Should F2 become the default for renaming?

Only forum where polls are allowed. You may announce a new poll in the matching support forum.

Moderators: Stefan2, white, sheep, Hacker

Post Reply

Should F2 become the default for renaming?

Yes
342
62%
No
138
25%
I don't care
68
12%
 
Total votes: 548

caypiranha
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: 2006-08-15, 13:34 UTC

Post by *caypiranha » 2006-08-15, 23:31 UTC

ctrl+ r was also always for me for refreshing. F2 i didnt´know at all (and i love using hotkeys in TC) but F2 for renaming is in the rest of the windowsworld very common. SO it would be almost a logical prozedure to give that feature to TC!

ALT + F4 was always a little to unhandy... long way, specially fpr smaller fingers. So I used the slightly doublekick for that... a bit dodgy always!!

User avatar
Clo
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5731
Joined: 2003-12-02, 19:01 UTC
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Secret short cut…

Post by *Clo » 2006-08-16, 05:40 UTC

2caypiranha

:) Hello!

• You can close TC with a single finger using Alt+X, generally these keys are beside one another… ;)

:mrgreen: Kind regards,
Claude
Clo
#31505 Traducteur Français de TC French translator Aide en Français Tutoriels Français English Tutorials

User avatar
MPS
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 90
Joined: 2004-07-27, 15:57 UTC
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Secret short cut…

Post by *MPS » 2006-11-02, 21:22 UTC

Clo wrote:• You can close TC with a single finger using Alt+X
nice one :)

compie
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 93
Joined: 2003-07-06, 18:47 UTC

Post by *compie » 2007-01-24, 18:27 UTC

Why isn't "F2=rename" the default setting in TC7 public beta 3?

Fussel
New Member
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 2007-02-10, 08:02 UTC

Post by *Fussel » 2007-02-10, 08:30 UTC

Please don't change the standard keys!!

I still use Norton Commander in DOS, I use Midnight Commander in Linux, I use CC in NetWare, I use TotalCommander in Windows. Can you imagine the confusion if the standard keys were not the same??

I never use a mouse in any of these programs, I totally rely on the function keys. I use them automatically, without thinking, and very fast. Small wonder, since I'm used to them for nearly 20 years ...

Yes, you could change the standard behaviour to your liking, but if you (like me) install new machines every day and make a TC shareware installation to every new machine (hopefully bringing you new customers!), you simply don't have the time to change much. Same when I'm called to administrate machines without TC on them (yes, there are some ;) ): first thing I do is download TC. And since I'm usually in a hurry then, I have to use it with standard options.

So PLEASE DON'T CHANGE THE STANDARD!

I support the idea to make templates for new and old users, like some of my predecessors suggested, as long as the standard mapping remains the same as before.

Like some other people already said: If you want some program to behave like Explorer, then use Explorer! (shudder ...)

Keep up the good work! Best program I ever worked with!

Fussel

User avatar
ThurahT
Member
Member
Posts: 112
Joined: 2003-07-24, 14:43 UTC

Post by *ThurahT » 2007-02-10, 12:46 UTC

Best post this week.. : ) I totally agree...

User avatar
sas2000
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 682
Joined: 2003-02-07, 04:32 UTC
Location: Galiza

Post by *sas2000 » 2007-02-11, 06:56 UTC

 
I'm agree too.
 

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8466
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2007-02-11, 10:22 UTC

2Fussel
As spoken out of my mouth !
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.22a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1903) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b6 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
m^2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1413
Joined: 2006-07-12, 10:02 UTC
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by *m^2 » 2007-02-11, 11:30 UTC

It's not a problem if you don't install TC, but copy it. As I do so, for me it makes no difference whether there's F2 or CTRL+F6. And I think that for most newcomers F2 is better. As most people do.

User avatar
MPS
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 90
Joined: 2004-07-27, 15:57 UTC
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by *MPS » 2007-02-12, 16:20 UTC

just leave it as an option to assign function keys...

User avatar
Clo
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5731
Joined: 2003-12-02, 19:01 UTC
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Games and F2

Post by *Clo » 2007-02-12, 17:17 UTC

2Fussel

:) I agree ! And just a thought about this :

• In Windows games (who never played with ?), the new game is… F2 ! So, it's alright a kind of refresh, isn't it ?

• Hence, one can't claim that F2 for refresh is not a Win short cut ! :P

:mrgreen:  Kind regards,
Claude
Clo
#31505 Traducteur Français de TC French translator Aide en Français Tutoriels Français English Tutorials

User avatar
Achiles
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: 2007-02-08, 20:32 UTC
Location: Transylvania

Post by *Achiles » 2007-02-14, 16:39 UTC

Old and new user templates - that's a great idea, I for one would go crazy if F2 wouldn't refresh the directory, instead it would make me type some unwanted name to a file. It could happen with a new installation with reassigned shortcuts.

I mean, F2=refresh - it's the way it's meant to be :)

User avatar
Nyks
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 32
Joined: 2007-02-17, 23:06 UTC

Post by *Nyks » 2007-03-05, 20:15 UTC

Wow, 60 % voted for F2 = rename should be default, only 24 voted for "no".

Will this be implemented?
fabiochelly wrote:Personaly, I use F2 to rename
How to change this?
--
Jan

User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 8466
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Valsted, Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad » 2007-03-05, 23:45 UTC

2Nyks
How to change this?
"Configuration" -> "Misc." -> "Redifine hotkeys (Keyboard remapping)" -> "Hotkey"
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 9.22a 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit, Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (1903) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.4.1.935 (x64)
TC 3.0b6 on Android 6.0
Get: Extended Total Commander Menus | PHSM-Calendar

User avatar
m^2
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1413
Joined: 2006-07-12, 10:02 UTC
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by *m^2 » 2007-03-05, 23:45 UTC

Configuration->Misc->Redefine keys->F2->cm_RenameOnly

Post Reply