update single file in zip file

English support forum

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
gonen5252
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 2019-11-14, 05:09 UTC

update single file in zip file

Post by *gonen5252 »

Hi
I am looking for an idea how to automate the process of replacing a single text file in an existing zip file.
The exact path of both - the input file and the file within the archive is known.

Currently I need to:
double click on the zip file, and continue dbl click until I get to the file. Then copy the replacing file and get out of the zip file (and the zip is re-compressed)

Can someone suggest how to do it easier? (add-on?)

I started with 7zip command line - not much of success - so I thought maybe TC button can do it somehow....

thanks for any idea !!!

User avatar
obeg
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 41
Joined: 2006-09-28, 09:20 UTC
Location: Sweden

Re: update single file in zip file

Post by *obeg »

It is easy to do in the total commander UI.

In the target panel browse to the folder that have the file that should be replaced. Ctrl+PGDown to go inside zip.
In the source panel mark (or stand on) the newer file and press F5 (copy) or F6 (move).

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9662
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Re: update single file in zip file

Post by *petermad »

After you have navigated to the two files in each panel you can save the position of both panels with this button:

Code: Select all

TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA
SAVETABS2 %APPDATA%\Ghisler\mytabs.tab

wcmicons.dll,83
Save folders on both sides - also inside archives


-1
You can then later retrieve the positions with this button:

Code: Select all

TOTALCMD#BAR#DATA
OPENTABS %APPDATA%\Ghisler\mytabs.tab

wcmicons.dll,83
Open saved folders on both sides - also inside archives


-1
To make the buttons:
1. Mark the green text above (click SELECT ALL).
2. Copy it to the ClipBoard (press Ctri+C).
3. Right click on TC's buttonbar and choose "Paste".
It will be possible to incorporate the copying into the second button, by using multiple commands in your usercmd.ini file - I f you would like that I can show you how - I would need to know the name of the file to be copied. Then all you have to do is click the second button and pres enter to confirm the copying.
License #524
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.51 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1909) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.965 (x64)
TC 3.0 on Android 6.0
Get:
Extended Total Commander Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar

Post Reply