dBPoweramp shell extension shows up under X64 context menu instead of "X86" context menu of 32-bit TC

English support forum

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
User avatar
Wojtek
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: 2010-02-07, 11:58 UTC
Location: Germany
Contact:

dBPoweramp shell extension shows up under X64 context menu instead of "X86" context menu of 32-bit TC

Post by *Wojtek » 2019-12-27, 18:54 UTC

Hello,

I'm not sure about the topic title, I hope it fits...

I have installed the dBPoweramp Music Converter and the problem I am facing is that the pop-up window goes off the screen.
When triggered by (Windows) Explorer everything is just fine.

So I hope that moving the shell extension from X64 to X86 context menu will solve the problem.

In the registry the items are located in "win32" keys, so they also should appear under win32 in TC, but they don't.

Any ideas?
PC: Asus Maximus VIII Hero · Win7 Pro SP1 64-bit
Samsung EVO 250GB SSD · HyperX Fury 2x8GB · nVidia GeForce GTX 260 · Intel i5 6600K

lenovo ThinkPad X61 tablet · Win7 Pro N SP1 64-bit
OCZ 120GB SSD · 2x2GB GeIL RAM · onboard GPU · Intel Core2Duo L7500

NotNull
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 49
Joined: 2019-11-25, 20:43 UTC
Location: NL

Re: dBPoweramp shell extension shows up under X64 context menu instead of "X86" context menu of 32-bit TC

Post by *NotNull » 2019-12-27, 21:03 UTC

Vittorio wrote:
2019-12-27, 18:54 UTC
the problem I am facing is that the pop-up window goes off the screen
Without knowing dbPoweramp, a general solution to this:
  • Click on the dBPoweramp Music Converter icon in the taskbar
  • Press ALT+SPACE to activate the application's window menu
  • Press M (Move)
  • Press the cursor keys to move the window back "in the picture"
  • Exit the application with SHIFT+ALT+F4
    For most applications that will save the window position, so it will open on that same position the next time
  • Done (?)
If you have a localized Windows (German?), the "M" might be different.
Try it with - for example - Notepad. The underlined letter is the one you are looking for to replace the M.

User avatar
Wojtek
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: 2010-02-07, 11:58 UTC
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: dBPoweramp shell extension shows up under X64 context menu instead of "X86" context menu of 32-bit TC

Post by *Wojtek » 2019-12-27, 22:58 UTC

NotNull wrote:
2019-12-27, 21:03 UTC
  • Click on the dBPoweramp Music Converter icon in the taskbar
  • Press ALT+SPACE to activate the application's window menu
  • Press M (Move)
  • Press the cursor keys to move the window back "in the picture"
  • Exit the application with SHIFT+ALT+F4
    For most applications that will save the window position, so it will open on that same position the next time
  • Done (?)
Done. Didn't work.

Any other ideas?

Spoiler
Show

Code: Select all

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\TypeLib\{627B1B3E-F003-4B78-861D-B599317A9E9A}\1.0\0\win32]
@="C:\\Program Files (x86)\\Illustrate\\dBpoweramp\\dBShell.dll"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Wow6432Node\TypeLib\{627B1B3E-F003-4B78-861D-B599317A9E9A}\1.0\0\win32]
@="C:\\Program Files (x86)\\Illustrate\\dBpoweramp\\dBShell.dll"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\TypeLib\{627B1B3E-F003-4B78-861D-B599317A9E9A}\1.0\0\win32]
@="C:\\Program Files (x86)\\Illustrate\\dBpoweramp\\dBShell.dll"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\Wow6432Node\TypeLib\{627B1B3E-F003-4B78-861D-B599317A9E9A}\1.0\0\win32]
@="C:\\Program Files (x86)\\Illustrate\\dBpoweramp\\dBShell.dll"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Classes\TypeLib\{627B1B3E-F003-4B78-861D-B599317A9E9A}\1.0\0\win32]
@="C:\\Program Files (x86)\\Illustrate\\dBpoweramp\\dBShell.dll"
PC: Asus Maximus VIII Hero · Win7 Pro SP1 64-bit
Samsung EVO 250GB SSD · HyperX Fury 2x8GB · nVidia GeForce GTX 260 · Intel i5 6600K

lenovo ThinkPad X61 tablet · Win7 Pro N SP1 64-bit
OCZ 120GB SSD · 2x2GB GeIL RAM · onboard GPU · Intel Core2Duo L7500

