Error changing Dir with CF card

Support for PocketPC and WinCE version

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

dlustig

Error changing Dir with CF card

Post by *dlustig »

I am new to using Pocket PCs. I have a Dell Axim and I am trying to see the contents of my CF card. I can see into the root directory but cannot change into any of the sub dirs. I get an error, "Error 13 changing to dir!" I am using TC/CE v1.21.

Help!

Dave
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Try putting at least one file on the CF card. If the card is empty, you may not be able to access it with Total Commander/CE.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
dlustig

Post by *dlustig »

Actually, I have an outdoor camera that is putting pics (jpeg) on the CF card. So there are already files on the card. If I put the pics in the root directory, I can view them. However, if I put any of the pics into any of the subdirs I cannot even access that dir. Do you know what that error message is that I am getting?

Dave
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin

It means "The data is invalid." according to the documentation. Can you access the directory with pocket Explorer?
dlustig

Post by *dlustig »

No...I tried using the explorer first and then I turned on to TC. The only way I can access the card properly is using the a card reader connected to a pc. Then there is no problem. But as soon as I put the card back into my pocket pc, I cannot see the sub dirs.

Just makes no sense to me.

Dave
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin

1. Do the subdirs contain any special characters, accents or so?
2. Can you create new subdirs with Totalcmd Pocket? If yes, do they appear in Total Commander too, or only on the PC?
dlustig

Post by *dlustig »

1. There are no special characters in the dir.