Services2 - File-system plugin to list and manage services

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: Stefan2, white, sheep, Hacker

User avatar
Native2904
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 92
Joined: 2014-01-30, 14:23 UTC
Location: Aachen

Post by *Native2904 » 2015-01-12, 09:19 UTC

When I start the Service2 in my 32bit TCMD then TCMD close and in 64bit is the Service not available.
My Antivirus is only Defender on Win 8.1 and Commodo Firewall.

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6586
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai » 2015-01-12, 14:57 UTC

2Native2904
I'm sorry, but I don't understand what you are trying to say. However, I see that you are from Germany, too, so you can write me an email in German if you want, either to the address mentioned in readme.txt oder via this forum (email button directly below the post/signature).

Regards
Dalai

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6586
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai » 2015-03-18, 22:34 UTC

Update to Version 0.5.0:

Code: Select all

Version 0.5.0 [2015-03-18]
[+]  Added support for internal and external tools, accessible via a button in the
     service properties dialog. It allows to
     - view the executable's properties (like Alt+Enter)
     - view the executable in TC's lister
     - open the default browser to search for the service name or its executable name
     - open any user-defined external tool with the service executable
     This feature is really helpful to examine unknown services and their executables,
     especially in conjunction with TC Lister plugins like FileInfo and PEViewer, and
     external analysis tools like anti-virus scanners, hex editors, debuggers and so
     on. See Readme for a detailed description.
[+]  Added a lot more custom columns to show information about the service executables,
     e.g. Copyright, Company name, File version and so on.
[+]  Added experimental support for WOW64 services, and a new checkbox to service
     properties dialog to show whether a service is a WOW64 service (see FAQ section in
     the Readme)
[*]  Changed the default button of the plugin's delete confirmation dialog (called by
     service properties dialog) to "No" to avoid the accidental deletion of services.
     Please note that plugins can't change the default button in TC's delete confirmation
     dialog, which is shown when a file is deleted in TC's file list!
[*]  Reduced the plugin size by ~10% by using different linker/compiler settings
[*]  Service properties dialog: Reduced the update interval of the progress bar to 200ms
[+]  Service properties dialog, Dependency page: Added service names to the dependency
     trees (can be disabled with the new option AddSvcNameToDependencyTrees, see below)
[+]  Added some new options (not available in settings dialog)
     See Services2.sample.ini for their description
     - AddSvcNameToDependencyTrees
     - ShowIcons (section Services2.Tools)
     - AutoDetectArch (section Services2.Tools)
[+]  Plugin settings dialog: Added a button to open plugin settings file in editor that is
     set in TC, so users can edit it directly without the need to navigate to it by hand
[*]  All ANSI functions are now returning an error when called. Previously they were just
     returning the same as the Unicode functions
[*]  Renamed Services2.ini.sample to Services2.sample.ini so that syntax highlighting works
     in editors that support it
[*]  Rewritten the Readme in HTML format to allow better formatting
[*]  Some internal optimizations

Version 0.4.3 [2014-10-04]
[!]  No public release!
[+]  Added Dutch translation, thanks to Jaap Kramer!
[*]  Some more exception handling to avoid certain crashes. This should increase
     stability, and it additionally fixes a definite crash on the Windows 10 Tech Preview
[+]  Added a note to the service properties dialog that is shown if there was an error
     while querying the service config
[*]  Changed manifest to include compatibility with Win8, Win8.1 and Win10. Not that it
     helps much as TC plugins depend on TC's manifest...
Download link is available in first post.

Note to the translators: There are some new strings that need translation - lines 71-72, 80, 95 and 137 in English.lng and lines 11 to 24 in Services2.lng. You can also use TC's Compare by contents to find them, of course ;).

Feedback is highly appreciated, especially regarding the new features!

Regards
Dalai

Sob
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 908
Joined: 2005-01-19, 17:33 UTC

Post by *Sob » 2015-03-19, 16:48 UTC

Feature suggestion: Make an option what to use for main Name column. Currently it's Diplay Name, which is logical and obvious choice. But I think it could be useful to optionally use Service Name instead. Unlike localized display names, service names are the same everywhere. And having them in Name column would allow the use of quick search/filter.

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6586
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai » 2015-03-20, 00:01 UTC

2Sob
Hm, seems that more people want to have such an option, so I checked how much work it is to implement it. It was much less work than expected, so you can look forward to it in the next version. Until then, you can do the following:
  • Add the service name to the custom columns view, and move the new column to be the "first" one
  • Set the width of the Name column to 1 if the display name bothers you.
I know it's not the same, but at least it helps with the display of information (not sure about filter/quick search).

Regards
Dalai

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8405
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2015-03-20, 19:15 UTC

2Dalai

Updated Danish translation can be downloaded at http://madsenworld.dk/tcmd/wfx_Services2_0.5.0_dan.zip
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.22a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1903) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b4 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6586
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai » 2015-03-20, 20:02 UTC

2petermad
Thanks! Will include it in the next release.

