separate tree node expanding bug

Please report only one bug per message!

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
mosunovpa
New Member
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 2019-06-17, 11:05 UTC

separate tree node expanding bug

Post by *mosunovpa » 2019-06-17, 11:13 UTC

Hello.
Very small bug. When i expand non-focused node of the separate tree by clicking an arrow the new tree item becomes selected. I suppose the tree should not change item selection in that case.

User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1403
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

Re: separate tree node expanding bug

Post by *DrShark » 2019-11-17, 17:57 UTC

mosunovpa wrote:
2019-06-17, 11:13 UTC
When i expand non-focused node of the separate tree by clicking an arrow the new tree item becomes selected.
What do you mean by "arrow"?

If you meant the [+] item to expand folders in Separate Tree, a click on it with mouse expands the separate tree without changing the current path in active panel, so here it works as expected.

If to set the focus on a separate tree using a command cm_FocusSrcTree, and use up/down arrow keys, they will change focus+selection (it's the same thing for separate tree), and panel's current path will follow focused-selected folder in Separate tree. I don't think it's possible to expand not-focused folders of Separate Tree with arrow keys in a way similar to one possible using mouse and [+] control. As far as I know, described behavior is designed to work this way, I even made a suggestion to enhance it for different workflow, but currently the development of features (and even some bugfixing) related to trees is on hiatus.
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3484
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: separate tree node expanding bug

Post by *Horst.Epp » 2019-11-17, 18:11 UTC

mosunovpa wrote:
2019-06-17, 11:13 UTC
Hello.
Very small bug. When i expand non-focused node of the separate tree by clicking an arrow the new tree item becomes selected. I suppose the tree should not change item selection in that case.
Not for me.
The tree is expanded and no focus change is made on any of the other two windows.
Windows 10 Home x64 November 2019 Update, Version 1909 (OS Build 18363.535)
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GH, 16GB RAM
TC 9.50ß9 x64 / x86, Everything 1.4.1.960 (x64)

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9001
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: separate tree node expanding bug

Post by *petermad » 2019-11-17, 20:01 UTC

2DrShark
If you meant the [+] item to expand folders in Separate Tree
whether you see a [+] or a little triangle depends on these 2 settings in the [Color] section of wincmd.ini:
TreeLineColor=-1 Sets the color of the connecting lines in the tree inside of the file panels, the separate trees, the Alt+F10 tree dialog, and the FTP connect dialog. Values: rgb-value, or -1=default, or -2= invisible
TreeTriangles=-1 Icons to expand/collapse tree:
0: Show [+]
1: Show triangle if supported
-1: Let TC decide
By Default TC shows triangles (in newer OS's), but if TreeLineColor=0 (black) and TreeTriangles=-1 TC decides to show [+]'s

2mosunovpa
The focus is changed in the tree itself when clicking a node, but the file panels are unchanged, so it is not quite the way it is in Windows Explorer.

But both in TC and Explorer It is first when you click on the folder name that the file panel is changed to that folder.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b9 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b12 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1403
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

Re: separate tree node expanding bug

Post by *DrShark » 2019-11-18, 09:13 UTC

petermad wrote:
2019-11-17, 20:01 UTC
whether you see a [+] or a little triangle depends on these 2 settings in the [Color] section of wincmd.ini:
...
On my OS with clean ini TC decides to use [+] by default.
petermad wrote:
2019-11-17, 20:01 UTC
The focus is changed in the tree itself when clicking a node, but the file panels are unchanged
The topic is about Separate Tree, there focus is not changed to a folder for which we're expanding the node, and this behavior doesn't seem to be configurable.

For regular tree it moves there, and in theory there should be a way to disable this behavior using the AllowSetCursorPos=0 setting:

Code: Select all

[Configuration]
AllowSetCursorPos=0
; Sets behaviour when expanding a large directory in tree view with the mouse, e.g. by clicking on the [+] symbol:
; 1: Mouse cursor is moved so it remains on the expanded directory
; 0: Mouse cursor is not moved
Well, just I tried it on the tree of my C:'\ drive and it is still moved, maybe all the dirs there arn't large enough to make this setting work (but I tried to expand a dir with 65000 subdirs, and cursor moved on it anyway)...
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9001
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: separate tree node expanding bug

Post by *petermad » 2019-11-18, 12:56 UTC

The topic is about Separate Tree, there focus is not changed to a folder for which we're expanding the node, and this behavior doesn't seem to be configurable.
I am talking about the separate tree too. With focus I mean the selection bar in the tree panel - it moves to the folder in the tree of wich I clicked the node to the left of the folder name. And the color of the folder turns red (with clean ini). This applies to 64bit TC

BUT I just discovered that in 32bit TC the selection bar stays where it is - as you experience.

So the behaviour depends on the bitness of TC - I myself would prefer if both versions worked as the 32 bit version

On my OS with clean ini TC decides to use [+] by default.
On my Windows 7, 8.1 and 10 computers it defaults to a triangle. On my Windows XP computer it defaults to [+].

For regular tree it moves there, and in theory there should be a way to disable this behavior using the AllowSetCursorPos=0 setting:
This setting applies to the MOUSE cursor - not the selection cursior bar.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b9 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b12 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

Post Reply