Error Creating Folder Using [Sifth+F7]

English support forum

Moderators: white, sheep, Hacker, Stefan2

Post Reply
User avatar
Impeeza
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: 2004-04-30, 15:04 UTC

Error Creating Folder Using [Sifth+F7]

Post by *Impeeza » 2018-10-03, 14:56 UTC

Hi.

I am using Total Commander 9.21 & 9.21a, since I upgraded, When I use the combo keys [Shift]+[F7] there is a strange behavior: before the dialog asking for the name of new folder appears, the focus of file window change and the result is the new folder is created on the wrong folder.

I am using a straight Next -> next-> Finish installation, and make 3 different setups on virtual machines, windows 7, windows 10 and Windows server 2016. In all of them the behavior is the same.

P.D. Using [F7] only, doesn't change the file window focus.

Regards from Colombia
Impeeza jaja

User avatar
Stefan2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2170
Joined: 2007-09-13, 22:20 UTC
Location: Europa

Re: Error Creating Folder Using [Sifth+F7]

Post by *Stefan2 » 2018-10-03, 15:27 UTC

Why not using [F7] to create a folder in active panel,
and [Shift]+[F7] to create a folder in inactive (target-) panel?



That would be how TC is designed, HISTORY.TXT wrote:
23.05.18 Release Total Commander 9.20 beta 4 (32/64)
21.05.18 Added: Use Shift+F7 to create directory in target panel, using the name under the cursor from the source panel as the default (32/64)

IOW: it's a feature, not a bug.




 

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11041
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Re: Error Creating Folder Using [Sifth+F7]

Post by *Hacker » 2018-10-03, 21:05 UTC

Message from moderator Hacker

Moved to the English forum.
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36500
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Error Creating Folder Using [Sifth+F7]

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2018-10-04, 09:15 UTC

If you have to use Shift+F7 for some reason, you can redefine it yourself:
Configuration - Options - Misc:
1. check "Shift"
2. choose "F7" from combobox
3. Click on magnifying glass symbol
4. Pick cm_MkDir (e.g. via quick search)
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
Impeeza
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: 2004-04-30, 15:04 UTC

Re: Error Creating Folder Using [Sifth+F7]

Post by *Impeeza » 2018-10-23, 14:13 UTC

Ok, thanks a lot for your help, sorry I haven't read the history normally I do.

Regards from Colombia.
Impeeza jaja

Post Reply