Page 1 of 1

Expanding Multi-Rename Tool options - Advanced mode

Posted: 2018-01-26, 20:27 UTC
by hi5
The Multi-Rename Tool is of course very useful, but there have been some suggestions* for additional features. To see if there is enough interest in adding more 'advanced' features such as rename + move to target panel, copy vs rename, select files after rename to name three I've set up this poll.
If you you have other suggestions please post them below or in the TC Suggestions thread and I'll update the links below.

* reference posts for some ideas Edit:
Multi-Rename Tool with find/change list (save multiple rename actions into one action)

Posted: 2018-01-31, 22:29 UTC
by thomasw
hi5!

Thank you for supporting me / my idea!

Re: Expanding Multi-Rename Tool options - Advanced mode

Posted: 2018-06-09, 13:58 UTC
by rif
hi5 wrote:If you you have other suggestions please post them below
Free text edit of file names in the "New name" column.

With e.g. 5 files selected, enter the multi-rename tool.

Click a new button called "Edit Names" to enter editor mode.

The column "New name" becomes a text editor. You can freely move up and down in the 5 lines. You can freely edit file names and cut-copy-paste like in an editor but each line are separate.

Only when you click button "Start!" should the 5 lines with the new names be error checked and illegal names or duplicate names be flagged.

During the "Edit Names" mode other multi-rename features could be disabled.

Re: Expanding Multi-Rename Tool options - Advanced mode

Posted: 2018-06-09, 19:34 UTC
by ts4242
rif wrote:Free text edit of file names in the "New name" column.
This feature is already there but not as you described, press <F10> a context menu with the following options will open:
TC Help wrote:Load names from file: Specify a text file from which the new names should be loaded
Edit names: Save current target names to a text file, edit them, and paste back.
Configure editor: Choose a different editor to edit the files. Make sure that the editor saves as plain text!
The menu can be opened with F10.

Re: Expanding Multi-Rename Tool options - Advanced mode

Posted: 2018-06-11, 05:32 UTC
by rif
ts4242 wrote:This feature is already there but not as you described, press <F10> a context menu with the following options will open:

The menu can be opened with F10.
Thanks for that, I was not aware about it. I will try to use that.

Re: Expanding Multi-Rename Tool options - Advanced mode

Posted: 2019-09-04, 18:01 UTC
by LogicDaemon
Occasionally I miss full path editing (for example, to rename file_name to file\name or backwards) and regular expressions with substrings (PCRE preferrably), but then I just write a simple script, and I don't think messing up with GUI would save me time at all.

And if I want to rename and move/copy, I would just copy or move first to separate dir, then rename there and move where I want.

IMO Multi-rename tool is shiny gem, it doesn't need rework.

Re: Expanding Multi-Rename Tool options - Advanced mode

Posted: 2019-10-13, 03:27 UTC
by dindog
it would be nice to do some simple math to the number in the file name

Re: Expanding Multi-Rename Tool options - Advanced mode

Posted: 2019-11-19, 09:12 UTC
by adamamiga
It would be nice if counters could intelligently choose the number of digits to match the number of files. I'll explain.

I use counters all the time. But, I have to be aware if I am renaming 9 or less or 10 or more files. Or more than 99. If 9 or less, I use the default single-digit counter. If 10 or more, I must choose 2 digits. If I don't, then the files will not sort correctly.

For example, if I rename 11 files using xxx[C], the result will be xxx1, xxx2, ... , xxx9, xxx10, xxx11. If I sort them, the order will be xxx1, xxx10, xxx11, xxx2, xxx3, ....

I avoid this by making sure I use two-digit counters. I thus end up with xxx01, xxx02, ... , xxx09, xxx10, xxx111.

But, it would save me time if the counter foresaw this issue and used as many digits as needed so that all counter numbers had the same number of digits. Maybe, instead of [C] we could use [CC].

Re: Expanding Multi-Rename Tool options - Advanced mode

Posted: 2019-11-19, 14:15 UTC
by Dalai
2adamamiga
You can specify the width of the counter directly within the brackets:

Code: Select all

[C:2]
to insert digits with a width of two. Yes, it's still not automatic, but it might be faster than to select the counter width from the dropdown.

Regards
Dalai

Re: Expanding Multi-Rename Tool options - Advanced mode

Posted: 2019-11-19, 15:06 UTC
by ghisler(Author)
You can use [C:a]