Copy problem filename the same as folder in directory/multi rename tool

Please report only one bug per message!

Moderators: white, sheep, Hacker, Stefan2

Post Reply
User avatar
The Spirit
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: 2010-04-02, 12:34 UTC

Copy problem filename the same as folder in directory/multi rename tool

Post by *The Spirit »

Hi,

If I want to copy a file in a folder, but in that folder is a folder with the same name as the file, Total Commander hangs.

So if for example I have the folder c:\temp\test\....
And I copy a file named test to c:\temp\ the copy dialog (and the rest) hangs.

I have the option enabled that all copying works in the background, haven't tested when turned off.

Just found out that this is also a problem in the Multi Rename tool, there I get a message with file exists.
Error, a file with this name already exists in the directory!

Maurice
User avatar
Stefan2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3328
Joined: 2007-09-13, 22:20 UTC
Location: Europa

Re: Copy problem filename the same as folder in directory/multi rename tool

Post by *Stefan2 »

c:\temp\test\- - folder
c:\temp\test - - file

That is WindowsTM, you cant have two items with same name (basically a folder is just a file but with an additional Attribute)

Just give your file a extension or rename it (or rename the folder)







 
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 41616
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Copy problem filename the same as folder in directory/multi rename tool

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

I cannot reproduce any hangs. Please send step by step instructions (1. Create directory y, 2. Go to x etc) I need to follow to reproduce it.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
Post Reply