Accessing android phone with cm_OpenDrives not working anymore

English support forum

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
adacom
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 40
Joined: 2009-01-02, 14:46 UTC
Location: uk

Accessing android phone with cm_OpenDrives not working anymore

Post by *adacom » 2019-12-24, 21:09 UTC

i has a link using - cm_OpenDrives which used to see my android phone - not needed to use it for a while - windows 10 has had many updates as has my phone and TC and i now cannot access my phone

should this still work or has something changed - i cannot see what i am doing wrong but its certainly possible i am missing something so first thing to know is that it should still work????

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9187
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: accessing android phone

Post by *petermad » 2019-12-25, 06:35 UTC

Well, it works fine here with Windows 10 1909.

Remember to select File transfers, when you connect your phone - otherwise it will most likely only be in battery charge mode.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b10 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.960 (x64)
TC 3.0b13 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

adacom
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 40
Joined: 2009-01-02, 14:46 UTC
Location: uk

Re: accessing android phone

Post by *adacom » 2019-12-25, 10:01 UTC

thanks - i had initially forgotten the file transfer mode but its still not working - i am wondering if the USB cable is good as it charges but does not always bring up the file transfer option

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9187
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: accessing android phone

Post by *petermad » 2019-12-25, 10:32 UTC

i am wondering if the USB cable is good
A lot of USB-cables that comes with various devices are not fully mounted for data transfer, but only for charging.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b10 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.960 (x64)
TC 3.0b13 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
Wojtek
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: 2010-02-07, 11:58 UTC
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: accessing android phone

Post by *Wojtek » 2019-12-31, 17:16 UTC

adacom wrote:
2019-12-25, 10:01 UTC
thanks - i had initially forgotten the file transfer mode but its still not working - i am wondering if the USB cable is good as it charges but does not always bring up the file transfer option
Most Android Phones don't get their own drive letter under Windows, instead they show up under "Devices and Printers". That is why they don't show up in Total Commander.
MP3 players, phones sometimes use the Media Transfer Protocol (MTP) and there is a file system plugin for this:
Windows Media Audio 2 (MP3) 1.4 - 2019/01/17 - 32+64 bit

If this doesn't work, there are two other filesstem plugins made for Android, but they need the IP port of your device.
TotalAndDroid 4.0 - 5.09.2012 - 32+64 bit
Android ADB 8.7 - 19.11.2019 - 32+64 bit

The plugins can be downloaded from the Total Commander Plugins site or TOTALCMD.NET
PC: Asus Maximus VIII Hero · Win7 Pro SP1 64-bit
Samsung EVO 250GB SSD · HyperX Fury 2x8GB · nVidia GeForce GTX 260 · Intel i5 6600K

lenovo ThinkPad X61 tablet · Win7 Pro N SP1 64-bit
OCZ 120GB SSD · 2x2GB GeIL RAM · onboard GPU · Intel Core2Duo L7500

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11445
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Re: accessing android phone

Post by *Hacker » 2020-01-01, 14:30 UTC

Wojtek,
they need the IP port of your device
Not from my experience. Only if you connect through WiFi.

Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

User avatar
Wojtek
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: 2010-02-07, 11:58 UTC
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: accessing android phone

Post by *Wojtek » 2020-01-01, 19:38 UTC

Hacker wrote:
2020-01-01, 14:30 UTC
Wojtek,
they need the IP port of your device
Not from my experience. Only if you connect through WiFi.

Roman
Nope, it still asks for an IP:
https://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=34980&p=367035#p367035
PC: Asus Maximus VIII Hero · Win7 Pro SP1 64-bit
Samsung EVO 250GB SSD · HyperX Fury 2x8GB · nVidia GeForce GTX 260 · Intel i5 6600K

lenovo ThinkPad X61 tablet · Win7 Pro N SP1 64-bit
OCZ 120GB SSD · 2x2GB GeIL RAM · onboard GPU · Intel Core2Duo L7500

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11445
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Re: accessing android phone

Post by *Hacker » 2020-01-01, 20:18 UTC

Wojtek,
As I said, not for me. The ADB plugin detects the phone automatically when connected through USB cable. One can check using "adb devices" in the command prompt.

Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

jjk
Member
Member
Posts: 176
Joined: 2003-07-03, 10:41 UTC

Re: accessing android phone

Post by *jjk » 2020-01-02, 17:40 UTC

adacom
No drive letter is added to the drives icons. So, have you clicked in the drives listbox ? There you should see the name of your phone.

User avatar
Wojtek
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: 2010-02-07, 11:58 UTC
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: accessing android phone

Post by *Wojtek » 2020-01-03, 17:35 UTC

Hacker wrote:
2020-01-01, 20:18 UTC
Wojtek,
As I said, not for me. The ADB plugin detects the phone automatically when connected through USB cable. One can check using "adb devices" in the command prompt.
I have connected my phone via USB cable
screenshot

and Here is th ADB log

Code: Select all

CONNECT \
Connecting to ADB server...
Connected
ADB Write (18): host:transport-any
ADB Read (14): device offline
what am I doing wrong? Could you please tell me which steps I should take to make the plugin work?
PC: Asus Maximus VIII Hero · Win7 Pro SP1 64-bit
Samsung EVO 250GB SSD · HyperX Fury 2x8GB · nVidia GeForce GTX 260 · Intel i5 6600K

lenovo ThinkPad X61 tablet · Win7 Pro N SP1 64-bit
OCZ 120GB SSD · 2x2GB GeIL RAM · onboard GPU · Intel Core2Duo L7500

User avatar
Usher
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 706
Joined: 2011-03-11, 10:11 UTC

Re: Accessing android phone with cm_OpenDrives not working anymore

Post by *Usher » 2020-01-04, 03:22 UTC

2Wojtek
I guess you should select "USB controlled by connected device" (your PC) and test connection again.
Regards from Poland
Andrzej P. Wozniak

Post Reply