command prompt makes tc 7 crash

This forum contains bug reports from previous beta tests - the issue has remained unresolved, either because it couldn't be reproduced, or couldn't be prevented/fixed

Moderators: white, sheep, Hacker, Stefan2

Post Reply
drshinobi
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: 2008-10-25, 18:45 UTC

command prompt makes tc 7 crash

Post by *drshinobi » 2008-10-25, 18:51 UTC

hey,

I got a bug that I can reproduce...
every time I got drive d: on the right and left side of the tc window, if I want to type into the tc command prompt:

//asdf

(trying to access the windows network shares of asdf) tc crashes. I got version 7.0.

problem signature:
AppName: totalcmd.exe AppVer: 7.0.4.1 ModName: ntdll.dll
ModVer: 5.1.2600.5512 Offset: 00012c16

if you need anymore infos, tell me.

do I get a free copy of total commander now? :D

cheers

User avatar
sqa_wizard
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3386
Joined: 2003-02-06, 11:41 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *sqa_wizard » 2008-10-25, 19:21 UTC

if you need anymore infos, tell me
Which operating system do you use ?

Tried on Win XP SP3, but no crash:

... with not existing PC "asdf"
the wrong one: //asdf => file not found
the correct one: \\asf =>Search path not found!

... with existing PC "mypc"
the wrong one: //mypc => file not found
the correct one: \\mypc =>Windows explorer opens showing "mypc" shares

Seems to be correct, no crash at all !

BTW: to open a share at TC, use a "cd" in front:

Code: Select all

cd \\asdf
#5767 Personal license

drshinobi
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: 2008-10-25, 18:45 UTC

Post by *drshinobi » 2008-10-25, 19:28 UTC

xp sp3 with all updates installed.
I think it has something to do with the tabs you can use in tc, I had at least 2 tabs at the right and the left open, and once they are not pointing to a position in c:\ but d:\ or higher, the program crashes. I guess it has something to do with the tabs?
it dosent matter if you use an existing computer name or not, the program crashed instantly when I reproduced it.
actually, it crashes after the second "\" if I type it slowly.
can you reproduce it?

User avatar
sqa_wizard
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3386
Joined: 2003-02-06, 11:41 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *sqa_wizard » 2008-10-25, 19:43 UTC

can you reproduce it?
No, not at all ... sorry

What I can see, is that after the first "\", there is a "autocomplete" action, showing all folders of that level as a suggestion.

How many folder do you have on that level ?
Are there any special characters at those folder names?
#5767 Personal license

drshinobi
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: 2008-10-25, 18:45 UTC

Post by *drshinobi » 2008-10-25, 20:01 UTC

well thats interesting, I dont get a autocomplete for the second "\"... the dropdown menu comes up without any entries.
I get a normal autocomplete dropdown just for the first backslash, and there are some with strange numbers(like the 1/4 symbol, but I guess they have nothing to do with the crash since the crash happens with the second backslash.

there are just normal characters like ~, or "umlaute" like äöü.
but even if for example the right window thats selected is in an empty dir, tc crashes, as long as I have a drive letter higher then c:\ on the selected side.
I can do this vice versa, with a drive letter higher then c:\ selected on the left side also.

mh, right now I noticed that it also happens without tabs on the right or left side.

maybe really a problem with the autocomplete entries for some drives in my system - can you tell me where they are stored to I can take a look at them? would make sense since I cant see the autocomplete entries before tc crashes.

drshinobi
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: 2008-10-25, 18:45 UTC

Post by *drshinobi » 2008-10-25, 21:39 UTC

meanwhile I found out where tc stores the command line history.
there are no entries with special characters in wincmd.ini -> [Command line history] - not even umlaute like äüö. the only characters not included in the alphabet and numbers are:
/
\
:
%
-
.

User avatar
sqa_wizard
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3386
Joined: 2003-02-06, 11:41 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *sqa_wizard » 2008-10-25, 21:43 UTC

You may disable "autocomplete" just to exclude this cause.

Configuration - Options - Operation
At section "Main program" change the last entries:

Code: Select all

[ ] Auto-complete paths
[ ] Auto-append suggested names
just disable both
#5767 Personal license

drshinobi
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: 2008-10-25, 18:45 UTC

Post by *drshinobi » 2008-10-25, 21:50 UTC

disabling both entries does the trick for me - no more crashes. I need both to be disabled. but I must admit that I like that auto-complete feature... any chances that this bug will be fixed?

User avatar
sqa_wizard
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 3386
Joined: 2003-02-06, 11:41 UTC
Location: Germany

Post by *sqa_wizard » 2008-10-25, 21:56 UTC

Well, we just have located the reason, not the cause ;)

Now we have to analyse why it crashes your system only.
Others (incl. me) don't have any problems with this ...
#5767 Personal license

drshinobi
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: 2008-10-25, 18:45 UTC

Post by *drshinobi » 2008-10-25, 22:02 UTC

I hope I am not the only one, otherwise this bug wont be important enough to fix it! :D

If you need any further assistance, I get an email when there are new postings to this thread.

Post Reply