NotNull
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 49
Joined: 2019-11-25, 20:43 UTC
Location: NL

Re: dBPoweramp shell extension shows up under X64 context menu instead of "X86" context menu of 32-bit TC

Post by *NotNull » 2019-12-28, 06:50 UTC

Vittorio wrote:
2019-12-27, 22:58 UTC
Done. Didn't work.
Any other ideas?
No, not yet. I am still processing the massive amount of details you provided in your feedback ...

User avatar
Wojtek
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: 2010-02-07, 11:58 UTC
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: dBPoweramp shell extension shows up under X64 context menu instead of "X86" context menu of 32-bit TC

Post by *Wojtek » 2019-12-28, 09:07 UTC

[sarcasm]
NotNull wrote:
2019-12-28, 06:50 UTC
No, not yet. I am still processing the massive amount of details you provided in your feedback ...
[/sarcasm]

yeah... sorry about that...

Here we go:

OS: Win7 N SP1 64-bit
TC: 9.22a 32-bit + 64-bit (I mostly use TC 32-bit)
dBPoweramp R16.6

TC Plugins:
Spoiler
Show

Code: Select all

TC Plugins Manager 2.2.8 report, generated 12/28/2019 .
Total Commander: 9.22a. Path: "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\Totalcmd.exe". Ini-file: "C:\Users\John\AppData\Roaming\GHISLER\wincmd.ini".
OS: Windows 7 Professional N, version 6.01.7601 Service Pack 1.
Plugins folder: "%COMMANDER_PATH%\plugins".

Lister plugins (WLX):

anytag                    0.9.7.0      idle         MULTIMEDIA & (ext="AAC" | ext="APE" | ext="FLAC" | ext="MP1" | ext="MP2" | ext="MP3" | ext="MP4" | ext="M4A" | ext="MPC" | ext="OFR" | ext="OFS" | ext="OGG" | ext="SPX" | ext="TTA" | ext="WMA" | ext="WV") "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wlx\wlx_anytag\anytag.wlx"
excellence                1.20.0.9     idle         ext="XLS" | ext="XLSX" | ext="XLSM" | ext="XLSB" | ext="ODS" | ext="SXC" | ext="XML" | ext="GNUMERIC" | ext="GNM" | ext="KSP" | ext="CSV" | ext="DIF" | ext="SLK" | ext="SYLK" | ext="XLT" | ext="XLTX" | ext="XLTM" | ext="XLW" | ext="OTS" | ext="UOS" | ext="UOF" "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wlx\Excellence\excellence.wlx"
fileinfo                  2.2.3.0      idle          "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wlx\fileinfo\fileinfo.wlx"
htmlview                  1.2.6.0      idle         force | (EXT="HTM" | EXT="HTML" | EXT="MHT" | EXT="MHTML") "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wlx\HTMLView\htmlview.wlx"
ImgView                                idle         MULTIMEDIA & (EXT="ANI" | EXT="BMP" | EXT="CUR" | EXT="EMF" | EXT="EPS" | EXT="GIF" | EXT="ICO" | EXT="JPEG" | EXT="JPG" | EXT="PCX" | EXT="PIC" | EXT="PNG" | EXT="PSD" | EXT="PSP" | EXT="PSPIMAGE" | EXT="SGI" | EXT="TGA" | EXT="THM" | EXT="TIF" | EXT="WMF") "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wlx\ImgView\ImgView.wlx"
LinkInfo                  1.5.2.0      idle         force | (ext="LNK") "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wlx\LinkInfo\LinkInfo.wlx"
nfoviewer                 0.0.0.8      idle         ext="NFO" | ext="DIZ" "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wlx\Nfoviewer\nfoviewer.wlx"
RedCell                                disabled     EXT="XLS" | EXT="XLSX" "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wlx\RedCell\RedCell.wlx"
SQLiteViewer              1.9.6.1      idle         MULTIMEDIA & ext="DB" | ext="DB3" | ext="SQLITE" | ext="SQLITE3" | ext="FOSSIL" "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wlx\SQLiteViewer\SQLiteViewer.wlx"
sumatrapdf                1.2.0.0      idle         (ext="PDF") | ([0]="%" & [1]="P" & [2]="D" & [3]="F" & [4]="-" & [5]="1") "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wlx\sumatrapdf\sumatrapdf.wlx"
SVGView                   1.2.4.0      idle         MULTIMEDIA & ext="SVG"|ext="SVGZ" "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wlx\SVGView\SVGView.wlx"
swflst                    2.0.0.1      idle         MULTIMEDIA & ext="SWF" | ([0]="F" | [1]="L" | [2]="V") | ([0]="M" | [1]="Z" | [2]="P") | (([0]="F" & [1]="W" & [2]="S")|([0]="C" & [1]="W" & [2]="S") & FORCE) "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wlx\swfLister\swflst.wlx"
SWFView                   1.3.9.2      idle         MULTIMEDIA & ext="SWF" | (force & ext="EXE") "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wlx\SWFView\SWFView.wlx"
Syn2                      6.15.0.0     disabled      "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wlx\Syn2\Syn2.wlx"
SynUs                     1.6.0.0      idle          "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wlx\SynUs\SynUs.wlx"
tc_jad_plugin                          idle         force | (ext="CLASS") "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wlx\tc_jad_plugin\tc_jad_plugin.wlx"
ulister                   4.0.0.0      idle         ext="mhtml" "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wlx\ulister\ulister.wlx"
wlx_eml                   0.6.0.7      idle          "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\Plugins\WLX\wlx_eml\wlx_eml.wlx"

