Select right panel when i open a path from "Everything" search

English support forum

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
fdsazcw123
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 34
Joined: 2018-11-23, 09:16 UTC

Select right panel when i open a path from "Everything" search

Post by *fdsazcw123 »

hi,

is it possible to set the right panel as the default panel,
so each time i opened tc, the focus is on the right panel,

thanks and stay safe.




Subject line adjusted by Moderator to yield more of desired feedback

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 7125
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Re: default active panel

Post by *Dalai »

See
TC help, section 4.b) wrote:ActiveRight=0
1: The right listbox will be active when Total Commander starts
Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Ryzen 5 2600, 16 GiB RAM, ASUS Prime X370-A, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

fdsazcw123
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 34
Joined: 2018-11-23, 09:16 UTC

Re: default active panel

Post by *fdsazcw123 »

Dalai wrote:
2020-06-24, 05:36 UTC
See
TC help, section 4.b) wrote:ActiveRight=0
1: The right listbox will be active when Total Commander starts
Regards
Dalai
thanks, perhaps i dot not make my questions clear.

what i want is that when i open a path from everything, the path will be in right panel

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 7125
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Re: default active panel

Post by *Dalai »

Well, then start TC with /R=<some_path> from Everything - see TC help, section 4.a) Command line parameters. No idea how to set that exactly because I don't use Everything.

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Ryzen 5 2600, 16 GiB RAM, ASUS Prime X370-A, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3765
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Select right panel when i open a path from "Everything" search

Post by *Horst.Epp »

Open (Folder) context menu entry in Everything:
$exec("c:\Tools\Wincmd\TOTALCMD64.EXE" /o /t /A /R="%1")
Adjust the path for your TC location and remove the /t if you don't want tabs.
Windows 10 Home x64 May 2020 Update, Version 2004 (OS Build 19041.331)
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GH, 16GB RAM
TC 9.51 x64 / x86, Everything 1.4.1.985 (x64)

User avatar
tuska
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2004
Joined: 2007-05-21, 12:17 UTC

Re: Select right panel when i open a path from "Everything" search

Post by *tuska »

fdsazcw123 wrote:...is it possible to set the right panel as the default panel,
so each time i opened tc, the focus is on the right panel,
what i want is that when i open a path from everything, the path will be in right panel
With the current TC parameters it is in my opinion not possible to set the focus permanently/repeatedly in the right TC panel,
if you e.g. double click on different folders in 'Everything' and want to open them in the right TC panel (without TC being closed in between).

Code: Select all

/P= Sets the active panel at program start: /P=L left, /P=R right. Overrides wincmd.ini option ActiveRight=.
... does not bring the desired effect in this context...

However, it is possible to set the focus yourself e.g. with the TAB key in TC and to open a folder (double clicked in 'Everything')
in TC in the active window. See also here (comprehensive description).


EDIT:
I'm sorry for some of the observations I've made here.
Please see the solution below: https://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?p=389638#p389638
Last edited by tuska on 2020-06-24, 19:51 UTC, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11733
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Re: Select right panel when i open a path from "Everything" search

Post by *Hacker »

tuska,
it is in my opinion not possible
Works just fine here.

Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

User avatar
tuska
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2004
Joined: 2007-05-21, 12:17 UTC

Re: Select right panel when i open a path from "Everything" search

Post by *tuska »

Hacker wrote:
2020-06-24, 13:55 UTC
tuska,
it is in my opinion not possible
Works just fine here.

Roman
With what settings?
The emphasis in my contribution was on the term "focus"...

User avatar
Hacker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11733
Joined: 2003-02-06, 14:56 UTC
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Re: Select right panel when i open a path from "Everything" search

Post by *Hacker »

tuska,
With what settings?

Code: Select all

$exec("C:\Path\Totalcmd\TOTALCMD64.EXE" /O /T "/R=%1" /A)
The emphasis in my contribution was on the term "focus"
Yup, focusing the right panel with the cursor on the file which was clicked in Everything works just fine.

Roman
Mal angenommen, du drückst Strg+F, wählst die FTP-Verbindung (mit gespeichertem Passwort), klickst aber nicht auf Verbinden, sondern fällst tot um.

User avatar
tuska
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2004
Joined: 2007-05-21, 12:17 UTC

Re: Select right panel when i open a path from "Everything" search

Post by *tuska »

2Hacker
OK, thank you!

Unfortunately, I missed this constellation because I do not use the /T option,
to avoid having to close these open tabs somehow at some point.
F1 - Help, 4.a. Command line parameters wrote:/T Opens the passed dir(s) in new tab(s). ...
I must therefore correct my previous statement as follows:
1. ONLY if the /T option is selected with, it is possible to e.g. double-click on folders in 'Everything'
    to open it permanently/repeatedly in the right TC panel (without TC being closed in between).
2. WITHOUT the /T option the above said applies.


EDIT:
I'm sorry for some of the observations I've made here.
Please see the solution below: https://ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?p=389638#p389638
Last edited by tuska on 2020-06-24, 19:51 UTC, edited 1 time in total.

NotNull
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 89
Joined: 2019-11-25, 20:43 UTC
Location: NL

Re: Select right panel when i open a path from "Everything" search

Post by *NotNull »

tuska wrote:
2020-06-24, 15:29 UTC
2. WITHOUT the /T option the above said applies.
Try this:

Code: Select all

$exec("c:\path to\TOTALCMD64.EXE"  /O /A /R="%1" /P=R)

User avatar
tuska
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2004
Joined: 2007-05-21, 12:17 UTC

Re: Select right panel when i open a path from "Everything" search

Post by *tuska »

NotNull wrote:
2020-06-24, 18:33 UTC
Try this:

Code: Select all

$exec("c:\path to\TOTALCMD64.EXE"  /O /A /R="%1" /P=R)
2NotNull

Yes, that's the solution!
Thank you very much for checking this!

(For example, I had also tested with parameter /P=R and other parameters, but without success.
This led me to the wrong conclusions).

The solutions of Horst.Epp and Hacker with parameter /T work too.

NotNull
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 89
Joined: 2019-11-25, 20:43 UTC
Location: NL

Re: Select right panel when i open a path from "Everything" search

Post by *NotNull »

You're welcome! Glad that I could help.

Post Reply