Close button to tray?

English support forum

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

User avatar
Boofo
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1431
Joined: 2003-02-11, 00:29 UTC
Location: Des Moines, IA (USA)
Contact:

Post by *Boofo » 2009-06-09, 13:42 UTC

I would rather see it built-in and not have to load another program at startup to get it to do that, if possible. But that is an option if this request gets ignored or delayed. Thanks. I will check it out. ;)
chmod a+x /bin/laden -- Allows anyone the permission to execute /bin/laden

How do I un-overwrite all my data?

User of Total Commander
#60471 Single user license

User avatar
Boofo
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1431
Joined: 2003-02-11, 00:29 UTC
Location: Des Moines, IA (USA)
Contact:

Post by *Boofo » 2009-08-14, 04:40 UTC

2Christian,

Any hope of seeing this in the final release or before?
chmod a+x /bin/laden -- Allows anyone the permission to execute /bin/laden

How do I un-overwrite all my data?

User of Total Commander
#60471 Single user license

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38116
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2009-08-14, 15:46 UTC

Sorry, it hasn't made it into TC 7.5. Since RC1 i out now, the program is now feature-complete. I will not add any new functions which could lead to new bugs and make the test take forever...
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
eugensyl
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 564
Joined: 2004-06-03, 18:27 UTC
Location: România
Contact:

Post by *eugensyl » 2009-08-15, 23:08 UTC

ghisler(Author) wrote:How would you actually end TC then?
Ctrl+Alt+Del

:P

Why to exit?

Sorry for my joke !

My point of view is to keep Alt_F4 for exit and [X] and button from command
buttons as an exception of rule.
My Best Wishes,

Eugen

User avatar
eugensyl
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 564
Joined: 2004-06-03, 18:27 UTC
Location: România
Contact:

Post by *eugensyl » 2009-08-17, 07:45 UTC

eugensyl wrote:
ghisler(Author) wrote:How would you actually end TC then?
Ctrl+Alt+Del

:P

Why to exit?

Sorry for my joke !

My point of view is to keep Alt_F4 for exit and [X] and button from command
buttons as an exception of rule.
ADD: EXIT menu over systray icon obviously a necessity.
My Best Wishes,

Eugen

User avatar
Boofo
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1431
Joined: 2003-02-11, 00:29 UTC
Location: Des Moines, IA (USA)
Contact:

Post by *Boofo » 2009-08-17, 07:50 UTC

2eugensyl,

I don't expect to see this added for a few versions, if then.
chmod a+x /bin/laden -- Allows anyone the permission to execute /bin/laden

How do I un-overwrite all my data?

User of Total Commander
#60471 Single user license

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8389
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV » 2009-08-17, 08:05 UTC

Just edit your MNU file and append to the end of it following line:

MENUITEM "Minimi&ze", cm_Minimize

You will see a button Minimize under your [x] button. And TC will be minimized every time you press this button! :) (or if you press Alt and Z then)

User avatar
Boofo
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1431
Joined: 2003-02-11, 00:29 UTC
Location: Des Moines, IA (USA)
Contact:

Post by *Boofo » 2009-08-17, 08:26 UTC

2MVV
I can do that now with the minimize to tray option. Just not for the X button, which I seem to hit more often than not.
chmod a+x /bin/laden -- Allows anyone the permission to execute /bin/laden

How do I un-overwrite all my data?

User of Total Commander
#60471 Single user license

User avatar
Boofo
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1431
Joined: 2003-02-11, 00:29 UTC
Location: Des Moines, IA (USA)
Contact:

Post by *Boofo » 2011-01-02, 15:18 UTC

I just noticed that a new setting for MinimizeOnClose has been added. When did that get put in? Thank you very much for this by the way. It makes like much easier. ;)
chmod a+x /bin/laden -- Allows anyone the permission to execute /bin/laden

How do I un-overwrite all my data?

User of Total Commander
#60471 Single user license

User avatar
karlchen
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 4555
Joined: 2003-02-06, 22:23 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *karlchen » 2011-01-02, 15:28 UTC

Happy New Year, Boofo.

MinimizeOnClose is a very old feature. Must have been added last year or so.
history.txt wrote:23.11.10 Release Total Commander 7.56 release candidate 1
[...]
19.11.10 Added: MinimizeOnClose=4: Minimize TC also when clicking on button "Alt+F4 Exit" in lower right corner
[...]
03.11.10 Added: wincmd.ini [Configuration] MinimizeOnClose: Minimize main window instead of closing it 1: when clicking on [X] button, 2: On Alt+F4, 3: both (note: Hold down shift when clicking on [X] to force close)
Cheers,
Karl

User avatar
Boofo
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1431
Joined: 2003-02-11, 00:29 UTC
Location: Des Moines, IA (USA)
Contact:

Post by *Boofo » 2011-01-02, 15:33 UTC

karlchen wrote:Happy New Year, Boofo.

MinimizeOnClose is a very old feature. Must have been added last year or so.
history.txt wrote:23.11.10 Release Total Commander 7.56 release candidate 1
[...]
19.11.10 Added: MinimizeOnClose=4: Minimize TC also when clicking on button "Alt+F4 Exit" in lower right corner
[...]
03.11.10 Added: wincmd.ini [Configuration] MinimizeOnClose: Minimize main window instead of closing it 1: when clicking on [X] button, 2: On Alt+F4, 3: both (note: Hold down shift when clicking on [X] to force close)
Cheers,
Karl
Happy new year to you and yours also. ;)

I totally missed that feature until I was accidentally looking for something else in the help file. Isn't that the way it usually goes, though? ;)
chmod a+x /bin/laden -- Allows anyone the permission to execute /bin/laden

How do I un-overwrite all my data?

User of Total Commander
#60471 Single user license

daktari
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: 2011-01-04, 00:45 UTC

Post by *daktari » 2011-01-04, 01:22 UTC

I use Trayconizer for this and MANY other programs. Easy to implement, and a real nice feature for those of us not using something like Windows 7. My taskbar can get cluttered if too may apps are open at once.

The only drawback is the program must be opened first (not using a context menu) or else it will not park in the sys tray.

Post Reply