Packer plugins (WCX):

7zip                      0.7.6.5      idle         7z "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wcx\7zip\7zip.wcx"
CatalogMaker                           idle         lst "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wcx\CatalogMaker\CatalogMaker.wcx"
DiskDirExtended           1.6.7.0      idle         lst2 "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\Plugins\WCX\DiskDirExtended\DiskDirExtended.wcx"
GifWcx                    1.5.0.1      idle         gif "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wcx\GifWcx\GifWcx.wcx"
iso                       1.7.9.0      idle         iso nrg mdf img "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wcx\ISO\iso.wcx"
mbox                      1.1.0.0      idle         mbs mbx "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wcx\mbox\mbox.wcx"
MhtUnPack                 2.0.0.0      idle         mht mhtml msg b64 "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wcx\MhtUnPack\MhtUnPack.wcx"
msi                                    idle         msi msp "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wcx\msi\msi.wcx"
TotalISO                  0.9.0.55     idle         tio "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wcx\TotalISO\TotalISO.wcx"
TreeCopyPlus                           idle         TreeCopyPlus "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wcx\TreeCopyPlus\TreeCopyPlus.wcx"
wipe                      0.2.0.0      idle         wipe "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wcx\wipe\wipe.wcx"

File-system plugins (WFX):

badcopy                   1.0.0.5      idle         Bad Copy "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wfx\badcopy\badcopy.wfx"
BranchViewEx              1.0.3.0      idle         BranchViewEx "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wfx\BranchViewEx\BranchViewEx.wfx"
cloudplugin               1.0.5.0      idle         Cloud "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wfx\cloudplugin\cloudplugin.wfx"
devman                    1.4.0.0      idle         Device Manager "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wfx\DevMan\devman.wfx"
envvars                   1.0.0.10     idle         Environment Variables Ex "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wfx\EnvVars\envvars.wfx"
httpbrowser                            idle         HTTP Browser "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wfx\httpbrowser\httpbrowser.wfx"
HTTPPlugin                1.1.0.0      loaded       HTTP SmartBrowser "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\addons\HTTPPlugin\HTTPPlugin.dll"
MirandaFS                 0.0.4.1      idle         Miranda Database Explorer "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wfx\MirandaFS\MirandaFS.wfx"
procfs                                 idle         Task manager "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wfx\DiskInternals_procfs\procfs.wfx"
Registry                  5.2.0.0      idle         Registry "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wfx\Registry\Registry.wfx"
Services                  2.4.0.203    idle         Services "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wfx\Services\Services.wfx"
sftpplug                               idle         Secure FTP "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wfx\sftpplug\sftpplug.wfx"
StartupGuard              0.5.1.66     idle         Startup Guard "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wfx\StartupGuard\StartupGuard.wfx"
Uninstaller64             1.0.1.0      idle         Uninstaller64 "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wfx\Uninstaller64\Uninstaller64.wfx"
wmdmplug                               idle         MediaAudio "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wfx\MediaAudio\wmdmplug.wfx"
wpdplug                                idle         MediaAudio2 "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wfx\MediaAudio2\wpdplug.wfx"

