Custom columns: Misconfigured column prevents showing values in next columns

Please report only one bug per message!

Moderators: white, sheep, Hacker, Stefan2

Post Reply
User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1869
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

Custom columns: Misconfigured column prevents showing values in next columns

Post by *DrShark »

The video of this issue has gone to support email which subject is mentioned in a post of another bugreport.

To reproduce:
1. In some test columns view, create first column with
any Caption and following Field contents:

Code: Select all

a]|[=b
2. Add also another column with any caption and any correct source for Field contents, e.g.:

Code: Select all

[=tc.name]
3. Press Apply:
the value of 1st column for all files will be:
a|
while the value of 2nd column will be nothing.

It seems TC doesn't even try to get the values for second column.
Expected behavior: even though TC has some troubles getting the values for first colum (it seems due to present "[=" sequence but missing trailing "]" character), it should get and show the values for next columns where Field contents is set in correct way.
Last edited by DrShark on 2021-08-20, 14:34 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Win7 Home Premium SP1 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 41696
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Custom columns: Misconfigured column prevent showing values in next columns

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

All the columns are stored together, separated by \n ,e.g.
a]|[=b\n[=tc.name]
So when TC sees the open bracket, it will look for the next closing bracket, which is behind tc.name. But the field
[=b\n[=tc.name]
is meaningless.
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1869
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

Re: Custom columns: Misconfigured column prevent showing values in next columns

Post by *DrShark »

ghisler(Author) wrote: 2021-08-20, 13:49 UTC All the columns are stored together, separated by \n ... So when TC sees the open bracket, it will look for the next closing bracket...
Could this algorithm be modified to:
So when TC sees the open bracket, it will look for the next closing bracket or \n, and if \n is encountered before next opening bracked, parse value after opening bracket separately
so TC wouldn't leave out value of [=tc.name] in example [=b\n[=tc.name] ?
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Win7 Home Premium SP1 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right
User avatar
Horst.Epp
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 4566
Joined: 2003-02-06, 17:36 UTC
Location: Germany

Re: Custom columns: Misconfigured column prevent showing values in next columns

Post by *Horst.Epp »

DrShark wrote: 2021-08-20, 14:21 UTC
ghisler(Author) wrote: 2021-08-20, 13:49 UTC All the columns are stored together, separated by \n ... So when TC sees the open bracket, it will look for the next closing bracket...
Could this algorithm be modified to:
So when TC sees the open bracket, it will look for the next closing bracket or \n, and if \n is encountered before next opening bracked, parse value after opening bracket separately
so TC wouldn't leave out value of [=tc.name] in example [=b\n[=tc.name] ?
Why should TC recover from an error which must be corrected anyway to get the intended results.
Windows 11 Home x64 Version 21H2 (OS Build 22000.318)
TC 10.00 x64 / x86
Everything 1.5.0.1285a (x64)
User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1869
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

Re: Custom columns: Misconfigured column prevent showing values in next columns

Post by *DrShark »

Horst.Epp wrote: 2021-08-20, 15:44 UTCWhy should TC recover from an error which must be corrected anyway to get the intended results.
I encountered this problem when actually intentionally removed leading and trailing brackets for some columns as a quick way to disable getting the values for them but without a need to delete such columns or clearing their Field contents data completely... I posted now a suggestion to reach this goal in better way, but would be nice to have the problem mentioned in start post of current topic fixed too.
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Win7 Home Premium SP1 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right
User avatar
DrShark
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1869
Joined: 2006-11-03, 22:26 UTC
Location: Kyiv, 68/262

Re: Custom columns: Misconfigured column prevents showing values in next columns

Post by *DrShark »

In email Christian Ghisler provided additional reasons for current Total Commander behavior:
Christian Ghisler (by email) wrote:Content plugin fields are loaded together as one big field even if there are multiple columns, and stored together. So if there is an error in one column, it will affect all following columns too. It gives the user an additional hint that something is wrong.
So it's unlikely that this will be changed. The only hope is that some new options will be added to temporarily hide some columns in column sets...
Android 4.3.1 no root, kernel 08.09.2016; Win7 Home Premium SP1 rus 32 bit
TC #149847 Personal licence

Cuz we're all in this together, We're here to make it right
Post Reply