[Solved] Drive list changed?: Drive size instead of Drive name

English support forum

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
jodo1955
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: 2012-01-29, 12:17 UTC

[Solved] Drive list changed?: Drive size instead of Drive name

Post by *jodo1955 » 2019-09-17, 11:24 UTC

Since a few days TotalCommander 9.2 shows the size of my drives behind the drive letter instead of the drive name:

C: 178.856,4 M / 243.581,9 M instead of C: WIN_X
D: 902.650,4 M / 953.851,9 M instead of D: CloudData

Probably I have clicked some button by accident, but I don't know what button that could have been.

Does anybody know how I get my drivenames back ???

Thanks,

Job ten Doeschate

jodo1955
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: 2012-01-29, 12:17 UTC

Solved!!Re: Drive list changed?: Drive size instead of Drive name

Post by *jodo1955 » 2019-09-17, 12:27 UTC

I have found the solution:

the problem was caused by tweaking Windows 10: put the drive letter before the labels instaed of after the drive labels. Reversing that tweak solved my problem.

User avatar
wanderer
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1325
Joined: 2003-03-28, 14:35 UTC
Location: Sol

Re: [Solved] Drive list changed?: Drive size instead of Drive name

Post by *wanderer » 2019-09-17, 18:32 UTC

Ha. Nice catch. IMO TC should take this setting into consideration in this case, so that the drive letter and label will always be shown, as was the intention from the start. Perhaps it should be filled as a bug...
- Wanderer -

¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
Latest TC / x32: WinXPx32 SP3 / x64: Clients/Servers from Win7SP1 through Win19Server

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8334
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Re: [Solved] Drive list changed?: Drive size instead of Drive name

Post by *MVV » 2019-09-18, 06:52 UTC

Or maybe it should use more stable way to get labels... What an API that may return such a stupid string instead of a drive label...

Post Reply