Content plugins (WDX):

7zipInfo                  0.2.3.0      idle         EXT="7Z" "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wdx\7zipInfo\7zipInfo.wdx"
anytag                    0.9.8.0      idle         MULTIMEDIA & (ext="AAC" | ext="APE" | ext="FLAC" | ext="MP1" | ext="MP2" | ext="MP3" | ext="MP4" | ext="M4A" | ext="M4B" | ext="MPC" | ext="OFR" | ext="OFS" | ext="OGG" | ext="SPX" | ext="TTA" | ext="WMA" | ext="WV") "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wdx\wdx_anytag\anytag.wdx"
AudioInfo                 1.4.0.0      idle         EXT="MP3" | EXT="MP2" | EXT="MP1" | EXT="OGG" | EXT="WMA" | EXT="WAV" | EXT="VQF" | EXT="AAC" | EXT="APE" | EXT="MPC" | EXT="FLAC" | EXT="CDA" | EXT="IT" | EXT="XM" | EXT="S3M" | EXT="MTM" | EXT="MOD" | EXT="UMX" "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wdx\AudioInfo\AudioInfo.wdx"
cputil                                 idle          "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wdx\filesys\cputil.wdx"
Directory                 1.0.2.0      idle          "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wdx\Directory\Directory.wdx"
DirSizeCalc               2.2.1.0      idle          "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wdx\DirSizeCalc\DirSizeCalc.wdx"
exif                                   idle         EXT="JPG" | EXT="JPEG" | EXT="TIFF" | EXT="TIF" | EXT="JPE" | EXT="CRW" | EXT="THM" | EXT="CR2" | EXT="DNG" | EXT="NEF" "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wdx\wdx_exif\exif.wdx"
Expander2                 0.5.0.0      idle          "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wdx\Expander\Expander2.wdx"
FileDateTime              2.0.7.1      idle          "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wdx\wdx_FileDateTime\FileDateTime.wdx"
Filename_ChrCount         2.0.2.1      idle          "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wdx\wdx_FilenameChrCount\Filename_ChrCount.wdx"
Image                     1.1.0.0      idle         EXT="BMP" | EXT="DIB" | EXT="RLE" | EXT="JPG" | EXT="JPEG" | EXT="JPE" | EXT="JFIF" | EXT="GIF" | EXT="EMF" | EXT="WMF" | EXT="TIF" | EXT="TIFF" | EXT="PNG" | EXT="ICO" "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wdx\Image\Image.wdx"
jpg-comment               2.3.5.0      idle         EXT="JPG"|EXT="JPEG"|EXT="EXV"|EXT="CR2"|EXT="CRW"|EXT="MRW"|EXT="TIF"|EXT="TIFF"|EXT="DNG"|EXT="NEF"|EXT="PEF"|EXT="ARW"|EXT="RW2"|EXT="SR2"|EXT="SRW"|EXT="ORF"|EXT="PNG"|EXT="PGF"|EXT="RAF"|EXT="XMP"|EXT="PSD"|EXT="JP2"|EXT="EPS" "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wdx\jpg-comment\jpg-comment.wdx"
LotsOfHashes              1.4.0.0      idle          "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wdx\LotsOfHashes\LotsOfHashes.wdx"
NicePaths                 1.1.0.0      idle          "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wdx\NicePaths\NicePaths.wdx"
Opera_Cache               1.2.0.0      idle          "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wdx\Opera_Cache\Opera_Cache.wdx"
RarInfo                   0.9.0.1      idle         EXT="RAR" "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wdx\RarInfo\RarInfo.wdx"
ShellDetails              1.2.5.0      idle          "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wdx\ShellDetails\ShellDetails.wdx"
Shortcut                  2.0.0.0      idle         EXT="LNK" "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wdx\Shortcut\Shortcut.wdx"
TextSearch                1.0.0.0      idle          "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wdx\TextSearch\TextSearch.wdx"
UnicodeTest               1.0.0.0      idle          "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wdx\UnicodeTest\UnicodeTest.wdx"
wdx4i                     0.5.0.15     idle         [0]=66|[0]=71|[0]=10|[0]=137|[0]=56|[0]=73|([0]=77&[1]!=90)|FIND("ÿØ")|FIND("jP  ") "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wdx\wdx4i\wdx4i.wdx"
wdxtaglib                              idle         EXT="OGG" | EXT="FLAC" | EXT="OGA" | EXT="MP3" | EXT="MPC" | EXT="WV" | EXT="SPX" | EXT="TTA" | EXT="M4A" | EXT="M4R" | EXT="M4B" | EXT="M4P" | EXT="3G2" | EXT="MP4" | EXT="WMA" | EXT="ASF" | EXT="AIF" | EXT="AIFF" | EXT="WAV" | EXT="APE" | EXT="MOD" | EXT="MODULE" | EXT="NST" | EXT="WOW" | EXT="S3M" | EXT="IT" | EXT="XM" "C:\Program Files\Total Commander\plugins\wdx\wdxtaglib\wdxtaglib.wdx"
PC: Asus Maximus VIII Hero · Win7 Pro SP1 64-bit
Samsung EVO 250GB SSD · HyperX Fury 2x8GB · nVidia GeForce GTX 260 · Intel i5 6600K

