Can't open files with long names in data partitions (!= C:\)

English support forum

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

raika

Can't open files with long names in data partitions (!= C:\)

Post by *raika »

Windows 10 64 bits (version) 1809, new laptop bought 10 days ago.
TC 9.22a; wincmd.ini: UseLongNames=1
I have a problem that I am desperate for. I am a teacher and to classify and organize my extensive work material I use many subfolders, so I often exceed 260 characters in the absolute paths of a file.

I have the same file in the same path but in different partitions. The lenght is 294 characters.
  • D:\LES SALINES 2018-19\2n SMX - M08 - APLICACIONS WEB (6h)\UF1 - Ofimàtica i Eines Web\1. NF2 - Formularis web i altres eines (11 h)\Pràctica 2\UF1 - NF2 - PT2 - Google Tasks, Doodle, Blogger i Gmail (VERSIÓN DE LOS EJERCICIOS DEFINITIVA, PERO FALTA ESPECIFICAR LA PUNTUACIÓN DE CADA EJERCICIO).docx ==> I can't open the file with Microsoft Word. Same problem with pdf files, java files, text files...
  • C:\LES SALINES 2018-19\2n SMX - M08 - APLICACIONS WEB (6h)\UF1 - Ofimàtica i Eines Web\1. NF2 - Formularis web i altres eines (11 h)\Pràctica 2\UF1 - NF2 - PT2 - Google Tasks, Doodle, Blogger i Gmail (VERSIÓN DE LOS EJERCICIOS DEFINITIVA, PERO FALTA ESPECIFICAR LA PUNTUACIÓN DE CADA EJERCICIO).docx" ==> Microsoft Word can open the file, and the same with other kind of files.

Both partition are in the same SSD. In my laptop I have a second SSD with another two partition (E:\ and F:\) and both have the same problem than D:\ partition.

I have discover today, that I have the same error if I try to open the files in Windows Explorer, outside of TC, so TC is working well!

I have read a lot of documentation in Internet, for example: I have modified the Windows registry and the local group policy as it explained in the second link (not succesful).