TCMediaInfo 1.0.2 not working

Discuss and announce Total Commander plugins, addons and other useful tools here, both their usage and their development.

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply
mikedepetris
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 57
Joined: 2006-11-07, 16:36 UTC
Location: Trieste, Italy
Contact:

TCMediaInfo 1.0.2 not working

Post by *mikedepetris » 2019-08-21, 13:20 UTC

Can anybody help me? I found I need to install it having TC launched as Admin, anyway the zip package does not contain a .WLX nor it is installed, how should I configure it to work as a lister plugin?

User avatar
Stefan2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2627
Joined: 2007-09-13, 22:20 UTC
Location: Europa

Re: TCMediaInfo 1.0.2 not working

Post by *Stefan2 » 2019-08-21, 14:20 UTC

2mikedepetris


>>"the zip package "

What do you talking about exactly?



 
Inofficial FAQs || WIKI (Deu/Eng) || TC Home (What's new? // FAQ // Download // Order // Addons // Tools // Plugins)
Erst wenn der letzte Baum gefällt oder die letzte Biene verendet ist, werden die Leute verstehen warum Umweltschutz wichtig ist.

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6702
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Re: TCMediaInfo 1.0.2 not working

Post by *Dalai » 2019-08-21, 19:01 UTC

2Stefan2
The plugin archive, e.g. wdx_wlx_tcmediainfo_1.0.1.zip.

2mikedepetris
TCMediaInfo is a multi-plugin, meaning the TCMediaInfo.wdx (or TCMediaInfo.wdx64) can also be used as a Lister plugin. Just select the WDX file when you want to install it as a Lister plugin. Yes, this fact/feature is not immediately obvious and could probably be explained in a little more detail in the included help, but that's just the way it is currently.

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

mikedepetris
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 57
Joined: 2006-11-07, 16:36 UTC
Location: Trieste, Italy
Contact:

Re: TCMediaInfo 1.0.2 not working

Post by *mikedepetris » 2019-08-22, 11:29 UTC

Dalai wrote:
2019-08-21, 19:01 UTC
2Stefan2
The plugin archive, e.g. wdx_wlx_tcmediainfo_1.0.1.zip.

2mikedepetris
TCMediaInfo is a multi-plugin, meaning the TCMediaInfo.wdx (or TCMediaInfo.wdx64) can also be used as a Lister plugin. Just select the WDX file when you want to install it as a Lister plugin. Yes, this fact/feature is not immediately obvious and could probably be explained in a little more detail in the included help, but that's just the way it is currently.

Regards
Dalai
should I rename it to *.wlx? The options panel does not let me select the *.wdx, or should I put the line directly in the wincmd.ini?

EDIT: Ok, I did it, I simply added the line in the wincmd.ini:
10="c:\Program Files\totalcmd\plugins\wdx\TCMediaInfo\TCMediaInfo.wdx"

it seems it added by itself:
10_detect="MULTIMEDIA | FORCE"

it works as a lister pluging too now.

User avatar
Dalai
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 6702
Joined: 2005-01-28, 22:17 UTC
Location: Meiningen (Südthüringen)

Re: TCMediaInfo 1.0.2 not working

Post by *Dalai » 2019-08-22, 13:32 UTC

FYI: When adding a new plugin, in the Open dialog you can type *.* as filename to disable the file type filter (*.wlx in this case). After that you can select any file as a plugin file (*.wdx in this case) to add as any plugin type; so long as the plugin itself supports it of course.

In other words: One can edit the wincmd.ini but it's not necessary to do so.

Regards
Dalai
#101164 Personal licence
Athlon X4 880K, 16 GiB RAM, Gigabyte F2A88X-D3HP, Win7 x64

Plugins: Services2, Startups

mikedepetris
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 57
Joined: 2006-11-07, 16:36 UTC
Location: Trieste, Italy
Contact:

Re: TCMediaInfo 1.0.2 not working

Post by *mikedepetris » 2019-08-22, 14:57 UTC

Dalai wrote:
2019-08-22, 13:32 UTC
FYI: When adding a new plugin, in the Open dialog you can type *.* as filename to disable the file type filter (*.wlx in this case). After that you can select any file as a plugin file (*.wdx in this case) to add as any plugin type; so long as the plugin itself supports it of course.

In other words: One can edit the wincmd.ini but it's not necessary to do so.

Regards
Dalai
thanks for the hint Dalai, VERY useful.

User avatar
deus-ex
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 743
Joined: 2003-02-10, 17:45 UTC

Re: TCMediaInfo 1.0.2 not working

Post by *deus-ex » 2019-09-13, 15:05 UTC

TCMediaInfo v1.0.3 was just released, offering the same bug introduced with v1.0.2: The display of the ampersand character (&) in filenames is broken. TCMediaInfo v1.0.1 works just fine with those, though.
Best regards
deus-ex

Post Reply