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6586
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

A little poll about Remote Computer management

Post by *Dalai » 2015-03-26, 15:07 UTC

I'm currently working on remote computer management. I'm not sure which kind of structure is better for usage and presentation, and I'd like to hear/read some thoughts about it, so I'm making a little poll.

Option 1
Do it like the old Services plugin: remote computers are in the root as well as a "file" to add new ones. The structure looks like this:

Code: Select all

\
+--[Remote computer 1]
|  |--remote service 1
|  |--remote service 2
+--[Remote computer 2]
|  |--remote service 1
|  |--remote service 2
+--#Add remote computer
|--local service 1
|--local service 2
Option 2 (that's how it's currently implemented)
All remote computers are in a subdirectory, i.e. the services of remote computers are one level down compared to option 1. The structure looks like this:

Code: Select all

\
+--[Remote Computer]
|  +--[Remote computer 1]
|  |  |--remote service 1
|  |  |--remote service 2
|  +--[Remote computer 2]
|  |  |--remote service 1
|  |  |--remote service 2
|  |--Add
|--local service 1
|--local service 2
Looking forward to read some feedback (either here or by mail)! :)

Regards
Dalai

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6586
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai » 2015-03-29, 14:50 UTC

Nobody wants to express his/her opinion about which remote management structure is better/preferred?

Regards
Dalai

User avatar
sqa_wizard
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3463
Joined: 2003-02-06, 11:41 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *sqa_wizard » 2015-03-29, 15:19 UTC

Well, not easy to answer this question.
Both options have their pros and cons.
Option 1 gives an all time quick overview.
Option 2 does not clutter the list with each remote computer.

It depends on the number of remote computers at your main usage.
Having always some tenth of remote entries will prefer option 2.

My usage is 1 or 2 remote entries at once, therefore I would like to see option 1.
#5767 Personal license

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8405
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2015-03-29, 16:08 UTC

I think I would prefer alle the remote computers shown as in your Option 2
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.22a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1903) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b4 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6586
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai » 2015-04-25, 11:05 UTC

Update to Version 0.6.0

Code: Select all

Version 0.6.0 [2015-04-25]
[+]  Added remote computer management. Please note that this feature has some
     limitations, see section "Limitations" in Readme for details.
[*]  Fixed: Delayed autostart couldn't be set on some services. The plugin now
     behaves like the MMC snap-in (services.msc) which means that you may see
     a warning if delayed autostart couldn't be set (error 87)
[*]  Made options available in settings dialog:
     AddSvcNameToDependencyTrees and ShowIcons (section Services2.Tools)
[*]  Fixed a memory leak regarding icons
[*]  Fixed an access violation when a service without an executable was deleted
     in TC's panel
[+]  Added: Pressing Shift+Enter on a service now opens the path of the service
     executable in a new tab and sets the cursor on the executable (TC 8.0+)
[+]  Added feature to rename services directly in TC's panel. Note: this is
     limited to the display name and will be ignored if service names instead of
     display names are shown in TC's panel
[*]  Internal code cleanup and optimization

Version 0.5.1 [2015-03-20]
[!]  No public release!
[*]  Updated Danish translation, thanks to petermad!
[+]  Added option to show service name instead of display name in TC's panel
Download link is available in the first post.

Note to the translators: There are some new strings that need translation - lines 34-36, 43, 53, 136, 141-143 and 152-157 in English.lng. Again, TC's Compare by contents can help ;).

Feedback is highly appreciated, especially regarding the new features!

Regards
Dalai

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8405
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2015-04-25, 13:21 UTC

2Dalai

Danish translation can be downloaded at http://madsenworld.dk/tcmd/wfx_Services2_0.6.0_dan.zip

If I try to use the new Add Remote Computer feature I get the error message:

-------------------------
Services2
-------------------------
System Error Code 5.
Adgang nægtet

OK
------------------------


Adgang nægtet translates to Access denied.

This happens when I try to add computers in my Microsoft WORKGROUP network, both for 32bit and 64 bit version and under Windows XP, Windows 7 and Windows 8.1
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.22a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1903) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b4 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6586
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Post by *Dalai » 2015-04-25, 13:45 UTC

petermad wrote:Danish translation can be downloaded at http://madsenworld.dk/tcmd/wfx_Services2_0.6.0_dan.zip
Man, that was fast! Thanks!
If I try to use the new Add Remote Computer feature I get the error message:

-------------------------
Services2
-------------------------
System Error Code 5.
Adgang nægtet

OK
------------------------
Are you using the same credentials (user and password) on the local and remote systems? If not, it won't work. It's a system limitation which is also mentioned in the Readme (section "Limitations"). Also, ensure that you didn't access the remote system with a different user before using the plugin (AFAIK this logs in to the remote system's IPC$ share).

I successfully tested the remote management on Win2k, XP, Win7 and IIRC Win8.1 (across all of them). If you do use the same credentials, well, then we will have to look into that issue.

Regards
Dalai

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8405
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2015-04-25, 21:09 UTC

Some of my PC's uses the same username and password and some don't, but even when the username and the password is the same, it doesn't work.
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.22a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1903) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b4 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

Post Reply