Is it possible to copy file symlinks as links?

English support forum

Moderators: Stefan2, white, sheep, Hacker

Post Reply
SlimShaggy
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: 2013-07-12, 07:57 UTC

Is it possible to copy file symlinks as links?

Post by *SlimShaggy » 2018-07-25, 09:13 UTC

I can't find a way to configure TC to copy file symlinks (not directory junctions) as links. Is it at all possible? Setting CopyLinks=1 in the config file does not help here, I guess it applies to directory junctions only.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37475
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to copy file symlinks as links?

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-07-25, 13:06 UTC

No, unfortunately file symlinks cannot currently be copied, only directory symlinks.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
HerbieH
Member
Member
Posts: 105
Joined: 2003-02-11, 10:04 UTC

Re: Is it possible to copy file symlinks as links?

Post by *HerbieH » 2018-07-30, 00:42 UTC

Hello SlimShaggy.

You can use 'FastCopy ver 3.52' for copying file-symbolic links.
https://fastcopy.jp/en/
It will retain the symbolic link correctly back to the 'original' file, and not just make a 'new' symbolic link of the symbolic link, you try to copy.

Remember to make the setting:
Main settings - Copy/Move options - Copy Junction/Symlink as Junction/Symlink (not target)

PS: The 'FastCopy.chm' file gives an excellent description (jap/eng) on how to use command lines, which is easy to use in a TC-icon.
I personally use: /auto_close /open_window /cmd=update /estimate %S /to="%T"
HerbieH*
-Keep on makin' music!

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11245
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Re: Is it possible to copy file symlinks as links?

Post by *Hacker » 2018-07-30, 22:08 UTC

Just FYI, I got a few errors while copying with FastCopy (never with TC).

Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

User avatar
HerbieH
Member
Member
Posts: 105
Joined: 2003-02-11, 10:04 UTC

Re: Is it possible to copy file symlinks as links?

Post by *HerbieH » 2018-07-31, 20:56 UTC

To Roman.

What errors?

I have used FastCopy for years and never had any any errors. (I always use latest version.)
It detects all junctions perfectly, and I heavly rely on it on my FTP-server work etc.

Total Commander ALSO does a great job for me :D , and I rely very much on TC too for my server work, like FTP-file transfer etc.

But FastCopy has a better way of continue copying on errors - and then giving me a list of errors at the end.
..and it integrates nicely into TC. :)
HerbieH*
-Keep on makin' music!

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11245
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Re: Is it possible to copy file symlinks as links?

Post by *Hacker » 2018-07-31, 22:00 UTC

HerbieH,
To be honest I do not remember anymore, some kind of I/O errors a few months back after which the copy could not be resumed. I was transferring one 8 TB file from an internal hard drive to an external USB hard drive.

Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

User avatar
HerbieH
Member
Member
Posts: 105
Joined: 2003-02-11, 10:04 UTC

Re: Is it possible to copy file symlinks as links?

Post by *HerbieH » 2018-08-01, 00:14 UTC

Roman thanks for your answer.

A 'big pancake'. :wink: My biggest filecopy to this day has been a 1.4 TB Veracrypt container - and I honestly don't remember if i used FastCopy or TC internal..

I will test very big files on FastCopy at some point in the future, and let the forum know...
HerbieH*
-Keep on makin' music!

LeeBinder
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: 2009-07-18, 23:09 UTC

Re: Is it possible to copy file symlinks as links?

Post by *LeeBinder » 2019-08-07, 09:57 UTC

me too!!! PLEASE add the available options..
  • into Settings/ Copy options
  • into the copy dialog options
THANK YOU CHRISTIAN!

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37475
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to copy file symlinks as links?

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2019-08-08, 09:19 UTC

Have a look at the option CopyLinks in wincmd.ini (section 4b in the help). There are options to just copy it 1:1, or adjust the target path when copying between drives.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Post Reply