Font size in Configuration Menus etc

English support forum

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
User avatar
louwin
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 90
Joined: 2007-06-09, 11:22 UTC
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Font size in Configuration Menus etc

Post by *louwin »

I use a 4K 49" TV as a monitor.Accordingly I use bigger fonts (like 16 or 18) for my display. All is good until I call up "Configuration". The popup screen is too narrow for the text and the letters (vertically) half overwrite each other :(
Small annoyance! Is there another way to achieve the larger font that will work with the "Configuration" popup?
TIA
PS I have a screen snapshot but can't "paste" it here?
There are 10 types of people in the world,
Those who understand binary and those who don't.

User avatar
Stefan2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2921
Joined: 2007-09-13, 22:20 UTC
Location: Europa

Re: Font size in Configuration Menus etc

Post by *Stefan2 »

louwin wrote:
2020-06-19, 06:13 UTC
I use a 4K 49" TV as a monitor.Accordingly I use bigger fonts (like 16 or 18) for my display.
All is good until I call up "Configuration". The popup screen is too narrow for the text and the letters (vertically) half overwrite each other :(
Small annoyance! Is there another way to achieve the larger font that will work with the "Configuration" popup?
Maybe this helps?

Configuration > Options... > Fonts >> Dialog box scaling (DPI) <test your setting

ghisler(Author) wrote:
Keep the font in the dialogs at 8 or 9 and resize the dialogs by setting a higher DPI value to make both the dialogs AND fonts larger.


Search the forum for DPI for maybe more information...


- - -
louwin wrote:
2020-06-19, 06:13 UTC
PS I have a screen snapshot but can't "paste" it here?
Upload it to some free hoster and post the link here.



 

User avatar
louwin
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 90
Joined: 2007-06-09, 11:22 UTC
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: Font size in Configuration Menus etc

Post by *louwin »

Okay, I set the DPI to 250 and the Configuration popup is now perfect BUT I have to reset the fonts to 16 and 18 to reset the text bigger as the DPI setting ONLY effected the Configuration popup.

Thanks, All good now.... :)
There are 10 types of people in the world,
Those who understand binary and those who don't.

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39712
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Font size in Configuration Menus etc

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Please set the font size for _dialogs_ to 12 or smaller, and then use a higher DPI value like 300. Why? The fonts get scaled with the DPI, and using to big fonts will cause overlaps.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

Post Reply