Compare Folders by content

English support forum

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
uffe_K
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: 2004-03-06, 19:23 UTC
Location: Roskilde, DK

Compare Folders by content

Post by *uffe_K » 2009-01-25, 07:39 UTC

I very much miss being able to compare folders by content. Ignore different timestamps of files, being able to specify only certain extensions or such.

User avatar
TLis
Member
Member
Posts: 110
Joined: 2004-06-02, 16:48 UTC
Location: Szczecin, Poland

Post by *TLis » 2009-01-25, 08:01 UTC

Have you tried the Synchronise Folders command? It would compare the contents of the folder, including subfolders (if you wish), comparing files by contents, ignoring timestamp differences, etc.

You just don't need actually to synchronise the files between the folders, but you will get a useful comparison result.

uffe_K
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: 2004-03-06, 19:23 UTC
Location: Roskilde, DK

Post by *uffe_K » 2009-01-25, 08:57 UTC

Thanks, looks just like what I need.

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11360
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Post by *Hacker » 2009-01-25, 10:13 UTC

Message from moderator

Moved to the English forum.

Hacker (Moderator)
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

TEN
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 2019-11-03, 09:48 UTC

Re:

Post by *TEN » 2019-11-03, 10:05 UTC

TLis wrote:
2009-01-25, 08:01 UTC
Have you tried the Synchronise Folders command? It would compare the contents of the folder, including subfolders (if you wish), comparing files by contents, ignoring timestamp differences, etc.

You just don't need actually to synchronise the files between the folders, but you will get a useful comparison result.
Recently having had to do this mostly manually for over a thousand files on a tablet (to undo havoc by its half-baked vendor-supplied File Manager) made me wonder:
There is still no such thing in Total Commander for Android, though the reasons from the early days of Android don't quite apply anymore?
Arguably at FullHD+ resolutions even on cellphones (better than when Total Commander started out on PCs) there'd be ample screen real estate these days for a dialog such as...
Image: http://lefteous.totalcmd.net/tc/images/image/sync_pictures.png

Post Reply