Adding default name for make directory input box.

Only forum where polls are allowed. You may announce a new poll in the matching support forum.

Moderators: Stefan2, white, sheep, Hacker

Do you need a default name for make directory input box?

Yes
28
47%
No
31
53%
 
Total votes: 59

ay222
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 42
Joined: 2003-11-26, 20:06 UTC

Adding default name for make directory input box.

Post by *ay222 » 2003-12-09, 11:04 UTC

when executing make directory command an empty input box appear, why this input box dosen't appear with a default name such as "New folder", [or any other one] like Explorer. and if the "New Folder" is exist the default name will be "New Folder 2" and so on.

:arrow: in some cases you need to create a folder for temporary use and its name isn't imprtant, so it will be fine to find such default name.

:arrow: i want to say to everyone will refuse my request, adding this feature will never hart you coz the default name usually preselected so you can type a new name immediatly or simply click Ok button.

:?: Please if you say "No", can you give one reason for refusing adding this feature?
Last edited by ay222 on 2003-12-09, 23:47 UTC, edited 1 time in total.

Jonas
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 325
Joined: 2003-05-27, 16:59 UTC
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by *Jonas » 2003-12-09, 11:45 UTC

I would prefer that the default is the last used name... It happens that you're making several Dirs with names like "someting_1" "someting_2" and "someting_3". If the last used is already there as default you can get around the Cut'nPaste

TucknDar
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 227
Joined: 2003-02-07, 09:44 UTC
Location: Oslo
Contact:

Post by *TucknDar » 2003-12-09, 12:50 UTC

when the TCScript evolves a bit I bet you won't need this feature built into TC...
also, I think you can do a lot by using the different addons for TC as well as some batch-scripting.
license #76904

User avatar
Pete
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 88
Joined: 2003-02-08, 18:05 UTC
Location: Bodensee (Southern Germany)

Post by *Pete » 2003-12-09, 13:17 UTC

Jonas,

I agree.

But this feature should be optional.

Greets
Pete

User avatar
Clo
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5731
Joined: 2003-12-02, 19:01 UTC
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Option in *Show* Menu---

Post by *Clo » 2003-12-13, 13:19 UTC

Pete wrote:Jonas,

I agree.
But this feature should be optional.
Greets
Pete
:) Hello Pete!
OK, it's what I wrote too in the English Forum at this thread...
:( In any case, that should add fat a bit to the EXE!
I think that it could be rather an entry in the "Show" Menu like:
* Show the new dirs with a default-name *
That'ld avoid to change an Option dialog ( :cry: extra- job for me to update the Help and THREE Tutorials for screen-shots!)
What do you think?
:D Friendly,
Claude
Clo
#31505 Traducteur Français de TC French translator Aide en Français Tutoriels Français English Tutorials

User avatar
Pete
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 88
Joined: 2003-02-08, 18:05 UTC
Location: Bodensee (Southern Germany)

Post by *Pete » 2003-12-13, 15:22 UTC

Hello Clo,

hihi :). Well this would depend on Christian. If and how he would implement default directory names when creating a new directory.

In any case this should be optional.
And if he will implement this, this might be in v6.1 or even much later. In this case You have to make the changes in Your tutorial anyway, because for sure will be new features added to TC.

Greets
Pete

ay222
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 42
Joined: 2003-11-26, 20:06 UTC

Post by *ay222 » 2003-12-13, 15:42 UTC

Pete wrote: hihi :). Well this would depend on Christian. If and how he would implement default directory names when creating a new directory.

In any case this should be optional.

Pete
2Pete
I don't know why you are insist to be this feature is optional, as i said before adding it will never harm anyone

User avatar
Pete
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 88
Joined: 2003-02-08, 18:05 UTC
Location: Bodensee (Southern Germany)

Post by *Pete » 2003-12-13, 16:39 UTC

Hello ay222,

someone wants "New Folder", another one wants "picture set", the next one does not want any default folder name at all, and another one wants the last folder used, etc. This is why it should be optional.

Entry in wincmd.ini could look like this:
LastUsedDirectoryName=name_of_last_used_directory
DefaultDirectoryName=name_of_default_directory
DefaultDirectoryNameEnabled=1 (or 0, or 2)
0= there will be no new directory name used
1= new directory name will be last used directory name
2= new directory name will be default directory name

Best regards
Pete

ay222
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 42
Joined: 2003-11-26, 20:06 UTC

Post by *ay222 » 2003-12-13, 16:54 UTC

Pete wrote:Hello ay222,

someone wants "New Folder", another one wants "picture set", the next one does not want any default folder name at all, and another one wants the last folder used, etc. This is why it should be optional.

Entry in wincmd.ini could look like this:
LastUsedDirectoryName=name_of_last_used_directory
DefaultDirectoryName=name_of_default_directory
DefaultDirectoryNameEnabled=1 (or 0, or 2)
0= there will be no new directory name used
1= new directory name will be last used directory name
2= new directory name will be default directory name

Best regards
Pete
Ok now i fully agree with you. Thank you for explaning :oops:

User avatar
J.A. Gruys
Member
Member
Posts: 130
Joined: 2003-07-29, 07:49 UTC
Location: Netherlands

Post by *J.A. Gruys » 2004-03-18, 14:12 UTC

The answer "New Folder" to the command "New Directory" is illogical anyhow. And unnecessary as well.
J.A.G.

User avatar
ts4242
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2068
Joined: 2004-02-02, 20:08 UTC
Contact:

Post by *ts4242 » 2004-03-20, 08:44 UTC

J.A. Gruys wrote:The answer "New Folder" to the command "New Directory" is illogical anyhow. And unnecessary as well.
"New Folder" or "New Directory" it is not important, the importance is the feature itself. it is usefull in many cases. So i vote Yes

User avatar
Black Dog
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1024
Joined: 2003-02-05, 22:17 UTC
Location: Odessa
Contact:

Post by *Black Dog » 2004-03-20, 12:22 UTC

[face=courier]On 20-03-2004 10:44:10 +0000 ts4242 wrote:

t> "New Folder" or "New Directory" it is not important

Does important for me.

t> the importance is the feature itself.

I don't need it, I like Commander's way of creating directories like it is now i.e. W/O default folder name - I always know how to name a folder for temporary use and its name IS important for me.[/face]

User avatar
norfie
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1194
Joined: 2003-02-18, 14:18 UTC

Post by *norfie » 2004-03-20, 15:54 UTC

Last edited by norfie on 2004-09-11, 07:53 UTC, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Sheepdog
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 5150
Joined: 2003-12-18, 21:44 UTC
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Post by *Sheepdog » 2004-04-01, 20:33 UTC

I hate it when I unintentionally create a 'New Folder' in Explorer and have to rename it then. So I must agree with Black Dog. No change in TC behavior.

sheepdog

User avatar
Black Dog
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1024
Joined: 2003-02-05, 22:17 UTC
Location: Odessa
Contact:

Post by *Black Dog » 2004-04-01, 21:32 UTC

[face=courier]On 01-04-2004 22:33:41 +0000 Sheepdog wrote:

S> I hate it when I unintentionally create a 'New Folder' in
S> Explorer


Yeah, damn the Explorer and a "New Folder" - if I do hate something, I hate this.[/face]

Post Reply