Who wants the list of internal commands to be sorted?

Only forum where polls are allowed. You may announce a new poll in the matching support forum.

Moderators: sheep, Hacker, Stefan2, white

Post Reply

$Who wants the list of internal commands to be sorted?

Poll ended at 2004-01-20, 11:49 UTC

Yes, I want it to be sorted
34
74%
No, leave it the way it is
6
13%
I don't care
6
13%
Other (I may have left a note)
0
No votes
 
Total votes: 46

User avatar
white
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2020
Joined: 2003-11-19, 08:16 UTC
Location: Netherlands

Who wants the list of internal commands to be sorted?

Post by *white » 2003-11-21, 11:49 UTC

In the Dialog box: "Change button bar" you can change the command of a button to one of the internal menu commands of Total Commander by clicking on the button with the down arrow and choosing a command.

Who wants this list of internal commands to be sorted?

[Edited]By sorted I mean sorted alphabetically[/Edited]
Last edited by white on 2003-11-24, 18:06 UTC, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Lefteous
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9457
Joined: 2003-02-09, 01:18 UTC
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by *Lefteous » 2003-11-21, 11:59 UTC

2white

Take a look at this thread:
http://www.ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?t=1546

User avatar
havanna
Member
Member
Posts: 162
Joined: 2003-02-27, 08:06 UTC
Location: Baden/Württemberg

Post by *havanna » 2003-11-21, 12:16 UTC

2 Lefteous

You are right of course, still I think it would be helpful to have them sorted inside the program, that would makme life easier for those that are not so familiar with ini-editing (I thinks there's a lot of them around).
Tanstaafl

User avatar
Lefteous
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9457
Joined: 2003-02-09, 01:18 UTC
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by *Lefteous » 2003-11-21, 12:31 UTC

2havanna

I don't understand the connection between sorting the Totalcmd.inc file and editing an INI file.

User avatar
white
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2020
Joined: 2003-11-19, 08:16 UTC
Location: Netherlands

Post by *white » 2003-11-21, 15:37 UTC

2Lefteous

Thanks for pointing out the thread.
Call me lazy, but I hope Christian will do the sort for me each time he brings out a new version. :mrgreen:
Moreover I think it's an improvement of Total Commander to have the list sorted by default.

User avatar
havanna
Member
Member
Posts: 162
Joined: 2003-02-27, 08:06 UTC
Location: Baden/Württemberg

Post by *havanna » 2003-11-22, 09:43 UTC

2 lefteous:
Just sloppy writing - I wanted to point out that many people do not like to change files in a program direktory by hand (and for some that is better).
Tanstaafl

User avatar
Ivan Moratinos
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 46
Joined: 2003-11-25, 16:13 UTC
Location: Spain

Post by *Ivan Moratinos » 2003-11-25, 18:36 UTC

Call me lazy, but I hope Christian will do the sort for me each time he brings out a new version.
Moreover I think it's an improvement of Total Commander to have the list sorted by default.
IMHO, if the file is alphabetically sorted by default then it will be very hard to sort "by group" --just the way it's sorted now by default, I don't know how to name it--. I think it's better to leave it the way it is now and if you want to change the sort order just sort the file the way you want.
Esperanto estas la solvo - http://ikso.net/

User avatar
white
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2020
Joined: 2003-11-19, 08:16 UTC
Location: Netherlands

Post by *white » 2003-11-25, 20:20 UTC

As mentioned by Boofo here

It would be nice to have them sorted alphabetically in the change button bar drop down menu. The file TOTALCMD.INC does not necessarily have to be sorted alphabetically too for that.

User avatar
Boofo
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1431
Joined: 2003-02-11, 00:29 UTC
Location: Des Moines, IA (USA)
Contact:

Post by *Boofo » 2003-11-25, 22:02 UTC

white wrote:As mentioned by Boofo here

It would be nice to have them sorted alphabetically in the change button bar drop down menu. The file TOTALCMD.INC does not necessarily have to be sorted alphabetically too for that.
Or maybe have a configuration option for this. ;)

User avatar
white
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2020
Joined: 2003-11-19, 08:16 UTC
Location: Netherlands

Post by *white » 2003-11-26, 00:24 UTC

BTW. Same goes for the command list for "Redefine hotkeys (Keyboard remapping)" in te Configuration/Misc dialog.

And the command list in the Change directory menu dialog.

User avatar
Clo
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5731
Joined: 2003-12-02, 19:01 UTC
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Number-order

Post by *Clo » 2003-12-14, 05:51 UTC

Who wants this list of internal commands to be sorted?
:roll: My own choice should be : Sorted by command-number.
Amazing? No, because I have to add translated new rows in the file totalcmd.inc. Along several years, that file has grown a lot! So, now it's often a pretty mess to make that job!
:arrow: Detail: in theory, the numbers follow the function-groups, but sometimes, there is a mixing in the same group...
:cry: Inconvenience: now, TC displays only the alpha part of the command and the function in the setting dialog of buttons... Also, the most users don't care of command-numbers.
:? Ticklish issue..
Clo
#31505 Traducteur Français de TC French translator Aide en Français Tutoriels Français English Tutorials

haya
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: 2004-03-03, 12:06 UTC

Sorted command list

Post by *haya » 2004-03-03, 13:26 UTC

This feature sould be very useful ! Try to implement it !
:roll:
thanks !

Post Reply