lenovo ThinkPad X61 tablet · Win7 Pro N SP1 64-bit
OCZ 120GB SSD · 2x2GB GeIL RAM · onboard GPU · Intel Core2Duo L7500

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6837
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Re: dBPoweramp shell extension shows up under X64 context menu instead of "X86" context menu of 32-bit TC

Post by *Dalai » 2019-12-28, 14:42 UTC

Vittorio wrote:
2019-12-27, 22:58 UTC
Didn't work.
What exactly didn't work? Were you able to move the window like NotNull described? Did you try the four different directions to move to? Or is just the window position not saved (which could be completely normal for this particular window/application).
How exactly do you know that the window is off-screen? Is it shown in the Windows Task bar?

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Ryzen 5 2600, 16 GiB RAM, ASUS Prime X370-A, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

User avatar
Wojtek
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: 2010-02-07, 11:58 UTC
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: dBPoweramp shell extension shows up under X64 context menu instead of "X86" context menu of 32-bit TC

Post by *Wojtek » 2019-12-28, 23:22 UTC

Dalai wrote:
2019-12-28, 14:42 UTC
What exactly didn't work? Were you able to move the window like NotNull described? Did you try the four different directions to move to? Or is just the window position not saved (which could be completely normal for this particular window/application).
How exactly do you know that the window is off-screen? Is it shown in the Windows Task bar?
I tried to move the window with keyboard, but next time I start the converter the window position is again off the screen.

Here is a screen capture that shows what is happening. Should be better to understand now.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1dvlC8fTqrQ7orzm53P6GfeL7PyYbV6mR

and here is a screen capture of dBPoweramp triggered by Windows Explorer:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1u7QiI15zseO9h-LCBSEB3fLh4gjnt-Pu

For testing I have downloaded TC 9.50 beta 32+64 and dBP R17 beta
PC: Asus Maximus VIII Hero · Win7 Pro SP1 64-bit
Samsung EVO 250GB SSD · HyperX Fury 2x8GB · nVidia GeForce GTX 260 · Intel i5 6600K

lenovo ThinkPad X61 tablet · Win7 Pro N SP1 64-bit
OCZ 120GB SSD · 2x2GB GeIL RAM · onboard GPU · Intel Core2Duo L7500

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9205
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: dBPoweramp shell extension shows up under X64 context menu instead of "X86" context menu of 32-bit TC

Post by *petermad » 2019-12-29, 01:12 UTC

2Vittorio
Could you try with a non-maximized TC window and a maximized Explorer window - any change?

