TC and IconLib

English support forum

Moderators: Stefan2, white, sheep, Hacker

User avatar
alexey65536
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: 2006-06-16, 10:29 UTC
Location: Taganrog, RUSSIA

TC and IconLib

Post by *alexey65536 » 2009-06-06, 16:33 UTC

In TC, now we have these built-in icons:
Image: http://sergo55.rbcmail.ru/tcicons.png
Witn IconLib key, we can change only icons with numbers 1-23.
Can author make the all other TC icons changeable by this way?
(I'm mostly interested in Lister icon changing)...
#199018

User avatar
fenix_productions
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1953
Joined: 2005-08-07, 13:23 UTC
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: TC and IconLib

Post by *fenix_productions » 2009-06-06, 18:02 UTC

2alexey65536
alexey65536 wrote:Witn IconLib key, we can change only icons with numbers 1-23.
It is strange because here only 027 seems to not work at all but I've posted about it already:
http://www.ghisler.ch/board/viewtopic.php?t=22366
"When we created the poke, we thought it would be cool to have a feature without any specific purpose." Facebook...

#128099

User avatar
alexey65536
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: 2006-06-16, 10:29 UTC
Location: Taganrog, RUSSIA

Post by *alexey65536 » 2009-06-06, 18:41 UTC

When I created .icl with icons taken from TC, and replaced, for example, Lister icon, I can't see this replaced icon on Lister!
If you have another results, please write here and add the link to your .icl file, please!
#199018

User avatar
fenix_productions
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1953
Joined: 2005-08-07, 13:23 UTC
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by *fenix_productions » 2009-06-06, 19:42 UTC

2alexey65536
You're right: it seems that not all icons are used. I thought all of them (except #027) were working last time I checked but now I can clearly see only 28-32 and 34. Strange.
"When we created the poke, we thought it would be cool to have a feature without any specific purpose." Facebook...

#128099

User avatar
alexey65536
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: 2006-06-16, 10:29 UTC
Location: Taganrog, RUSSIA

Post by *alexey65536 » 2009-06-09, 10:46 UTC

Help!!! I want to have changeable icon 25 (Lister) in TC!!!:(
#199018

User avatar
fenix_productions
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1953
Joined: 2005-08-07, 13:23 UTC
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by *fenix_productions » 2009-06-09, 14:07 UTC

2alexey65536
Post it in TC 7.50 bugs or support section?
"When we created the poke, we thought it would be cool to have a feature without any specific purpose." Facebook...

#128099

Postkutscher
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 556
Joined: 2006-04-01, 00:11 UTC

Post by *Postkutscher » 2009-06-09, 16:47 UTC

I think it will be better , if one of moderators moves this thread to suggestions.

User avatar
Clo
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5731
Joined: 2003-12-02, 19:01 UTC
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Bug or what ?

Post by *Clo » 2009-06-09, 19:16 UTC

:arrow: All

:) Hello !

• Reading all messages here, it seems to me that various snags occur, so it's ticklish to move that thread to “Suggestions”…
- Hence, when Ch. Ghisler gives his opinion (hoping he does), we'll move that thread accordingly.

:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo
#31505 Traducteur Français de TC French translator Aide en Français Tutoriels Français English Tutorials

User avatar
alexey65536
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: 2006-06-16, 10:29 UTC
Location: Taganrog, RUSSIA

Post by *alexey65536 » 2009-06-10, 11:27 UTC

Ok, let's wait C.G.:)
#199018

User avatar
alexey65536
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: 2006-06-16, 10:29 UTC
Location: Taganrog, RUSSIA

Post by *alexey65536 » 2009-06-19, 19:10 UTC

:( :(
#199018

User avatar
ZeLen1y
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 35
Joined: 2009-06-27, 09:05 UTC

Post by *ZeLen1y » 2009-08-25, 12:13 UTC

Needed ability to change all of icons which stored in totalcmd.exe (without cracking :twisted: ) ...

User avatar
fenix_productions
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1953
Joined: 2005-08-07, 13:23 UTC
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by *fenix_productions » 2009-08-25, 12:25 UTC

2ZeLen1y
"Cracking" is not solution because TC has CRC check procedures. If it finds out that EXE file changed you'll see warning message and TC will not start at all.
"When we created the poke, we thought it would be cool to have a feature without any specific purpose." Facebook...

#128099

User avatar
ZeLen1y
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 35
Joined: 2009-06-27, 09:05 UTC

Post by *ZeLen1y » 2009-08-25, 20:57 UTC

2fenix_productions
Wow! "CRC check procedures" it's great ! But with "cracking" we can disable it ...
Now cracking is the best way of changing icons :wink:

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 37475
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) » 2009-08-26, 15:15 UTC

You can change the icons by using an external icon dll - see the wcicolib file (including instructions) here:
http://www.ghisler.com/tools.htm#other

You can also change single directory icons:
1. Set the "read only" attribute
2. put a file in the dir called desktop.ini with contents:
[.ShellClassInfo]
IconFile=C:\SOMEDIR\somefile.dll
IconIndex=0
Author of Total Commander
http://www.ghisler.com

User avatar
ZeLen1y
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 35
Joined: 2009-06-27, 09:05 UTC

Post by *ZeLen1y » 2009-08-26, 20:18 UTC

Thx ! But I'm already known about this feature ... New versions of totalcmd.exe have more icons than that wcicolib and I'm want to change icons after #23 like compare, lister, etc ...

Post Reply