Bitdefender context menu - renaming to Explorer.exe not working any more

English support forum

Moderators: Stefan2, white, sheep, Hacker

Post Reply
AndreasV
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: 2019-04-30, 13:12 UTC

Bitdefender context menu - renaming to Explorer.exe not working any more

Post by *AndreasV » 2019-05-01, 03:43 UTC

Hey guys,

renaming TOTALCMD.EXE or TOTALCMD64.EXE, if you're using the 64bit version, to "Explorer.exe" (capital E, rest lower case) to get Bitdefender to show up in the right-click context menu used to work like a charm. Not anymore, though. Since a couple of months it's gone.

What I tried so far:
- Clean install, including removing the GHISLER folders in AppData -> local and roaming.
- Run as admin, run as no admin
- 32bit version, 64bit version
- have both, Explorer.exe and a TOTALCMD64.EXE in the totalcmd folder
- .ini in Programmfolder, .ini in the AppData folders
- Make sure Explorer.exe is on the exceptions list of all Bit Defender "departments" (virus protection, threat defense etc....)
- pray (very shortly)
- swear (very lenghty)

Anyone got any ideas or ran into the same issue?

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3373
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Bitdefender context menu - renaming to Explorer.exe not working any more

Post by *Horst.Epp » 2019-05-01, 07:15 UTC

Why don't you complain to Bitdefender ?
This problem has nothing to do with TC
its the same for any other File manager except Explorer.
Windows 10 Home x64 May 2019 Update, Version 1903 (OS Build 18362.295)
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GH, 16GB RAM
TC 9.22a x64 and x86, Everything 1.4.1.947 (x64)

AndreasV
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: 2019-04-30, 13:12 UTC

Re: Bitdefender context menu - renaming to Explorer.exe not working any more

Post by *AndreasV » 2019-05-01, 16:20 UTC

Chances of getting a satisfying reply from the Bitdefender support team are about as likely as winning the lottery jackpot without buying a ticket.
Made more sense to me to ask at a place where solutions have been found before :).

User avatar
krstatzar
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 84
Joined: 2005-03-03, 01:52 UTC
Contact:

Re: Bitdefender context menu - renaming to Explorer.exe not working any more

Post by *krstatzar » 2019-05-03, 10:12 UTC

I contacted BitDefender support about the same issue and waited for answer like a month or so. They said they could only guarantee for Windows built in apps functionality, such as explorer, since TC is third party app they are not obligated to make it work as expected. So their support sucks big time.

Post Reply