ESC is pressed - operation aborted! - The ESC key seems to be stuck... but it's not!

English support forum

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
ZRm.
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 2020-02-06, 11:52 UTC

ESC is pressed - operation aborted! - The ESC key seems to be stuck... but it's not!

Post by *ZRm. »

The ESC key seems to be stuck...

the esc key is not stuck.. any idea how to fix this? commands copy F5 or move F6
Thanks

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6973
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Re: ESC is pressed - operation aborted!

Post by *Dalai »

This can usually be fixed by pressing ESC once, maybe a couple of times.

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Ryzen 5 2600, 16 GiB RAM, ASUS Prime X370-A, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

User avatar
MVV
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8467
Joined: 2008-08-03, 12:51 UTC
Location: Russian Federation

Re: ESC is pressed - operation aborted!

Post by *MVV »

As I've noticed, keys like Esc, Ctrl, Shift, Alt may be stuck if you e.g. switch between RDP console or a VM console where you're using them. Pressing these keys once usually help.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39415
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: ESC is pressed - operation aborted! - The ESC key seems to be stuck... but it's not!

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Total Commander shows this warning when a call to GetKeyState returns "key is pressed" when you start an operation. Since ESC is used to abort an operation, a stuck ESC key would immediately abort it.

And I can confirm that switching from/to a virtual machine can cause such incorrect readings, e.g. if you used Ctrl+ESC to jump to the start menu.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Post Reply