FILE dropdown menu disappeared - 32bit

English support forum

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
DRP535
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 227
Joined: 2003-03-03, 11:25 UTC

FILE dropdown menu disappeared - 32bit

Post by *DRP535 »

Anybody got any clues why my 32bit installation of TC 9.50b13 is missing its FILE dropdown menu (extreme top left corner)?

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39185
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: FILE dropdown menu disappeared - 32bit

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Maybe you are using an incomplete menu file? Please go to menu
Configuration - Options - Language
Is there anything set in the field "Main menu file"?
1. If yes, click on "Edit" and check whether it has the file menu. Btw, which language do you use?
2. If no, click on >> and choose wcmd_eng.mnu (external English menu)
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1555
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

Re: FILE dropdown menu disappeared - 32bit

Post by *DrShark »

2DRP535
If Configuration menu is not available in your current setup too, to change the language you can either open Total Commander's dialog using cm_LanguageConfig command, or change it directly by passing desired .lng file to OPENLANGUAGEFILE command:

Code: Select all

OPENLANGUAGEFILE WCMD_xyz.LNG
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Vista Home Premium SP2 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right

DRP535
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 227
Joined: 2003-03-03, 11:25 UTC

Re: FILE dropdown menu disappeared - 32bit

Post by *DRP535 »

Thanks for quick replies, but must have just been a weird computer bug. Shut TC down and restarted and voila… fixed. Weird. I thought for one horrible moment these betas had the compare by content function removed because I couldn't find it anymore. Crisis averted though.

User avatar
Usher
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 807
Joined: 2011-03-11, 10:11 UTC

Re: FILE dropdown menu disappeared - 32bit

Post by *Usher »

There is a bug in dark mode. When you hover the main menu (without pulling down any submenu), "File" item is NOT highlighted. In some cases it may completely disappear, f.e after playing with Options (Colors etc.), but currently I can't reproduce such cases. Restarting TC restores "File" item, but it may disappear again. It happens for the first item in the main menu, no matter what language is in use.
Regards from Poland
Andrzej P. Wozniak

DRP535
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 227
Joined: 2003-03-03, 11:25 UTC

Re: FILE dropdown menu disappeared - 32bit

Post by *DRP535 »

Yep I thought that might be a possibility too. I am using dark mode and the FILE option did disappear after I enabled it following an upgrade installation from beta 11

Post Reply