Also - could you try with a non-maximized Explorer window placed in the upper left corner of the screen - does the dBP R17 beta open centered to Explorer or centered to the screen in that case?
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b10 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.960 (x64)
TC 3.0b13 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6837
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Re: dBPoweramp shell extension shows up under X64 context menu instead of "X86" context menu of 32-bit TC

Post by *Dalai » 2019-12-29, 02:07 UTC

2Vittorio
Did you actually try in TC 64-bit? In your video you're clearly using TC 32-bit, and from your response I assume you did use the combined installer which, by default, creates shortcuts to TC 32-bit (only?).

My guess is that this application tries to find the windows that it has been launched from. Maybe to place itself in the center of it. TC 32-bit's context menu launches 64-bit programs via tcmdx64.exe which probably even doesn't have a window (because it doesn't need to). So, nothing to center it to...

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Ryzen 5 2600, 16 GiB RAM, ASUS Prime X370-A, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

User avatar
Wojtek
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: 2010-02-07, 11:58 UTC
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: dBPoweramp shell extension shows up under X64 context menu instead of "X86" context menu of 32-bit TC

Post by *Wojtek » 2019-12-29, 09:46 UTC

Update and some tests:
  • TC 64-bit maximized @ 1024x768 => dBPoweramp shows up at the center of the screen = works!
  • TC 32-bit resized => dbPoweramp goes off-screen
  • Explorer maximized => dBPoweramp shows up at the center of the screen = works!
  • Explorer resized and moved to the upper left corner => dBPoweramp shows up at the center of the Explorer window
  • Explorer resized and moved off-screen => dBPoweramp goes off-screen too
Conclusion:

dBPoweramp centers relative to the window from which it was triggered

The problem is that I have lots of TC plugins which work only in TC 32-bit, that is why I still use TC 32-bit most of the time.

Possible solutions:

create a custom internal command in TC or a button in the button bar.
I will try so and post the update...
PC: Asus Maximus VIII Hero · Win7 Pro SP1 64-bit
Samsung EVO 250GB SSD · HyperX Fury 2x8GB · nVidia GeForce GTX 260 · Intel i5 6600K

lenovo ThinkPad X61 tablet · Win7 Pro N SP1 64-bit
OCZ 120GB SSD · 2x2GB GeIL RAM · onboard GPU · Intel Core2Duo L7500

User avatar
HolgerK
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 5206
Joined: 2006-01-26, 22:15 UTC
Location: Europe, Aachen

Re: dBPoweramp shell extension shows up under X64 context menu instead of "X86" context menu of 32-bit TC

Post by *HolgerK » 2019-12-29, 11:05 UTC

2Vittorio

I would contact the developer of dBpoweramp
(
https://forum.dbpoweramp.com/showthread.php?44192-dBpoweramp-R17-Windows-Beta
https://forum.dbpoweramp.com/forumdisplay.php?21-Test-Upcoming-Releases
)

TC uses a hidden helper process (X64:TOTALCMD64.EXE -> TCMDX32.EXE, X86:TOTALCMD.EXE -> TCMDX64.EXE) to call shell extensions with different bitness.
The dBpoweramp shell extensions seems to use the window handle of the calling process (the hidden helper window) to locate the parents window position and center itself over this window.

The dBpoweramp developer should consider to check this dialog positions against a (multi) monitor screen area and/or use the mouse position instead of the parents window position.
further readings: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/win32/gdi/positioning-objects-on-multiple-display-monitors

ClipOrCenterRectToMonitor: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/win32/gdi/positioning-objects-on-a-multiple-display-setup

Regards
Holger
Make our planet great again

NotNull
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 49
Joined: 2019-11-25, 20:43 UTC
Location: NL

Re: dBPoweramp shell extension shows up under X64 context menu instead of "X86" context menu of 32-bit TC

Post by *NotNull » 2020-01-02, 17:02 UTC

the installer of dBPoweramp Music Converter has an option to install the 32-bit version.
Maybe that will install the 32-bit shell extensions too? (although I doubt it ..)

To install the 32-bit version:
  • Press down the RIGHT Shift key and double-click the installer executable.
  • Release the right shift key (just mentioning this for health reasons; don't want you glued to your keyboard for a couple of weeks :))

Post Reply