment was NOT addressed to YOU personally. There's no need to shout and attack people which try to be helpful.
Regards from Poland
Andrzej P. Wozniak

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8467
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Listers don't work with *.ts files

Post by *petermad » 2019-04-27, 00:21 UTC

The reason why mmedia tries to open .ts files is because .ts is also the file extension for MPEG-2 TS-video files.

As far as I can see on https://www.typescriptlang.org/docs/home.html .ts files are basically .js files = javascript files, which are plain text files - so standard Lister Text view is usable. If you want syntax highligting, the syn2 pluging is an option.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.22a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1903) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b6 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3394
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Listers don't work with *.ts files

Post by *Horst.Epp » 2019-04-27, 07:01 UTC

Usher wrote:
2019-04-26, 22:48 UTC
2Horst.Epp
I suspect that it may be a problem with mmedia plugin and TC can't do anything with it (or it's difficult to do a good workaround). Just guessing.

BTW. The question in my previous comment was NOT addressed to YOU personally. There's no need to shout and attack people which try to be helpful.
Sorry, but there was no intention to shout or attack anyone, I only said what I see.
Also the ts file problem is not on my site I only tested it for the thread starter.
Windows 10 Home x64 May 2019 Update, Version 1903 (OS Build 18362.329)
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GH, 16GB RAM
TC 9.22a x64 and x86, Everything 1.4.1.949 (x64)

6alyamov
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2019-04-26, 09:33 UTC

Re: Listers don't work with *.ts files

Post by *6alyamov » 2019-04-27, 18:11 UTC

I do not have MMedia lister plugin.
CudaLister and Syn2 works perfectly if I change extension of a file to js or tsx for example.
I have installed TypeScript lexers, and SynWriter opens ts files as expected.
I tend to think that the problem in TC, I observe it long time with different installations and on different PCs.

User avatar
sqa_wizard
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3481
Joined: 2003-02-06, 11:41 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Listers don't work with *.ts files

Post by *sqa_wizard » 2019-04-28, 17:14 UTC

Note, that a Lister Plugin is chosen by the first matching one at the sequence they are listed at configuration file.
You just have to move the position Syn2 or CudaLister up, to be earlier than other matching ones.

To do this choose "Configuration - Options - Plugins" and click at Configure button of "Lister plugins" section.
A dialog appears, which displays all installed Lister plugins.
Select the entry with Syn2 or CudaLister.
Now click on the tiny up arrow, left of the "Add" button.
This will move the entry one position up.
Repeat up arrow click until the desired position is reached.
Click OK to apply the new setting.
Restart TC

Try again ...
#5767 Personal license

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3394
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Listers don't work with *.ts files

Post by *Horst.Epp » 2019-04-28, 17:43 UTC

sqa_wizard wrote:
2019-04-28, 17:14 UTC
Note, that a Lister Plugin is chosen by the first matching one at the sequence they are listed at configuration file.
You just have to move the position Syn2 or CudaLister up, to be earlier than other matching ones.

To do this choose "Configuration - Options - Plugins" and click at Configure button of "Lister plugins" section.
A dialog appears, which displays all installed Lister plugins.
Select the entry with Syn2 or CudaLister.
Now click on the tiny up arrow, left of the "Add" button.
This will move the entry one position up.
Repeat up arrow click until the desired position is reached.
Click OK to apply the new setting.
Restart TC

Try again ...
Sorry, but this doesn't help and belive me I know about this and tested it.
CudaLister has assigned the .ts extension and it is on top of the Lister plugins.
As I already said some posts above it only helps to remove the Multimedia from the mmedia plugin assignment
which of course is not what we want.
For me its simply an error in TCs lister functionality regarding priority of plugins.
Windows 10 Home x64 May 2019 Update, Version 1903 (OS Build 18362.329)
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GH, 16GB RAM
TC 9.22a x64 and x86, Everything 1.4.1.949 (x64)

User avatar
sqa_wizard
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3481
Joined: 2003-02-06, 11:41 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Listers don't work with *.ts files

Post by *sqa_wizard » 2019-04-29, 18:39 UTC

Well, here is what I tried before posting:
- SynWrite (Syn2-Plugin) with no assignment at all
- mmedia-plugin with MULTIMEDIA assignment

Created a textfile with name "test.ts"

Set Plugin order:
1. mmedia
2. Syn2

!!! Important: Restart TC !!!

