'Transferring' selection?

English support forum

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
Blizz
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: 2004-06-28, 06:45 UTC
Location: Belgium
Contact:

'Transferring' selection?

Post by *Blizz »

I have a set of files in one directory, and I want to mark the files with the names from the first directory in the second one, so basically I waht to "transfer" a selection to the other dir. It has nothing to do with comparing or synchronizing. Just want to duplicate the selection to the other panel (for the files that exist in that directory), is that possible?

Thanks.

Jqn
Member
Member
Posts: 171
Joined: 2003-02-26, 16:42 UTC
Location: Madrid (Spain)

Post by *Jqn »

Yes, it's very complex, but you can do it.

1) Select desired files in left panel.
2) Select "Only select files" in "show" menu.
3) Press "Shift+F2" or select "Compare directories" in "mark" menu
4) goto right panel
5) Select "Invert selection" in "mark" menu

Enjoy it!
BR
Joaquin

User avatar
Lefteous
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9473
Joined: 2003-02-09, 01:18 UTC
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by *Lefteous »

2Blizz
You could copy the current selection to clipboard (cm_CopyNamesToClip) and paste it on the other side (cm_LoadSelectionFromClip).

The problem here is that cm_LoadSelectionFromClip seems to use spaces instead of linebreaks to distinguish betwen filees. If each file of the selection is copied with quotation marks cm_LoadSelectionFromClip works fine.
Has anyone an idea or is it a bug?

bartgrefte
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: 2009-09-30, 08:46 UTC

Re:

Post by *bartgrefte »

Sorry for the kick, but I was just looking for something like this, unfortunately
Jqn wrote:
2004-07-05, 10:23 UTC
Yes, it's very complex, but you can do it.

1) Select desired files in left panel.
2) Select "Only select files" in "show" menu.
3) Press "Shift+F2" or select "Compare directories" in "mark" menu
4) goto right panel
5) Select "Invert selection" in "mark" menu

Enjoy it!
BR
Joaquin
^ doesn't seem to work. When doing step 5 everything is selected, instead of just the selected folders on the left panel.

Considering the age of the topic, I am guessing the current TC works a little different and maybe there's an easier way now of doing this?

User avatar
Stefan2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2923
Joined: 2007-09-13, 22:20 UTC
Location: Europa

Re: transfer selections from one to other panel

Post by *Stefan2 »

bartgrefte wrote:
2020-06-08, 10:03 UTC
.. . instead of just the selected folders . . ..
No, that steps still working.

But please note: "Compare directories" comparse the FILES in the two current visible dirs.



Me guess you want to utilze >cm_CompareDirsWithSubdirs< for step 3.
TOTALCMD.INC wrote:cm_CompareDirs=533;Compare dirs
cm_CompareDirsWithSubdirs=536;Also mark subdirs not present in other dir

Just copy that command cm_CompareDirsWithSubdirs into TC commando line, or create an button with it.

If you want you can use alternative menu with every possible TC-command (and more), see
Extended Total Commander Menus by petermad >>> viewtopic.php?t=33740
Follow there the download links for an screenshot or see http://madsenworld.dk/wincmd/tc9win10en.gif

There you have also in menu "Mark" the commands "Save/Get file selection", e.g. to/from clipboard. Less steps than the way above.
(and here "files" means both files and dirs)



HTH? :D

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9666
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: 'Transferring' selection?

Post by *petermad »

2bartgrefte
This button should do the job:

Code: Select all

TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA
cm_CopyNamesToClip,cm_FocusTrg,cm_ClearAll,cm_LoadSelectionFromClip,cm_FocusTrg

wcmicons.dll,72
Transfer selection to opposite window


-1
To make the button:
1. Mark the green text above (click SELECT ALL).
2. Copy it to the ClipBoard (press Ctri+C).
3. Right click on TC's buttonbar and choose "Paste".

Or maybe this one (don't select any files before using it):

Code: Select all

TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA
cm_SelectAllBoth,cm_CopyNamesToClip,cm_FocusTrg,cm_GoToFirstEntry,cm_ClearAll,cm_LoadSelectionFromClip,cm_CopyNamesToClip,cm_FocusTrg,cm_ClearAll,cm_LoadSelectionFromClip

wcmicons.dll,72
Mark files and folders that exist in both windows


-1
Or the opposite:

Code: Select all

TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA
cm_SelectAllBoth,cm_CopyNamesToClip,cm_FocusTrg,cm_GoToFirstEntry,cm_ClearAll,cm_LoadSelectionFromClip,cm_CopyNamesToClip,cm_ExchangeSelBoth,cm_FocusTrg,cm_ClearAll,cm_LoadSelectionFromClip,cm_ExchangeSelBoth

wcmicons.dll,72
Mark files and folders that does not exist in both windows


-1

You can also use this in stead of the first one - but the list of selected files can only be up to 32767 characters long:

Code: Select all

TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA
SELECTFILESBTS
%Z%Y%S
wcmicons.dll,72
Transfer selection to opposite window (press shift to not transfer selected folders)


-1
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.965 (x64)
TC 3.0 on Android 6.0
Get:
Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar

bartgrefte
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: 2009-09-30, 08:46 UTC

Re: 'Transferring' selection?

Post by *bartgrefte »

Stefan2 wrote:
2020-06-08, 10:32 UTC
There you have also in menu "Mark" the commands "Save/Get file selection", e.g. to/from clipboard. Less steps than the way above.
(and here "files" means both files and dirs)
... didn't even notice that option, thanks :)
petermad wrote:
2020-06-08, 11:06 UTC
2bartgrefte
This button should do the job:

Code: Select all

TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA
cm_CopyNamesToClip,cm_FocusTrg,cm_ClearAll,cm_LoadSelectionFromClip,cm_FocusTrg

wcmicons.dll,72
Transfer selection to opposite window


-1
To make the button:
1. Mark the green text above (click SELECT ALL).
2. Copy it to the ClipBoard (press Ctri+C).
3. Right click on TC's buttonbar and choose "Paste".
And that makes it even easier, thanks :D

Post Reply