Ctrl-C copy problems with Lister

Please report only one bug per message!

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
leonbloy
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: 2009-06-22, 13:53 UTC

Ctrl-C copy problems with Lister

Post by *leonbloy » 2019-05-14, 20:54 UTC

I was trying to copy some selected text from a Lister window with Ctrl-C and it didn't work, in the Clipboard I got strange things like

Code: Select all

---------------------------
Reading directories: %3i  (Esc to abort)
---------------------------
func2 
---------------------------
OK   
---------------------------
or

Code: Select all

---------------------------
Search for selected text with Google
---------------------------
func2
---------------------------
OK   
---------------------------
or

Code: Select all

---------------------------
Not found:
---------------------------
ASDASDA
---------------------------
OK   
---------------------------
Copying from the menu->Edit->Copy as text worked, though. I was quite perplexed, until I discovered that I had left another Lister window
with an unclosed search popup window. That shouldn't mess other Listers operations, but it seems it does.

==============================
Steps to reproduce:

Open a Lister window on some file, search for some non-existant string, and whn the "Not found:" popup appears, don't close it.
Switch to TC, open another Lister windows on some other text file, select some text and copy it with Ctrl-C.
Paste to Notepad.
==============================

Experienced with 9.12 and latest 9.22a (64 bits)

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3475
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Ctrl-C copy problems with Lister

Post by *Horst.Epp » 2019-05-15, 09:04 UTC

Not confirmed
Followed your steps and it works as it should be.
I guess you run some strange Clipboard tool.
Windows 10 Home x64 November 2019 Update, Version 1909 (OS Build 18363.476)
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GH, 16GB RAM
TC 9.50ß8 x64 / x86, Everything 1.4.1.959 (x64)

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8974
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Ctrl-C copy problems with Lister

Post by *petermad » 2019-05-15, 10:41 UTC

I can confirm it here at work in TC 9.12 - I will test it in TC 9.22a when I come home.

If I right-click on the selected text in the second instance of Lister and select "Copy as text" it works as it is supposed to.
Last edited by petermad on 2019-05-15, 16:15 UTC, edited 2 times in total.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b8 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b12 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3475
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Ctrl-C copy problems with Lister

Post by *Horst.Epp » 2019-05-15, 11:44 UTC

petermad wrote:
2019-05-15, 10:41 UTC
I can confirm it here at work in TC 9.12a - I will test it in TC 9.22a when I come home.

If I right-click on the selected test in the second instance of Lister and select "Copy as text" it works as it is supposed to.
For me it works with Ctrl-C and also using right click and "Copy as text"
Windows 10 Home x64 November 2019 Update, Version 1909 (OS Build 18363.476)
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GH, 16GB RAM
TC 9.50ß8 x64 / x86, Everything 1.4.1.959 (x64)

User avatar
chandragor
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: 2005-06-01, 10:10 UTC
Location: Italy

Re: Ctrl-C copy problems with Lister

Post by *chandragor » 2019-05-15, 12:35 UTC

Confirmed here too: TC 9.22a on Windows 7, both 32 and 64 bits.
Happy owner of license #12422 since 1997

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8974
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Ctrl-C copy problems with Lister

Post by *petermad » 2019-05-15, 16:07 UTC

I have now tested it in TC 9.22a 32bit and 64bit - and I can still confirm it.
Tested under Windows 7 and 10, and also tested with clean ini file.

BTW it is a duplicate of this: https://www.ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=46189 - and cannot be solved according to Ghisler
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b8 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b12 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3475
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Ctrl-C copy problems with Lister

Post by *Horst.Epp » 2019-05-15, 17:18 UTC

petermad wrote:
2019-05-15, 16:07 UTC
I have now tested it in TC 9.22a 32bit and 64bit - and I can still confirm it.
Tested under Windows 7 and 10, and also tested with clean ini file.

BTW it is a duplicate of this: https://www.ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=46189 - and cannot be solved according to Ghisler
I found why I couldn't reproduce it :o
I was testing using your Lister menu entry "Auto (No Plugins/Multimedia)
but this is using a seperate TC (cmd=%COMMANDER_EXE% /S=L:N).
Tested with a clean Ini file I can confirm the error to.
Windows 10 Home x64 November 2019 Update, Version 1909 (OS Build 18363.476)
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GH, 16GB RAM
TC 9.50ß8 x64 / x86, Everything 1.4.1.959 (x64)

User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1389
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

Re: Ctrl-C copy problems with Lister

Post by *DrShark » 2019-11-17, 16:24 UTC

ghisler(Author) wrote:
2016-10-31, 20:30 UTC
it is NOT solvable.
It looks like it has been solved finally:
history950.txt wrote:04.11.18 Fixed: Lister (F3) showing message box (e.g. after unsuccessful search): Switch back to TC, press Ctrl+C -> it was intercepted by the still open message box in Lister (32/64)
Can confirm the fix, tried in TC 9.50 beta 5 with dark mode disabled to get system msgbox in Lister, then copied text both from Lister's second opened copy or Total Commander's command line: it seems like the text is copied properly.
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8974
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Ctrl-C copy problems with Lister

Post by *petermad » 2019-11-17, 19:23 UTC

.

Sorry to have to report that this bug is still present if TranslateMessageButtons=0 is set in wincmd.ini :!:
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b8 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b12 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38408
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Ctrl-C copy problems with Lister

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2019-11-18, 13:28 UTC

Sorry to have to report that this bug is still present if TranslateMessageButtons=0 is set in wincmd.ini :!:
This is intentional. The solution requires a Windows hook, which can cause problems with certain virus scanners. TranslateMessageButtons=0 is mainly there so you can disable that hook.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8974
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Ctrl-C copy problems with Lister

Post by *petermad » 2019-11-18, 16:20 UTC

OK :-)
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b8 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b12 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

Post Reply