TC 9.50 - Dark Mode

English support forum

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38416
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: TC 9.50 - Dark Mode

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2019-11-01, 15:11 UTC

Could you send me a screenshot? The active tab should use the "highlight" color defined in Configuration - Options - Color - Others - Dark mode.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

menes
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: 2003-08-13, 08:43 UTC

Re: TC 9.50 - Dark Mode

Post by *menes » 2019-11-01, 16:16 UTC

ghisler(Author) wrote:
2019-11-01, 15:11 UTC
Could you send me a screenshot? The active tab should use the "highlight" color defined in Configuration - Options - Color - Others - Dark mode.
You are absolutely right, I didn't see it though it was right in front of my eyes. I changed the "highlight" and it works as expected!

User avatar
CAP-Team
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 43
Joined: 2006-09-19, 12:43 UTC
Location: Netherlands

Re: TC 9.50 - Dark Mode

Post by *CAP-Team » 2019-11-06, 20:41 UTC

Although I like dark mode, it shouldn't be completely black. In Windows 10, the ribbon isn't completely black, but dark gray (#202020).
The button bar contains icons with black elements that are now hidden. If it's dark gray they would be visible.

User avatar
matixx
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1002
Joined: 2003-03-21, 02:37 UTC
Location: ....
Contact:

Re: TC 9.50 - Dark Mode

Post by *matixx » 2019-11-06, 21:24 UTC

I wonder why there is no icon Set for Darkmode?
#101512

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38416
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: TC 9.50 - Dark Mode

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2019-11-07, 10:51 UTC

Although I like dark mode, it shouldn't be completely black. In Windows 10, the ribbon isn't completely black, but dark gray (#202020).
In TC it's not completely dark either. But you can change it yourself if it's too dark for you:
Configuration - Options - Color - Others - Dark mode - Background
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
Usher
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 631
Joined: 2011-03-11, 10:11 UTC

Re: TC 9.50 - Dark Mode

Post by *Usher » 2019-11-07, 13:08 UTC

ghisler(Author) wrote:
2019-11-07, 10:51 UTC
In TC it's not completely dark either. But you can change it yourself if it's too dark
I know it, but I'd like to have separate settings for icons or more bright background for icons by default. Icons are mostly designed for normal mode and use transparent background. In dark mode they either look ugly or hard to recognize. It would be also better to use separate icons for menu and button bars in dark mode.
Regards from Poland
Andrzej P. Wozniak

User avatar
CAP-Team
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 43
Joined: 2006-09-19, 12:43 UTC
Location: Netherlands

Re: TC 9.50 - Dark Mode

Post by *CAP-Team » 2019-11-08, 06:04 UTC

ghisler(Author) wrote:
2019-11-07, 10:51 UTC
Although I like dark mode, it shouldn't be completely black. In Windows 10, the ribbon isn't completely black, but dark gray (#202020).
In TC it's not completely dark either. But you can change it yourself if it's too dark for you:
Configuration - Options - Color - Others - Dark mode - Background
You can indeed change the background of the panels (already did that).
But you can't change the background color of the button bar on top.

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8977
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: TC 9.50 - Dark Mode

Post by *petermad » 2019-11-08, 11:31 UTC

But you can't change the background color of the button bar on top.
If you use "Configuration" -> "Options" -> "Color" -> "Others:" - and click on the dropdown box (it will show "Lister:") - scroll down to the bottom - second to last item "Background color"
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b8 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b12 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
CAP-Team
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 43
Joined: 2006-09-19, 12:43 UTC
Location: Netherlands

Re: TC 9.50 - Dark Mode

Post by *CAP-Team » 2019-11-08, 22:18 UTC

petermad wrote:
2019-11-08, 11:31 UTC
But you can't change the background color of the button bar on top.
If you use "Configuration" -> "Options" -> "Color" -> "Others:" - and click on the dropdown box (it will show "Lister:") - scroll down to the bottom - second to last item "Background color"
Thanks! that helps!

User avatar
Tringi
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 2019-11-16, 15:20 UTC
Contact:

Re: TC 9.50 - Dark Mode

Post by *Tringi » 2019-11-16, 15:30 UTC

Hey everyone. Thank you for adding the dark scheme, I'm looking forward to use it even outside of beta.

There's one important thing though. In current Insider builds, Microsoft changed the API that toggles window captions dark. DwmSetWindowAttribute no longer works, it's SetWindowCompositionAttribute now.

See this diff for example code: https://github.com/raddinet/raddi/commit/a050e80c79e16a88980a549214d255197fe73225
Jan Ringoš: website | github | tweets

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38416
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: TC 9.50 - Dark Mode

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2019-11-18, 14:31 UTC

Thanks for the info. Is this at least documented now, or yet another hack?
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
Tringi
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 2019-11-16, 15:20 UTC
Contact:

Re: TC 9.50 - Dark Mode

Post by *Tringi » 2019-11-19, 00:34 UTC

Still hack basically. Reverse engineered how Explorer does it. There's some push on github and twitter on MS to document this API, but I wouldn't get my hopes up. It was somewhat discussed here: https://github.com/microsoft/terminal/issues/3156
Jan Ringoš: website | github | tweets

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 38416
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: TC 9.50 - Dark Mode

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2019-11-19, 15:15 UTC

I see - let's hope that they will document it one day. I will update my insider build (in virtualbox) to check this.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1389
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

Re: TC 9.50 - Dark Mode

Post by *DrShark » 2019-11-20, 20:01 UTC

history950.txt wrote:18.11.19 Added: Default dark mode background color is now a bit brigher (RGB=32,32,32), the same as in the Explorer (32/64)
I like darker background used in beta 5 more, so I changed it back to RGB=16,16,16 in Configuration->Color->Others->Dark Mode, Background color >>.
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right

Post Reply