UAC disabled without ^ in title

English support forum

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
Hurdet
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 469
Joined: 2003-05-10, 18:02 UTC

UAC disabled without ^ in title

Post by *Hurdet »

In a pc i have UAC disabled but TC title bar not show account name with ^.
Not problem with other PC.
Why?

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39185
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: UAC disabled without ^ in title

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

^ in the title is only shown when the user account differs from the account of the Windows taskbar.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Hurdet
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 469
Joined: 2003-05-10, 18:02 UTC

Re: UAC disabled without ^ in title

Post by *Hurdet »

I have a pc where i log as "User1" ant TC show "User1^" in title.
Instead I have other pc where i log as "User1" but RunAs TC with "User2" and in title not have any "User2" and any "^".
If "^ in the title is only shown when the user account differs from the account of the Windows taskbar" shouldn't it be the other way around?

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6924
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Re: UAC disabled without ^ in title

Post by *Dalai »

The user^ is only shown when UAC is enabled and TC is running elevated. If UAC is disabled, TC only shows the user name in its title bar (when it's different from the current user).

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Ryzen 5 2600, 16 GiB RAM, ASUS Prime X370-A, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

Hurdet
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 469
Joined: 2003-05-10, 18:02 UTC

Re: UAC disabled without ^ in title

Post by *Hurdet »

Dalai wrote:
2020-01-16, 19:25 UTC
The user^ is only shown when UAC is enabled and TC is running elevated. If UAC is disabled, TC only shows the user name in its title bar (when it's different from the current user).
But i have UAC disable both pc and tc show name in title bar when user name is the same that current and viceversa.

NotNull
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 58
Joined: 2019-11-25, 20:43 UTC
Location: NL

Re: UAC disabled without ^ in title

Post by *NotNull »

You didn't specify the operating systems on those machines ...

If you disable UAC on Win7, you always run elevated.
If you disable UAC on Win10, you never run elevated.

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6924
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Re: UAC disabled without ^ in title

Post by *Dalai »

2Hurdet
Please note that setting UAC to the lowest level via control panel does NOT mean it's disabled. Unless you have set EnableLUA to 0 in the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System registry key (and rebooting the system afterwards) UAC is still enabled.

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Ryzen 5 2600, 16 GiB RAM, ASUS Prime X370-A, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

Post Reply