Page 1 of 1

Ctrl-C copy problems with Lister

Posted: 2019-05-14, 20:54 UTC
by leonbloy
I was trying to copy some selected text from a Lister window with Ctrl-C and it didn't work, in the Clipboard I got strange things like

Code: Select all

---------------------------
Reading directories: %3i  (Esc to abort)
---------------------------
func2 
---------------------------
OK   
---------------------------
or

Code: Select all

---------------------------
Search for selected text with Google
---------------------------
func2
---------------------------
OK   
---------------------------
or

Code: Select all

---------------------------
Not found:
---------------------------
ASDASDA
---------------------------
OK   
---------------------------
Copying from the menu->Edit->Copy as text worked, though. I was quite perplexed, until I discovered that I had left another Lister window
with an unclosed search popup window. That shouldn't mess other Listers operations, but it seems it does.

==============================
Steps to reproduce:

Open a Lister window on some file, search for some non-existant string, and whn the "Not found:" popup appears, don't close it.
Switch to TC, open another Lister windows on some other text file, select some text and copy it with Ctrl-C.
Paste to Notepad.
==============================

Experienced with 9.12 and latest 9.22a (64 bits)

Re: Ctrl-C copy problems with Lister

Posted: 2019-05-15, 09:04 UTC
by Horst.Epp
Not confirmed
Followed your steps and it works as it should be.
I guess you run some strange Clipboard tool.

Re: Ctrl-C copy problems with Lister

Posted: 2019-05-15, 10:41 UTC
by petermad
I can confirm it here at work in TC 9.12 - I will test it in TC 9.22a when I come home.

If I right-click on the selected text in the second instance of Lister and select "Copy as text" it works as it is supposed to.

Re: Ctrl-C copy problems with Lister

Posted: 2019-05-15, 11:44 UTC
by Horst.Epp
petermad wrote:
2019-05-15, 10:41 UTC
I can confirm it here at work in TC 9.12a - I will test it in TC 9.22a when I come home.

If I right-click on the selected test in the second instance of Lister and select "Copy as text" it works as it is supposed to.
For me it works with Ctrl-C and also using right click and "Copy as text"

Re: Ctrl-C copy problems with Lister

Posted: 2019-05-15, 12:35 UTC
by chandragor
Confirmed here too: TC 9.22a on Windows 7, both 32 and 64 bits.

Re: Ctrl-C copy problems with Lister

Posted: 2019-05-15, 16:07 UTC
by petermad
I have now tested it in TC 9.22a 32bit and 64bit - and I can still confirm it.
Tested under Windows 7 and 10, and also tested with clean ini file.

BTW it is a duplicate of this: https://www.ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=46189 - and cannot be solved according to Ghisler

Re: Ctrl-C copy problems with Lister

Posted: 2019-05-15, 17:18 UTC
by Horst.Epp
petermad wrote:
2019-05-15, 16:07 UTC
I have now tested it in TC 9.22a 32bit and 64bit - and I can still confirm it.
Tested under Windows 7 and 10, and also tested with clean ini file.

BTW it is a duplicate of this: https://www.ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=46189 - and cannot be solved according to Ghisler
I found why I couldn't reproduce it :o
I was testing using your Lister menu entry "Auto (No Plugins/Multimedia)
but this is using a seperate TC (cmd=%COMMANDER_EXE% /S=L:N).
Tested with a clean Ini file I can confirm the error to.

Re: Ctrl-C copy problems with Lister

Posted: 2019-11-17, 16:24 UTC
by DrShark
ghisler(Author) wrote:
2016-10-31, 20:30 UTC
it is NOT solvable.
It looks like it has been solved finally:
history950.txt wrote:04.11.18 Fixed: Lister (F3) showing message box (e.g. after unsuccessful search): Switch back to TC, press Ctrl+C -> it was intercepted by the still open message box in Lister (32/64)
Can confirm the fix, tried in TC 9.50 beta 5 with dark mode disabled to get system msgbox in Lister, then copied text both from Lister's second opened copy or Total Commander's command line: it seems like the text is copied properly.

Re: Ctrl-C copy problems with Lister

Posted: 2019-11-17, 19:23 UTC
by petermad
.

Sorry to have to report that this bug is still present if TranslateMessageButtons=0 is set in wincmd.ini :!:

Re: Ctrl-C copy problems with Lister

Posted: 2019-11-18, 13:28 UTC
by ghisler(Author)
Sorry to have to report that this bug is still present if TranslateMessageButtons=0 is set in wincmd.ini :!:
This is intentional. The solution requires a Windows hook, which can cause problems with certain virus scanners. TranslateMessageButtons=0 is mainly there so you can disable that hook.

Re: Ctrl-C copy problems with Lister

Posted: 2019-11-18, 16:20 UTC
by petermad
OK :-)