Problem using external sync dir to avoid modal dialog

Here you can propose new features, make suggestions etc.

Moderators: white, Hacker, petermad, Stefan2

User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48232
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

1) This isn't a problem of the sync tool, but with missing switches in the button bar/start menu.
2) Indeed this isn't currently supported, maybe in the future
3) Sorry, this is completely impossible, since the ftp connection of the main window is re-used
4) This may be possible via one of the list switches
5) Sorry, I never had this problem.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
Samuel
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1930
Joined: 2003-08-29, 15:44 UTC
Location: Germany, Brandenburg an der Havel
Contact:

Post by *Samuel »

ghisler(Author) wrote:1) This isn't a problem of the sync tool, but with missing switches in the button bar/start menu.
2) Indeed this isn't currently supported, maybe in the future
3) Sorry, this is completely impossible, since the ftp connection of the main window is re-used
4) This may be possible via one of the list switches
5) Sorry, I never had this problem.
1) Yes of cause. But it is related very much and I would be very happy about this feature.
3) I only gathered the differences. I know it would be very difficult.
5) I know. As its only a rare display bug I can live with that.
User avatar
Samuel
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1930
Joined: 2003-08-29, 15:44 UTC
Location: Germany, Brandenburg an der Havel
Contact:

Post by *Samuel »

I found out a pretty good workaround for (1). I used my ButtonBar eXtended to create a macro:
- first call "cm_FocusLeft"
- then call "%Commander_Path%\TOTALCMD.EXE /S=S "%P" "%T""
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48232
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

I worked on the solution of these problems during the last few days. Here are my solutions:
1. Parameter %X will change the meaning of several parameters from source/target to left/right:
%P,%p,%N,%n,%T,%t,%M,%m,%S,%s

2. Parameter %Z tells TC to launch program with archive name as parameter when within an archive.

3. Sorry, FTP cannot be supported

4. New parameter /O=<filename> can be used to pass list of only selected files to external sync tool

5. Sorry, I cannot solve the problem because I cannot reproduce it.
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
Samuel
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1930
Joined: 2003-08-29, 15:44 UTC
Location: Germany, Brandenburg an der Havel
Contact:

Post by *Samuel »

Wow great to hear that. Thanks. Thumbs up.

Im not sure if I got the syntax of everything, but I will see and try it in the next beta.

I have especially the question if there is one combination of Parameters so that it could be brought all together.

It wouldn't be very nice if one have to create 3 buttons. For standalone sync normal, for standalone sync with zips, for standalone sync with selected files.

If this couldnt be done so easy TC should have a new internal command checking the conditions and then create the according command line.
User avatar
Samuel
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1930
Joined: 2003-08-29, 15:44 UTC
Location: Germany, Brandenburg an der Havel
Contact:

Post by *Samuel »

Really great improvements in last beta Christian. Thanks a lot.

1) Added in TC 7.5 pb8.
2) Added in TC 7.5 pb8.
3) not possible
4a) Added in TC 7.5 pb8 the possibility to use a filelist
4b) no support for proper parameters from TC
5) didn't occur recently

Edit:
Samuel wrote:F3 does not work on "jpg" or "png" in standalone sync tool. It just behaves as if the IrfanView path is wrong.
Also fixed in TC 7.5 pb8.
User avatar
ghisler(Author)
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 48232
Joined: 2003-02-04, 09:46 UTC
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by *ghisler(Author) »

Can you explain 4b, please?
Author of Total Commander
https://www.ghisler.com
User avatar
Samuel
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1930
Joined: 2003-08-29, 15:44 UTC
Location: Germany, Brandenburg an der Havel
Contact:

Post by *Samuel »

Just as discussed in beta forum:
4b) There are no parameters from TC I can use for calling the "/O=" parameter of standalone sync.

If I use "/S=S "%Z%X%P" "%T" /O=%L" this will:
- not select files from both panels
- select also file under cursor if nothing is selected
- if nothing is selected and cursor is on ".." it doesnt work

So its not possible to replace the intern sync by the standalone in a seamless (exactly working the same) way.
So I have to create different buttons for it.
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 14913
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

Yes it is mostly the function of %L that is not totally suited for this:
1. it only works for the source side
2. it is called even if no files are selected (with current file)

Maybe TC could discard /O=L if no files are selected.

Maube this could be a parameters line for using /O on both sides:

/S=S %Z%X "%P" "%T" /O=%L %x/O=%L
or
/S=S %Z%X "%P" "%T" /O=%L%%x%L
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50 on Android 6 & 13
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
petermad
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 14913
Joined: 2003-02-05, 20:24 UTC
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by *petermad »

F3 does not work on "jpg" or "png" in standalone sync tool. It just behaves as if the IrfanView path is wrong.
I can confirm that this is fixed in TC 7.50pb8 :-)
License #524 (1994)
Danish Total Commander Translator
TC 11.03 32+64bit on Win XP 32bit & Win 7, 8.1 & 10 (22H2) 64bit, 'Everything' 1.5.0.1371a
TC 3.50 on Android 6 & 13
Try: TC Extended Menus | TC Languagebar | TC Dark Help | PHSM-Calendar
User avatar
Samuel
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1930
Joined: 2003-08-29, 15:44 UTC
Location: Germany, Brandenburg an der Havel
Contact:

Post by *Samuel »

I would propose the following additional parameters:

Code: Select all

1) %G and %g - Parameters like %S between %G and %g use selected filenames from both panels as input.
2) %H        - If there are no files selected in a panel do not select the file under the cursor instead.
3) %I and %i - Parameters like %S or %N between %I and %i can be empty without resulting in an empty parameter string.
(first and last parameter behave the way "%X" and "%x" work - the second behaves the way "%Z" works)

Currently unused letters when using parameters:

Code: Select all

abcghijkquvwyz
 BCGHIJKQUVWY
BTW: Empty titlebar still occurs sometimes, but I cant reproduce it and its really no problem as it is just visual issue.

Edit:
A proper commandline for the standalone sync would be then:

Code: Select all

TOTALCMD.EXE %Z%H/S=S "%X%P" "%T" /O=%G%I%L
Perhaps TC should simply provide "cm_FileSyncStandalone"
User avatar
Balderstrom
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 2148
Joined: 2005-10-11, 10:10 UTC

Post by *Balderstrom »

Why not just add: %Y as a modifier, which could be applied to %S, %N or any of the current parameters that will send an empty string when the cursor is on [..].

I.E. %Y%S :-)
*BLINK* TC9 Added WM_COPYDATA and WM_USER queries for scripting.
User avatar
Samuel
Power Member
Power Member
Posts: 1930
Joined: 2003-08-29, 15:44 UTC
Location: Germany, Brandenburg an der Havel
Contact:

Post by *Samuel »

It would be the same as "%I".
The other 2 parameters could also be very useful.

Perhaps something like "%J" could also be fine: (new idea)
%J - the parameter string is split at each occurrence of %J. Then it parses the splitted strings from the beginning and uses the first string for which all parameters are valid:
Command: a.exe
Parameter: -s %S -t %R%J-s %S%J-t %R%J-n
So it would call this if files are selected in both panels:

Code: Select all

Command: a.exe
Parameter: -s %S -t %R
This if files are selected only on the src panel:

Code: Select all

Command: a.exe
Parameter: -s %S
This if files are selected only on the target panel:

Code: Select all

Command: a.exe
Parameter: -t %R
And finally this if there is no file selected at all:

Code: Select all

Command: a.exe
Parameter: -n
Post Reply