What is the best practice to search in mulit path?

English support forum

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
User avatar
dindog
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 272
Joined: 2010-10-18, 07:41 UTC

What is the best practice to search in mulit path?

Post by *dindog »

I know TC search location can input more than one paths, seperated by ";" like:
Search In: c:\Windows;d:\TC;

Is there an "add path to search location" commnad that one would append the select directory path(s) to the current Search In field input (the search dialog is in open by Alt+Shift+F7, of course.)

I think it's more or less like Windows system env "path", set path %path%;new path. If there is no such command, then it's a feature request thread. :D

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9226
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: What is the best practice to search in mulit path?

Post by *petermad »

I don't think that when you are running a search in a separate process, that the process is aware of what is going on in the main TC window.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b10 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.960 (x64)
TC 3.0b13 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
dindog
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 272
Joined: 2010-10-18, 07:41 UTC

Re: What is the best practice to search in mulit path?

Post by *dindog »

petermad wrote:
2019-12-26, 12:52 UTC
I don't think that when you are running a search in a separate process, that the process is aware of what is going on in the main TC window.
They can communicate with each other, by IPC. We can feed TC file panel with seperated process TC search dialog's result, right?

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9226
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: What is the best practice to search in mulit path?

Post by *petermad »

We can feed TC file panel with seperated process TC search dialog's result, right
I am sure it can be possible to also communicate the other way (from TC to Search dialog), I just meant that currently it is not.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b10 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.960 (x64)
TC 3.0b13 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

Post Reply