[suggestion] Update Button

English support forum

Moderators: Stefan2, white, sheep, Hacker

Post Reply
User avatar
blacky
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 269
Joined: 2003-02-07, 16:58 UTC
Location: was das/whot's dath ?

[suggestion] Update Button

Post by *blacky » 2019-03-30, 07:59 UTC

Hi,

I want to nudge a updater for Totalcommander

i want suggestion a Update Button like them of different Programs in the net today,
so why not directly a Updatebutton integrate or make it possible for
add a button on the Buttonbar .. a extra update.dll where can make that..
  • close TC
  • download [||||||........],
    Update[|..............]Time
  • extract out of the normal installer to ./updating
  • replace the files of the actually TC
  • remove/erace the ./updating folder
- in configuration
*which packet.. Total Commander packet, x86, x86_64, both
*remove to..,erase or leave the update-folder and let the file/s in

.....
Is this possible in a update.dll ?
Meine Blackysgate.de/net
Ma' Personal licence : already one. Hab auch eine
Mein Computer : Einer/once ??? bahh, Rz/Data Centre !
Kitchen, Liv.room, TV, Schlafz.. Sch...
BS: Win3.1/7, OpenMandriva, Reactos

Henrie
Member
Member
Posts: 189
Joined: 2006-09-03, 23:12 UTC
Location: Volkel, the Netherlands

Re: [suggestion] Update Button

Post by *Henrie » 2019-03-30, 08:57 UTC

There is already a Check for updates button in the Help menu, is it not sufficient?

User avatar
blacky
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 269
Joined: 2003-02-07, 16:58 UTC
Location: was das/whot's dath ?

Re: [suggestion] Update Button

Post by *blacky » 2019-07-07, 12:52 UTC

an update button where starts a update, so download and start a update
it's maybe more pretty well like in firefox.
so makes it more easy for have a update ..
Meine Blackysgate.de/net
Ma' Personal licence : already one. Hab auch eine
Mein Computer : Einer/once ??? bahh, Rz/Data Centre !
Kitchen, Liv.room, TV, Schlafz.. Sch...
BS: Win3.1/7, OpenMandriva, Reactos

Amelia28
New Member
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 2019-07-21, 16:58 UTC

Re: [suggestion] Update Button

Post by *Amelia28 » 2019-07-22, 15:30 UTC

Hi,
I agree. that would be great!
DELETED DELETED DELETED      <<<      User came back to modify his post for to add spam links > URLs removed >> User banned


Please help us and report such posts (see the [!] button) if you find them on browsing the forum, thanks.






[MTAG]
Last edited by Amelia28 on 2019-08-01, 19:14 UTC, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
tuska
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1544
Joined: 2007-05-21, 12:17 UTC

Re: [suggestion] Update Button

Post by *tuska » 2019-07-22, 16:24 UTC

The following articles have already been published on this topic:
https://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=52012        Check for Updates (wincmd.ini, buttons)
https://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?p=352381#p352381 Explanation to the results of the buttons
https://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?p=345063#p345063 Problem cases

Personal note:
For me these possibilities are completely sufficient, because it - like with some other programs,
e.g. Firefox, EmEditor, etc. - in Total Commander does not always lead to regular program updates 'immediately'.
In TC, the time intervals for a new version are slightly longer.

User avatar
blacky
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 269
Joined: 2003-02-07, 16:58 UTC
Location: was das/whot's dath ?

Re: [suggestion] Update Button

Post by *blacky » 2019-07-29, 09:04 UTC

saving of the errors and trubles.. :

make a update.exe in an own folder : %COMMANDER_PATH%\updater\

so :
%COMMANDER_PATH%\updater\updater.exe
%COMMANDER_PATH%\updater\updater.ini
and
%COMMANDER_PATH%\updater\downloads\
with
%COMMANDER_PATH%\updater\downloads\tcmd922x64.exe
%COMMANDER_PATH%\updater\downloads\tcmd922x32_64.exe
%COMMANDER_PATH%\updater\downloads\tcmd922x32.exe
%COMMANDER_PATH%\updater\downloads\tcmd921x64.exe

there it is able to make a button in the Buttonbar "Totalcommander Updater"
with the path %COMMANDER_PATH%\updater\updater.exe

the updater should be able to check the standard download-url/mirrors
with a ini-file :
%COMMANDER_PATH%\updater\updater.ini
===============================================================
[downloadurls]
1=http://
2=https://
3=ftp:// //anonymous with or without mailadress as passwd
3=ftp:// name[:]passwd[@]muster.org
4=sftp:// name[:]passwd[@]muster.org //well for betatesters and owners (it works if sftp programmed in in TC and have a api inside of TC)
===============================================================
  • check %location% 1,2,3,4,5,6
  • compare version and save the running %binary% Version in Variable(for restart)
  • exist a more new version on %location%, give a popup to select version(32,64,both), download %version%/store, execute the version.
  • check %COMMANDER_PATH%/executables if there a stream/runs, end the executable for install
  • store the %COMMANDER_PATH% variable in ram
  • install in %COMMANDER_PATH%
  • remove the %COMMANDER_PATH%
  • ask if Totalcommander start again

make it possible to open an Configuring Dialog via "/config"
%COMMANDER_PATH%\updater\updater.exe /config
for edit also the updater.ini

make it possible to make it silence via "/silence"
%COMMANDER_PATH%\updater\updater.exe /silence :
  • save the running %binary% Version in Variable(for restart)
  • close Totalcommander, check version,
  • if new => download it (the current more new version) +
    • [downloadbar "Total Commander is Updating \n Installed Version:%XX% \n New Version:%XXX% " \n [1%,2%,3%.......]],
    • else "popup" No new version [anouncing time = 0-20 secounds (stored in updater.ini)+OK/abort/restart TC]
  • restart the before running Totalcommander %binary% (32/64bit just the default)
could be a thing,
therewith it is possible to make 3 Buttons in the buttonbar for the updater :
  • Normal updater with gui and user guided [updater.exe]
  • Silence Updater, stops TC, does his job,and restart the TC [updater.exe /silence]
  • Configuring Dialog [updater.exe /config]
in the subfolder of Totalcommander/updater

the advantage is that it can be further developed independently
and it is not TC head-Program dependence .

this makes also possible to move the Totalupdater-folder to an server :
//Linuxserver/windows/filemanager/Totalcommander/updater
with the downloadfolder =../TC-Versions
//Linuxserver/windows/filemanager/Totalcommander/TC-Versions

stops %tcbinary%, install from %downloadfolder% to %COMMANDER_PATH% ,
starts %tcbinary%

and all as variables and very flexible

my suggestion:
make it gpl2 (looking to Reactos)
make it on Github to make it possible for common developing..
more as 5/8 developer , also for add patches, if the one not in possible, is the other there..

best regards
Blacky
Meine Blackysgate.de/net
Ma' Personal licence : already one. Hab auch eine
Mein Computer : Einer/once ??? bahh, Rz/Data Centre !
Kitchen, Liv.room, TV, Schlafz.. Sch...
BS: Win3.1/7, OpenMandriva, Reactos

User avatar
planningall
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: 2009-12-17, 17:19 UTC

Re: [suggestion] Update Button

Post by *planningall » 2019-08-05, 17:55 UTC

I agree. that would be great!

Post Reply