Should F2 become the default for renaming?

Only forum where polls are allowed. You may announce a new poll in the matching support forum.

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply

Should F2 become the default for renaming?

Yes
343
62%
No
138
25%
I don't care
68
12%
 
Total votes: 549

User avatar
Sheepdog
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 5150
Joined: 2003-12-18, 21:44 UTC
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Post by *Sheepdog »

MPS wrote:f2 for refreshing would be nice, but i would leave shift+f6 too

how about f12 for refresh then?
F2 does refreshing now (by default).
Refresh is also done by Ctrl+R now.

You seem to have something misunderstood.

sheepdog
"A common mistake that people make when trying to design something
completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools."
Douglas Adams

Bloody
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: 2006-01-26, 05:49 UTC
Location: Berlin

Good as-is

Post by *Bloody »

Howdy,

I personally find it very good as-is, because Shift-F6 and Shift-F5 are
doing something similar to F6/F5 which i find very logical. I never use
Miocrosoft stuff (Explorer and the like) and personally don't care anyway
about how MS is doing this & that, so i'm just fine with how it is.

Suggestion: keep the keys freely configurable and this thread was just
not necessary.

Greetings,

Oliver 'Bloody' Lange.

User avatar
Sheepdog
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 5150
Joined: 2003-12-18, 21:44 UTC
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Good as-is

Post by *Sheepdog »

Bloody wrote:Suggestion: keep the keys freely configurable and this thread was just
not necessary.
Do you know Configuration->Options->Misc: Redefine Hotkeys (keyboard remapping) ?

This poll is about the default behavior of F2.

sheepdog
"A common mistake that people make when trying to design something
completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools."
Douglas Adams

Bloody
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: 2006-01-26, 05:49 UTC
Location: Berlin

Re: Good as-is

Post by *Bloody »

Sheepdog wrote:Do you know Configuration->Options->Misc: Redefine Hotkeys (keyboard remapping) ?
Whoops, you got me. :)

You're right. However, using Windows without TC would be a horror vision
for me, myself & I. Just glad to have it.

Cheers,

Oliver 'Bloody' Lange.

User avatar
MPS
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 90
Joined: 2004-07-27, 15:57 UTC
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by *MPS »

Sheepdog wrote:
MPS wrote:f2 for refreshing would be nice, but i would leave shift+f6 too
how about f12 for refresh then?
F2 does refreshing now (by default).
Refresh is also done by Ctrl+R now.
You seem to have something misunderstood.
sheepdog
right u are, it should be 'f2 for renaming would be nice' :]

User avatar
Rein de Jong
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 366
Joined: 2005-01-30, 20:26 UTC
Location: NL
Contact:

Why not implemented yet?

Post by *Rein de Jong »

I just passed by. Read this topic and wondered "Why isn't F2 for rename implemented yet"? The poll started in 2003...............

Ctrl-R is what I use from start.
Groetjes/
______/Rein

--- Moderator NL-forum ---
zie ook: http://www.reindejong.nl/totcmd

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 39427
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

I'm still worried that I will get a lot of e-mails when i change this. I did already for changing Ctrl+T from Multi-Rename-Tool to creation of a new TAB, and I fear that the F2 change would cause even more problems...
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
Rein de Jong
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 366
Joined: 2005-01-30, 20:26 UTC
Location: NL
Contact:

Post by *Rein de Jong »

ghisler(Author) wrote: I fear that the F2 change would cause even more problems...
OK. I see the point. Maybe better to close this topic and leave it as is?
Groetjes/
______/Rein

--- Moderator NL-forum ---
zie ook: http://www.reindejong.nl/totcmd

User avatar
MPS
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 90
Joined: 2004-07-27, 15:57 UTC
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by *MPS »

hmmm... come to think of it... if you want to go windows-like and use F2 for renaming, then it would be a logical step to make F5 a 'refresh' key, which is reserved for copying. and then, F6 )like F5) has always been used for renaming in commanders, so maybe it really should stay as it is now...

iElectric
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 41
Joined: 2006-04-23, 12:27 UTC

Post by *iElectric »

What about setup for shortcuts? I want all my programs set at same shortcuts, because it is easier to remember just one button than 4 for each program different

User avatar
SanskritFritz
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3693
Joined: 2003-07-24, 09:25 UTC
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Post by *SanskritFritz »

What about setup for shortcuts?
You mean Options / Misc. / Redefine hotkeys (Keyboard remapping) ?
I switched to Linux, bye and thanks for all the fish!

iElectric
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 41
Joined: 2006-04-23, 12:27 UTC

Post by *iElectric »

Indeed.

User avatar
Sam_Zen
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 700
Joined: 2005-02-08, 22:59 UTC
Location: NL
Contact:

Post by *Sam_Zen »

Maybe another perspective would help here. Start with the question :
Should F6 be default only for moving ? Instead of the two functions it has now ?
I suppose this double was a compromise in NC originally, because F2 was mainly used for a 'save' function. With windows this became rather irrelevant, so the button disappeared.
Besides this, there are already various ways within TC to rename file(s). Which one depends on the situation, but I must say that I never use F6 for this action. It's either editing after Shift-F6, or with a second click on the cursor, and sometimes I even use the multi-rename tool for a single file.
I would welcome F2 as a renamer, but then with more power as the one presented with F6 now. Maybe linked to a version of the multi-rename tool with a switch : single/multi or something like that.

A practical aspect : If F2 will be added, the existing TC-buttons must become smaller in width. I don't see any space-problems here, but it brought up the following question : Is the button "Alt+F4 Exit" really necessary ?
To me not, I never use it. I close TC once a day and I get along fine with the 'X' in the upper right corner.
(maybe something for another poll)
0.618033988

User avatar
solid
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 540
Joined: 2004-08-09, 11:20 UTC

Post by *solid »

Sam Zen wrote:...but it brought up the following question : Is the button "Alt+F4 Exit" really necessary ?
To me not, I never use it. I close TC once a day and I get along fine with the 'X' in the upper right corner.
(maybe something for another poll)
I defenitely agree with you on this. And also is inconsistent with modifiers and function keys funcionality. But this is defenitely another topic

User avatar
Lefteous
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9460
Joined: 2003-02-09, 01:18 UTC
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by *Lefteous »

Sam Zen wrote:...but it brought up the following question : Is the button "Alt+F4 Exit" really necessary ?
To me not, I never use it. I close TC once a day and I get along fine with the 'X' in the upper right corner.
(maybe something for another poll)

In the unified command system I suggested to show the function keys in the function key bar and the commands which are currently assigned to the these keys.

http://www.ghisler.ch/wiki/index.php/Unified_Command_system

Post Reply