Quickview (Ctrl-Q) or F3 on "test.ts" => mmedia showed mediaplayer


Set Plugin order:
1. Syn2
2. mmedia

!!! Important: Restart TC !!!

Quickview (Ctrl-Q) or F3 on "test.ts" => Syn2 showed text

That is exactly what I expected TC to do ...
#5767 Personal license

User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1264
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

Re: Listers don't work with *.ts files

Post by *DrShark » 2019-04-30, 22:15 UTC

I canNOT confirm issues with CudaLister and TS (typescript) files using TC 9.22a 32-bit, Vista 32-bit, CudaLister 1.6.7.

Tried with following *.ts files: sample 1 (this one mentioned on TS opening issue which is reported on CudaLister's GitHub; rename it from txt to ts), sample 2
1. Starting TC with clean ini and only CudaLister 1.6.7 installed as following:

Code: Select all

[ListerPlugins]
0=C:\totalcmd\Plugins\wlx\CudaLister\cudalister.wlx
2. Starting TC with clean ini + CudaLister 1.6.7, mmedia 2.46 installed as following:

Code: Select all

[ListerPlugins]
0=C:\totalcmd\Plugins\wlx\CudaLister\cudalister.wlx
1=C:\totalcmd\Plugins\wlx\wlx_mmedia246\mmedia.wlx
1_detect="MULTIMEDIA"
I even added

Code: Select all

[ext]
MMEXT = ts
(actually ts goes after other default listed extensions) to mmedia.ini

In both cases tried viewing using F3 and Ctrl+Q, and in both cases CudaLister showed sample .ts files just fine.

26alyamov, Horst.Epp
Following information may help to reproduce an error:
1. OS and TC versions, and are they 32 bit, or 64-bit?
2. [Lister] and [ListerPlugins] sections of wincmd.ini.
3. Versions of plugins, if used, and their settings.
4. Sample ts files used to reproduce the issue.
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3394
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Listers don't work with *.ts files

Post by *Horst.Epp » 2019-05-01, 07:24 UTC

DrShark wrote:
2019-04-30, 22:15 UTC
I canNOT confirm issues with CudaLister and TS (typescript) files using TC 9.22a 32-bit, Vista 32-bit, CudaLister 1.6.7.

Tried with following *.ts files: sample 1 (this one mentioned on TS opening issue which is reported on CudaLister's GitHub; rename it from txt to ts), sample 2
1. Starting TC with clean ini and only CudaLister 1.6.7 installed as following:

Code: Select all

[ListerPlugins]
0=C:\totalcmd\Plugins\wlx\CudaLister\cudalister.wlx
2. Starting TC with clean ini + CudaLister 1.6.7, mmedia 2.46 installed as following:

Code: Select all

[ListerPlugins]
0=C:\totalcmd\Plugins\wlx\CudaLister\cudalister.wlx
1=C:\totalcmd\Plugins\wlx\wlx_mmedia246\mmedia.wlx
1_detect="MULTIMEDIA"
I even added

Code: Select all

[ext]
MMEXT = ts
(actually ts goes after other default listed extensions) to mmedia.ini

In both cases tried viewing using F3 and Ctrl+Q, and in both cases CudaLister showed sample .ts files just fine.

26alyamov, Horst.Epp
Following information may help to reproduce an error:
1. OS and TC versions, and are they 32 bit, or 64-bit?
2. [Lister] and [ListerPlugins] sections of wincmd.ini.
3. Versions of plugins, if used, and their settings.
4. Sample ts files used to reproduce the issue.
Its a very strange problem.
I tested with a fresh ini file in x86 and x64 version of TC and only CudaLister 1.6.7 as plugin.
TC refuses to load the .ts files with Cudalister but displays it with Lister itself.
If I install the same CudaLister on Unreal Commander it displays the same .ts files just fine.
In the OS .ts files are assigned to VLC player.
Windows 10 Home x64 May 2019 Update, Version 1903 (OS Build 18362.329)
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GH, 16GB RAM
TC 9.22a x64 and x86, Everything 1.4.1.949 (x64)

Post Reply