Open multiple xml files from a search result

English support forum

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

Joostman

Open multiple xml files from a search result

Post by *Joostman »

I'm new to total commander, and used a very cool feature to search inside many (xml) files for a certain text pattern.
I have the results now (many files in many directories found) and my next step would be to edit those with my UltraEdit.

The problem however is that I see the files as searchresult (as mentioned, in many different sub-directories), but I don't see any option to open those all at once and neither the option to open them in UltraEdit.
I am able to open just one of them, although all are marked (red) by hitting the enter button, it only opens the last one marked (a square around it).

Is there another way to do this? (inside Ulta Edit I need/can replace some text items in the searchresults I found)

If there is not a way, is there way to get the search result inside a plain-text file, so that I can open all at once with for example the command line?
I tried this option with print, but as the path is very long, it just stops after a few characters instead of displaying the whole path and filename.

It does not work for me to send the search result to a zip file and have the files bundeled in a new file (copy), as at the end these files must be placed back / have to stay in the location I found them.
Stefan2
Power Member
Power Member

Re: Open multiple xml files from a search result

Post by *Stefan2 »

Hi and welcome to the community.
Joostman wrote: 2020-05-15, 09:06 UTC . . . however is that I see the files as searchresult (as mentioned, in many different sub-directories),
but I don't see any option to open those all at once and neither the option to open them in UltraEdit.
. . .
When you see the search result, just use the button low right [Feed to listbox]
to do exactly that, then you have all the standard possibilities of TC from an file list.

HTH?
Joostman