Default behavior of titlebar left clicks

Only forum where polls are allowed. You may announce a new poll in the matching support forum.

Moderators: Stefan2, white, sheep, Hacker

What should be the default left click on titlebar behavior?

Don't change the current behavior. The "dir up"-feature is useless too me.
5
17%
Don't change the current behavior. Add a keyboard modifier like CTRL to activate the new "dir up" feature.
8
28%
Left click will activate the new "dir up"-feature. A delayed left click will be used to edit the path.
10
34%
I count the dirs I want to go up and simply type cd . (number of points = number of dirs to go up * 2)); for example cd .......... for 5 dirs up.
0
No votes
Change the behavior to the same as in Servant Salamander. Double click to open the directory list is not required. The new button is just fine.
5
17%
I have another idea. See me post below.
1
3%
 
Total votes: 29

User avatar
Lefteous
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9457
Joined: 2003-02-09, 01:18 UTC
Location: Germany
Contact:

Default behavior of titlebar left clicks

Post by *Lefteous » 2004-06-13, 15:27 UTC

A new function to go multiple levels up has been suggested in http://www.ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?t=4324.

I took a look on how this behavhior is realized in Servant Salamander.
The titlebar has the following functiond in the two programs:
Servant Salamander:
single click: "Dir up"-feature
double click: Path editing

Total Commander:
single click: Path editing
double click: directory menu

The titlebar in TC 6.0 features a new button for invoking the directory hotlist. You can now double click or use this button. Is this too much redundance?

Do we need a modifier key? Should we consider a delayed left click?

It's always good to make a feature configurable, but what should be the default behavior in your opinion?
Last edited by Lefteous on 2004-09-23, 14:29 UTC, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Clo
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5731
Joined: 2003-12-02, 19:01 UTC
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Am I missing something ?

Post by *Clo » 2004-06-13, 17:50 UTC

2Lefteous
…single click: Path editing…
:) Hi !
• That doesn't work at home, I use cm_editpath with a button in the button-bar - though that function be not very useful for me - :|
* Am I missing something ? I didn't find an entry about this in wincmd.ini , or in the settings …

:mrgreen: VG
Claude
Clo
#31505 Traducteur Français de TC French translator Aide en Français Tutoriels Français English Tutorials

User avatar
Lefteous
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 9457
Joined: 2003-02-09, 01:18 UTC
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by *Lefteous » 2004-06-13, 18:55 UTC

2Clo

Sorry I can't help you here. Maybe someone else has an idea.

User avatar
Sheepdog
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 5150
Joined: 2003-12-18, 21:44 UTC
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Am I missing something ?

Post by *Sheepdog » 2004-06-13, 19:38 UTC

Clo wrote:• That doesn't work at home, I use with a button in the button-bar - though that function be not very useful for me - :|
Hi Claude,
I guess you disabled the display of the current path above the panes (options->layout -> show current directory). If the path is displayd the button cm_editpath should work.

Stefan
"A common mistake that people make when trying to design something
completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools."
Douglas Adams

User avatar
Clo
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5731
Joined: 2003-12-02, 19:01 UTC
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

The single click---

Post by *Clo » 2004-06-13, 19:55 UTC

2Sheepdog
:) Hello Stefan !
I guess you disabled the display of the current path above the panes
• Not at all ! This option is ticked alright - I always enable it-
If the path is displayed the button cm_editpath should work.
• Indeed, the button or a menu entry works; isn't the issue : I said that a single click on the panel title-bar doesn't works to edit the path, while Lefteous tells that it works…

:mrgreen:  V G
Claude
Clo
#31505 Traducteur Français de TC French translator Aide en Français Tutoriels Français English Tutorials

User avatar
Sheepdog
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 5150
Joined: 2003-12-18, 21:44 UTC
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: The single click---

Post by *Sheepdog » 2004-06-13, 20:41 UTC

Clo wrote: I said that a single click on the panel title-bar doesn't works to edit the path, while Lefteous tells that it works…

:mrgreen: V G
Claude
Clo
:oops: Sorry I didn't read carefully :oops:
But the single click works fine for me to edit the path (on XP).

Stefan
"A common mistake that people make when trying to design something
completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools."
Douglas Adams

User avatar
Clo
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5731
Joined: 2003-12-02, 19:01 UTC
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Peanuts, peanuts---

Post by *Clo » 2004-06-13, 21:00 UTC

2Sheepdog
• Forgiven--- 8)
* That doesn't work under Win98 SE - Fr., neither with my P2-350, nor with my P1-166
* The same under XP-Pro : peanuts, I change the focus only, then nothing else happens…
* Detail : I use the MS-standard, so the left-click to select files with all PCs.

