Feature request: per-dir sort option and external differ

English support forum

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

rytrom

Feature request: per-dir sort option and external differ

Post by *rytrom »

I'm not an expert in TC but I didn't find a way to specify sort order per folder. It'd be very useful to sort by date in "downloads" directory (were all downloads come to) and at the same time to sort by name in a folder storing log files (which vary in extentions). Though usualy I sort files by extention.

Another option I searched and didn't find is to specify an external diff program but use TC functionality on choosing files to compare (I mean to take a file with the same name from the opposite panel to compare as selected one)
chasbas

Post by *chasbas »

Remembering sort order by directory is a relatively frequent request (you can search this forum for it), but as far as I know has not yet been implemented. That may change in 6.0 with the new Tabs features.

There are a couple of of ways to run an external program using the currently selected file name and the target directory. Something tells me you're not looking hard enough at the help file. Check out the button bar, the % placeholders (like %N for filename and %T for target path), customizing the Start menu, associating keys with start menu items, and you can also (again) search this forum for samples and suggestions that do exactly what you are looking for.
rytrom

Post by *rytrom »

Wow! That's cool. I didn't know about it. I'm impressed:-)
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Sort order is indeed remembered by Tab in 6.0, but not by directory.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
oblomov

Post by *oblomov »

ghisler(Author) wrote:Sort order is indeed remembered by Tab in 6.0, but not by directory.
And what about the feature to use an external diff program instead of the built-in one?