hide some interface elements possible?

English support forum

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
sgp
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 355
Joined: 2005-01-31, 16:04 UTC

hide some interface elements possible?

Post by *sgp »

Is it possible to hide some interface elements? Specifically:

1. The .. (dot dot) "directory up" entry at the top of the file list (and of the thumbnail list)?

2. The right/bottom panel in a way that works for all monitor resolutions?

3. Can MVV's TCFS2 tool do 1 or 2 above? (I can't find a thread for that too)

Thanks in advance

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8486
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV »

1. I think you cannot because this item is general for all file managers.

2. Sorry I don't understand what do you mean. If you need to hide second panel, you may drag panel separator to 100%. Also if you want to have window settings for all resolutions you should try INI parameter ResolutionSpecific=0 (read about it in help file).

3. TCFS2 allows to change settings that may be changed via internal TC commands or INI (e.g. buttonbar buttons size), it doesn't allow to hide items that TC shows always. But maybe it is possible to hide ".." item using TWinKey - just try it, I can't tell you details since I don't use it.

User avatar
Vochomurka
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 794
Joined: 2005-09-14, 22:19 UTC
Location: Russia
Contact:

Post by *Vochomurka »

Some more means to show/hide interface elements.
Single user license #329241
PowerPro scripts for Total Commander

User avatar
Stance
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1075
Joined: 2005-03-29, 06:26 UTC

Post by *Stance »

sgp wrote:Is it possible to hide some interface elements? Specifically:

1. The .. (dot dot) "directory up" entry at the top of the file list (and of the thumbnail list)?
Configuration - Display
Show parent dir [..] also in root of drive

sgp
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 355
Joined: 2005-01-31, 16:04 UTC

Post by *sgp »

Thank you all for your answers.
@MVV: #2 can be changed via INI too, so I'll try with TCFS2.
@Yochomurka: ppro is always good, although in this case it doesn't help.
@Stance: that setting works only for the root dir, I believe.

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8486
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Post by *MVV »

#2 can be changed via INI too, so I'll try with TCFS2.
But you will need to restart TC to apply INI changes... So I don't think TCFS2 will help here, you just need to edit INI once manually.

User avatar
randysejas
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: 2016-02-27, 14:12 UTC

Re: hide some interface elements possible?

Post by *randysejas »

Hi, i'm really new and i don't know how to use TCFS2 and TCFS2Tools... in the read file i understand that i need to create an ini file (TCFS2.ini?? or TCFS2Tools.ini??)... and the contents in TCFS2Tools have to be in the folder of TCFS2?... can you give me please an example of hide the title of TC and hide the menu?... and last how does it works?... i have to doble-click TCFS2.exe? or is it possible to auto execute when i open TC?... i know its a lot of questions but i read everything and these is the only things that i understand.... thanks in advance.

Post Reply