:mrgreen:  V G
Claude
Clo
#31505 Traducteur Français de TC French translator Aide en Français Tutoriels Français English Tutorials

User avatar
Sheepdog
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 5150
Joined: 2003-12-18, 21:44 UTC
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Peanuts, peanuts---

Post by *Sheepdog » 2004-06-13, 21:51 UTC

Clo wrote:2Sheepdog
• Forgiven--- 8)

Glad to hear that :lol:
Clo wrote: * That doesn't work under Win98 SE - Fr., neither with my P2-350, nor with my P1-166
* The same under XP-Pro : peanuts, I change the focus only, then nothing else happens…
* Detail : I use the MS-standard, so the left-click to select files with all PCs.
I tried it at win98SE and it works fine, both with mouse MS Standard or not. But you wrote: 'I change the focus only'.
Do you click the path in the active window? Otherwise you make first the window active. After that a single click makes the path edible. ( at any rate by me) .

sheepdog
"A common mistake that people make when trying to design something
completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools."
Douglas Adams

User avatar
Clo
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5731
Joined: 2003-12-02, 19:01 UTC
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Indeed, indeed---

Post by *Clo » 2004-06-13, 22:16 UTC

2Sheepdog
Hi again !
* Indeed, I click on the active bar ! I wrote : I change the focus only … at the first click, that is normal. A second click later does… nothing !

* I supposed that an entry in my wincmd.ini file which could disable/enable that feature was missing ... but I saw nothing in <history.txt> about such an addition. "Wouldn't you like to know"
:?:

:mrgreen:  V G
Claude
Clo
#31505 Traducteur Français de TC French translator Aide en Français Tutoriels Français English Tutorials

waelder
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 61
Joined: 2003-02-11, 13:13 UTC

Post by *waelder » 2004-06-13, 22:52 UTC

Hi Clo,
do you have an entry like:
InplaceRename=0
in your wincmd.ini ?

User avatar
Clo
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5731
Joined: 2003-12-02, 19:01 UTC
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Confusing name and annoying feature

Post by *Clo » 2004-06-13, 23:48 UTC

2waelder
:) Hi !
• Yes, I have it. I set that because it's irritating for me to get this field when isn't needed, i.e. by an involontary click on a file-name…
- Ah, I see ! :idea:
The following entry is:
InplaceRenamePath=0
since it follows the status of InplaceRename= by default, I forgot that :oops: (a bit tired currently…).
* The name of this entry is confusing, I would prefer InplaceEditPath=…, to match with the <totalcmd.inc> internal command cm_EditPath.
• Thank you for remind me this ! That works with InplaceRenamePath=1

>>> Sheepdog :
- That should merit a note in our current job, shouldn't it?

:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo
#31505 Traducteur Français de TC French translator Aide en Français Tutoriels Français English Tutorials

User avatar
Clo
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5731
Joined: 2003-12-02, 19:01 UTC
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

A good joke of TC

Post by *Clo » 2004-06-14, 03:05 UTC

2Lefteous
I count the dirs I want to go up and simply type cd . (number of points = number of dirs to go up * 2)); for example cd .......... for 5 dirs up.
:) Hello !
• I tried that under Win98SE and XP-Pro, and got the right dirs… but in an Explorer-window ! :lol:
* I mean : placing the cursor on the command line previously, and just typing the dots or " \ ". That works normally with cd x
* Bug or feature :?:
:mrgreen: V G
Claude
Clo
Last edited by Clo on 2004-06-15, 15:53 UTC, edited 1 time in total.
#31505 Traducteur Français de TC French translator Aide en Français Tutoriels Français English Tutorials

User avatar
ts4242
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2063
Joined: 2004-02-02, 20:08 UTC
Contact:

Post by *ts4242 » 2004-06-15, 09:58 UTC

:arrow: left click for edit path (the current behavior)

:arrow: left click then right click for dir-up

somthing like drag a file to move it

advantages of this behaviour
:arrow: this will not hurt the oldest user who used for one left click for edit path and double click for directory hot list
:arrow: faster than waiting for a delayed period
:arrow: easier than using a modifier key

User avatar
fabiochelly
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 594
Joined: 2003-02-05, 12:03 UTC
Location: Vincennes, France
Contact:

Post by *fabiochelly » 2004-06-16, 10:02 UTC

Isn't it possible to go up to the dir which receive the click in the path?

For instance, if my path is: c:\Documents and Settings\Admin\Desktop\*.*
And I click on 'Admin', TC will go to 'Admin' directory.
Fabio Chelly.
#60241
Lorsqu'on s'occupe d'informatique il faut faire comme les canards...
Paraître calme en surface et pédaler comme un forcené par en dessous

User avatar
Sheepdog
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 5150
Joined: 2003-12-18, 21:44 UTC
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Post by *Sheepdog » 2004-06-16, 11:34 UTC

fabiochelly wrote:Isn't it possible to go up to the dir which receive the click in the path?

For instance, if my path is: c:\Documents and Settings\Admin\Desktop\*.*
And I click on 'Admin', TC will go to 'Admin' directory.
That is why this poll has been started what you can see if you follow the link in the very first posting of Lefteous. :lol: :wink:

sheepdog
"A common mistake that people make when trying to design something
completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools."
Douglas Adams

Post Reply