Google confirmation for Cloud Plugin

English support forum

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
FVG
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 45
Joined: 2006-12-14, 19:11 UTC
Location: Mol - Antwerpen - Belgie

Google confirmation for Cloud Plugin

Post by *FVG » 2019-07-29, 19:27 UTC

Every time I login to my Google Drive using the Cloud Plugin, Google send me a mail to my mailbox and a message to my Android phone. Every time I have to confirm it was me who had access to the Google Drive. If I login for example 10 time during the day, I receive those messages also 10 times!

This is the message (free translated from Dutch)
Cloud Plugin for Total Commander now has access to your Google account. If you have not given access, check your account activity.

Is there a way to avoid this?
Thanks

User avatar
Wilhelm M.
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 781
Joined: 2003-06-05, 10:45 UTC

Re: Google confirmation for Cloud Plugin

Post by *Wilhelm M. » 2019-07-29, 19:53 UTC

I get a similar message every time I log in at my Google account. The only exception is my smartphone that is connected to the Google account. But my desktop computers at home and in the office are of course not connected, so I get this annoying message every time. This is Google's idea of a security measure. I simply ignore the message. I don't have anything to confirm. Google wants you to to check your account for any illegal actions. If you don't find anything strange you don't have to do anything. Except deleting the stupid mail... :wink:
Grüße/Regards,
Wilhelm

FVG
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 45
Joined: 2006-12-14, 19:11 UTC
Location: Mol - Antwerpen - Belgie

Re: Google confirmation for Cloud Plugin

Post by *FVG » 2019-07-30, 17:18 UTC

Thanks, maybe i can create a filter in Gmail to delete the message automatically.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38094
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Google confirmation for Cloud Plugin

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2019-07-31, 09:11 UTC

Please press Alt+Enter on the connection name in the cloud plugin. Then check the option to save the credentials. You have to set a master password to store the credentials securely. This will not store your password, just the access token (a long string of data) which grants the plugin access to your cloud storage. This way you will not have to log in each time you access your Google Drive.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Post Reply