"Compare Directories" does not work for me

English support forum

Moderators: Stefan2, white, sheep, Hacker

Post Reply
rCBUSE32@GMAIL.COM
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2019-01-16, 13:42 UTC

"Compare Directories" does not work for me

Post by *rCBUSE32@GMAIL.COM » 2019-01-16, 13:47 UTC

I have the latest version of Win Cmdr but "Compare Directories" does not work. I have both directories on the screen but when I select compare directories nothing happens??? What is the problem?

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8425
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: "Compare Directories" does not work for me

Post by *petermad » 2019-01-16, 16:11 UTC

"Compare Directories" does not compare the content of the files - it marks files on both sides, if they do not exist on both sides or if the filenames exist on both sides but the size and/or the date of the files are not the same.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.22a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1903) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b5 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

rCBUSE32@GMAIL.COM
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: 2019-01-16, 13:42 UTC

Re: "Compare Directories" does not work for me

Post by *rCBUSE32@GMAIL.COM » 2019-01-16, 16:16 UTC

My problem wih "compare directories just does NOTHING WHEN i CLICK ON IT. Older versions of Win Cmdr used to work fine. What is the problem?? some setting not toggled? :(

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8425
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: "Compare Directories" does not work for me

Post by *petermad » 2019-01-16, 17:15 UTC

It still works fine for me.

Does it work if you press Shift+F2 in stead?
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.22a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1903) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b5 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
Stefan2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2557
Joined: 2007-09-13, 22:20 UTC
Location: Europa

Re: "Compare Directories" does not work for me

Post by *Stefan2 » 2019-01-16, 19:01 UTC

 

Or try command "cm_CompareDirs" in TC's command line, instead of "Mark > Compare Directories"

See "Configuraion > Options,,, > Layout > [x] Show command line"



If both directories are same, at least you should get
---------------------------
Total Commander
---------------------------
The files in the source and target directories look identical!
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------






Do "Mark > Load Selection From File" something for you?



 
Inofficial FAQs || WIKI (Deu/Eng) || TC Home (What's new? // FAQ // Download // Order // Addons // Tools // Plugins)
Erst wenn der letzte Baum gefällt oder die letzte Biene verendet ist, werden die Leute verstehen warum Umweltschutz wichtig ist.

Post Reply