Total Commander -a-- attribute

English support forum

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
genaro
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: 2018-01-10, 19:31 UTC

Total Commander -a-- attribute

Post by *genaro »

Teach me how to use google. I couldn't find it. What does hyphen "a" hyphen hyphen mean?

genaro
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: 2018-01-10, 19:31 UTC

Re: Total Commander -a-- attribute

Post by *genaro »

also, why does my nickname has asteriks? *genaro

User avatar
vdijken
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 93
Joined: 2016-07-30, 14:07 UTC
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Total Commander -a-- attribute

Post by *vdijken »

Look into the help of TC. In Dialog box: Change attributes it says it is the archive attribute.

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6897
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Re: Total Commander -a-- attribute

Post by *Dalai »

A hyphen instead of a letter means that the attribute is not set. TC can show these attributes (the first four are in this order): rahs[ec] where r is read-only, a is archive, s is System, h is hidden and e is encrypted and c is compressed. See also https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File_attribute

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Ryzen 5 2600, 16 GiB RAM, ASUS Prime X370-A, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9363
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Total Commander -a-- attribute

Post by *petermad »

2genaro

Here you can see all possible combinations of attributes that TC can show in the Attr column: https://madsenworld.dk/tcmd/allattributes.png
Last edited by petermad on 2020-01-19, 13:51 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b10 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.960 (x64)
TC 3.0b16 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9363
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Total Commander -a-- attribute

Post by *petermad »

genaro wrote:
2020-01-19, 06:59 UTC
also, why does my nickname has asteriks? *genaro
It only has the asterisk above the post, not in the column to the left with the avatars.

The asterisk is there to indicate that clicking on your name has a special function - namely to copy your name to the Quick Reply edit box at the bottom of the page.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.5b10 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.960 (x64)
TC 3.0b16 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | PHSM-Calendar

Post Reply